We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean but an uncomfortable bed in an exceptionally small,cold room!”
Review of Danescourt Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Danescourt Hotel
Ranked #89 of 856 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Clean but an uncomfortable bed in an exceptionally small,cold room!”
Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

The bed wasn't even a bed it was homemade...pieces of wood and hardboard nailed together!
The place was very clean and the breakfast excellent but the whole thing was spoiled by a ridiculously small room,poorly heated and the most uncomfortable bed I've ever slept on!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GS077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
japdwj, Owner at Danescourt Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
thank you for giving your time to review your stay with us... however
i just don't understand If you were so unhappy with your stay why didnt you speak to us direct instead of waiting until you got home when it is too late for us to do anything for you.
we are here to make your stay as enjoyable and comfortable as possible.
i must point out in our defence that you did choose and book our basic compact double en suit room of which the description states clearly its a ideal for one night stays or if you prefere to upgrade to our larger room the option was availble for you.
im also a little confused about your opionion of our bed base.i can 100% guarantee that the base is far from homemade but on your defense i can see its back to front and should been facing the head board and not the front 'this is now rectified' but this should not have affected your sleep quality in anyway.
the next time you are in blackpool please pop in and see us and the first drinks on me xx
Andrew and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    55
    7
    6
    3
See reviews for
142
57
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
St Helens, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This hotel is the best me and my family have stayed in by far. Not only are the rooms clean, fresh and nicely decorated but the staff could not do more for you. The food is gorgeous and can be suited to your individual needs with a choice of full breakfasts, cereals or even both!
It is in a very good location as the Pleasure Beach is just a short walk away and the South Pier is literally over the road so you are surrounded by lots to do.
Andrew, David and Joe have made our stays a delight and we have been staying there for many years because of this. Not only have we had excellent stays every time we go but we now have a very good friendship with them and recommend them to all family and friends. We won't be staying in any other hotel that's for sure. Thank you Andrew, David and Joe!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 458Rachel_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Fabulous warm welcome by David, My room was decorated to a high and tasteful standard, the feather duvet and pillows was a higher standard than I would expect from hotels of this size, my room also boasted a small dressing room just off of the ensuite shower room. Breakfast cooked by Andrew was gorgeous as was the 3 course meal on Wednesday evening, But I have to have a special mention for Joe who was very hard working and nothing was too much trouble, thanks Joe, you're a star!

So to sum up, tastefully decorated and immaculately clean, superb value for money with great hosts and staff...and well cooked, well presented, very tasty food in a great position for the south pier and pleasure beach.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaughinLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

The hosts are excellent can't do enough for you don't need to check rooms as they are always spotless as for the breakfast amazing. Can't get enough of Joe's sausages we are already booked in for this year looking forward to it

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Home from home
Unparalleled service from great hosts the rooms are spotless and the food is near on gourmet standards,the room we stayed in was more than adequate for two adults and a young child and the bed was as comfy as my own.
We cannot recommend this hotel highly enough and can't wait to get back this year.
All the sights are close by and if you wish to venture further just pop on the tram that is close by.
They have a bar downstairs that's welcoming on your return from a busy day,a couple of drams before tea to ease the leg pains oh and it's cheaper than the pub,if you don't drink then tea and biscuits are to hand whenever suits.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

From the time of booking to the time of leaving, you get a real sense of personal attention. Such a lovely, clean and welcoming hotel. Very close to the Pleasure Beach and sea view from some rooms and from the outside patio.
Has a lovely welcoming atmosphere, so much so that we stay in their bar of an evening, although there is ample choice for food and drink in short walking distance.

The breakfast is excellent, quality of food outstanding for the price you pay, obviousy locally sourced and fresh.

We have been twice and cannot wait to book again. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisah123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2013

what can i say about the Danescourt ? well me and my family had a fantastic time , we've been 4 times now and every stay is better than the last one !! the hosts are fantastic and nothing is ever too much trouble for them , the breakfasts are out of this world and the rooms are totally spotless with lovely decor, the location is also fab as the pleasure beach is a 5 min walk away !! would definatly recommend it to everyone , see you later in the year Andrew,David and of course Joe .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandra429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.0 mi away
Danescourt Lodge
Danescourt Lodge
#265 of 856 in Blackpool
100 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Granville Hotel - Guest House
0.0 mi away
The Mornington Hotel
The Mornington Hotel
#167 of 856 in Blackpool
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Sands Hotel
The Sands Hotel
#152 of 856 in Blackpool
173 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Holmeleigh Hotel
The Holmeleigh Hotel
#125 of 856 in Blackpool
204 reviews
0.1 mi away
San Diego Guest House
San Diego Guest House
#136 of 856 in Blackpool
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danescourt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danescourt Hotel

Property: Danescourt Hotel
Address: 10 Station Road | South Shore, Blackpool FY4 1BE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 856 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Danescourt Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Danescourt is 1 minute from Blackpool Pleasure Beach, we cater for Couples and Families only, so no fear of bumping into Stag or Hen parties in this location, we pride ourselves on owning a nice establishment, recently refurbished to a high standard, where we always go that extra mile to ensure you have a happy time with us and like most of our guests, you will return time and time again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Danescourt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing