We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”
Review of Raffles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Raffles Hotel
Ranked #57 of 853 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

I've stayed in several hotels, including the Imperial, in Blackpool, but it is to Graham and Ian's fine hospitality I return 3 times a year! Fresh, clean, quiet, good breakfasts. Our party uses it as a base to go dancing, and it gets bigger each time...

Room Tip: Choose a top floor room, and/or a room at the back if you like quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    17
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
60
84
8
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

This is the best place we have stayed in at Blackpool, and we have stayed in quite a few.
Good hosts, nice room, clean & warm throughout. Breakfast very good. Complimentary coffee in the tea room on arrival. And the christmas decorations are beautiful. We will be back. Dawn & Stephen.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hatie58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire, england
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

My wife and daughter have just arrived home from a week-end dancing competition in Blackpool, the have come in raving about Raffles.
The reception received by both Ian & Graham was amazing, bags were carried to their room and complimentary drinks provided in The Raffles Tea Room.
The room was exceptionally clean, to an amazing standard, as my wife had other dancers and Mums staying, she was able to see 2 other rooms, all to the same exacting standard. Car parking was taken care by Ian, this was a service only experienced at The Savoy for £36 plus vat.
My wife and others ordered take-aways for the Saturday night, again, I cannot even begin to describe the service they received, tell me another hotel that provides plates etc for your take-away.
The biggest thing for me as a husband and Dad is the knowledge that the team, Graham, Ian and Phil provided for my wife and daughter. I cannot thank you enough for the going not the extra mile, but for providing a service that I do not have the ability of doing it justice. Phil, thank-you for your sincere kindness, something that I know my wife and daughter will treasure. I understand your skills are somewhat nocturnal being the evening Manager, however, you were amazing, Amanda and Amelia's words.
This hotel sets the standards for the rest of the country to attempt to aspire to, if Graham, Ian and Phil were to set the minimum standard for the country, our hotels would be constantly full. You are a credit, to the North West Tourist Board, the hotel industry. Thank-you for b
Making my families week-end stay PERFECT.

Room Tip: Any. There is not a pool, but if there was it would be the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Meggo1709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Considering I am not a lover of Blackpool, I wasn't looking forward to staying in the town but Raffles Hotel totally made the trip. My partner and I stayed in suite four for two nights and it was fantastic!!! The decor was lovely, with the best lazy-boy chair and footrest I have every used. The bedroom was very clean and well done out and the living room/kitchen really made it nice to relax after wandering round all day.

A couple of low points were Funny Girls and the gay scene. Very disappointed with both. The pubs and clubs were just full of very drunk woman on hen nights which made the nights very annoying (we did go to Lucy's and that was very good so worth a visit) and Funny Girls was over priced crap. Totally gone down hill and I wouldn't waste your money!! Both of these points are nothing to do with the hotel, just wanted to give people the heads-up.

I doubt we will ever return to Blackpool, but if we do we will make sure to stay at Raffles as it is the best little hotel I have stayed in and Graham and Ian are the best host.

Finally, when you stay at Raffles, get up at least once to have breakfast. To die for!!!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite if you can. The extra room makes all the difference and you get a full kitchen a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dusty290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

A fab place to stay with friends or family whilst in Blackpool. We had a family suite and our friends a double room. Both were extremely clean and well equipped. Good quality linen and towels gave a luxurious feel. The hosts were very welcoming and nothing seemed too much trouble.
Raffles is in a great location for all the major sites yet lovely and quiet during the evening.
A fab breakfast sets you up for the day ahead.
I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I would have given Raffles hotel 3.5 if you could give half stars. We had a double and a single room in this hotel. I have visited a lot of B&B's over the years, so the room being small was no problem. I found my single bed small, more like a couch as the 3 sides were enclosed. I am used to sleeping in a dark room and there is a lamp outside which doesn't stop the light coming through the light curtains. I didn't have a very good sleep. I also thought it was pretty expensive for Blackpool. The hotel is very clean and the breakfast was really nice, as was the man serving.
We had looked at other B&B's before we decided to stay here as it was getting dark, this was the best we had seen. We had never been to Blackpool before and will never return, we couldn't wait to leave. If you are looking for a clean B&B with a good breakfast this hotel would suit, just make sure it's Blackpool you really want to visit!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pam82trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

This is a wonderful small and personal hotel. Run by Ian and Graham it is spotlessly clean, each room is different and beautifully decorated, the bed and pillows very comfortable. The owners are very welcoming and they and their staff are very helpful, making for a lovely atmosphere. Breakfast is exceptional. I would thoroughly recommend, and if I ever go back to Blackpool would most certainly stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crumblepie870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.2 mi away
Chaplins Hotel
Chaplins Hotel
#28 of 853 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.1 mi away
FouRooms Blackpool
FouRooms Blackpool
#1 of 853 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Redstone
The Redstone
#42 of 853 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Westbourne House
Westbourne House
#30 of 853 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Libra
Hotel Libra
#27 of 853 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.1 mi away
Charnley Gold Hotel
Charnley Gold Hotel
#80 of 853 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffles Hotel

Property: Raffles Hotel
Address: 73-77 Hornby Road, Blackpool FY1 4QJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 853 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Raffles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Raffles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing