We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding service, great location, great fun!”
Review of Lucena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lucena Hotel
Ranked #98 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Blackpool
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Excellent all round and great value for money. Richard and family are excellent hosts.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myles1217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 149 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2011

Family of six, elderly aunt,3 teenagers, wife and I booked a last minute trip to see the lights. I phoned up at 21:00hrs th night before and the phone was answered by a warm welcoming voice asking if they could help. We arrived the next evening, we pulled up outside off loaded the aunt and kids while Lynn showed them to the rooms,Richard her husband took us to a place were we could park for free and close by. The rooms are very clean and warm. Breakfast was what you wanted, with no limits to hot drinks and toast, after the day out we returned and had a lovely time chatting with Richard and other guests in the bar (the prices did not break the bank),kids played pool in the games room. Will be sure to stay next time we are visiting Blackpool will not risk such short notice next time we could not be so lucky again .

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stephen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2011

richard and lynn are the best hotel owners I know, I have been going there since they owned it in 2003 and they are so friendly and helpful, the rooms are a good size and very clean. The breakfast is of excellent quality and is prepared on time. The bar has drinks for everyone at reasonable prices and there is also a games room with a pool table and darts board.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LukeSadler17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

Myself and 12 girls have just returned from a weekend staying at the Lucena and have to say what a lovely hotel and a lovely couple running it. We went to celebrate our friends hen party and as a lot of places dont accept hen partys I was a bit worried about the quality of the hotel but I need not have worried as the hotel was clean/tidy, Richard & Lynne were extremely friendly and helpful, breakfast was good and prices were very reasonable. In fact I can't think of anything negative at all! I highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Just returned today from a great weekend at blackpool after staying at the lucena. A group of eight of us went for a relaxing weekend away and that is exactly what we had at the lucena as soon as we arrived we were greeted warmly and had every need catered for before being led to our very pleasant rooms.
We have stayed in loads of B&Bs in blackpool before now and this has to be one of the best and we will use this from now on if available. If you are after a clean not to fancy well priced with fabulous hosts this is the place for you and you will enjoy every minute.
The breakfasts were great and served with a massive smile and my only critisism is that a massive group of women on a girly getaway were sat in the dining room in bed wear and it was not what i fancied seeing at the breakfast table.
The bar was well stocked and a very good price for all drinks and gave a good start to the night .
Do not stay here if you want the hilton hotel but if you want a nice clean no frills fantastic atmosphere this is the place for you and we will be staying here annually every time we go to the golden mile.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gareth m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Richard and Lynn are very nice people myself my wife our 19 year old son and our 8 year old daughter all stayed with them from 2 oct to the 7 oct and we had a great time the hotel was so clean and well kept the food was fantastic .Anything we needed or needed help with Richard or Lynn were there to help eg trains buses and taxis ect .We will be going back again for sure once again thanks for a great week Nigel ,Shirley,Alexander and Nicole.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NigelFer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Been going to this hotel for the past 8 years since I was 8, been going with just me and my mum and its has been one of the best holidays each year that I have been to because the hotel is clean, the rooms are perfect sizes and accommodative for everything. Richard and Lynn are the best hotel owners I would never think about going anywhere else in Blackpool now, they make everyone feel so welcome, like a second home they are brill miss them when where gone.

Will defiantly recommend it to anyone, hen parties, stags, families, couples, friends.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KellieShuttleworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.6 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#61 of 73 in Blackpool
1,094 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#16 of 73 in Blackpool
1,044 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Beechfield Hotel
The Beechfield Hotel
#12 of 73 in Blackpool
1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Blackpool South Promenade
0.4 mi away
Ardwick House Hotel
Ardwick House Hotel
#323 of 860 in Blackpool
122 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Fairway
The Fairway
#70 of 860 in Blackpool
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lucena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lucena Hotel

Address: 9-11 Barton Avenue, Blackpool FY1 6AP, England (Formerly Minotel Lucena)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Blackpool
Price Range: $28 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lucena Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Lucena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing