We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“misunderstanding of hotels”

The New Oaklea Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The New Oaklea Hotel
Ranked #58 of 69 Hotels in Blackpool
liverpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“misunderstanding of hotels”
Reviewed October 31, 2009

people reading these reviews need to understand the difference between some of the reviews. the brilliant reviews which are well and truly deserved are for the NEW OAKLEA HOTEL, but the bad comments are actually for the OAK LEA HOTEL which is by no means anything to do with this hotel and should not be connected at all. hopefully peolpe who stay at these hotels will know the difference as soon as entering the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank thebestLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    1
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
3
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
lancaster
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2009

my son and myself stayed for two nights when we went to the rebellion festival steve and avril great hosts. the room was very nice food was great i even called in to have a beer with steve a couple of months later when my wife went shopping at tk max. great hotel will book again for this years rebellion. keep up the good work guys an we will see you in august.
ken f.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chopperf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2006

Absolutely Brilliant hotel, reccomended for all including families, groups and individuals, central to everything.

Dont Know what the one bad review was on about, definately NOT "smokelea", maybe the people who wrote that report meant the Oaklea Hotel not The New Oaklea.

Rooms were spottless and clean food was excellent service from Avril Steve and Margeret was second to none. Will definately be visiting Blackpool again just for the stay at this top hotel.

Cannot express in words how welcome my family and i felt during our stay, nothing was a problem to them.

Thanks for a great stay, Highly Reccomended!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deighan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 30, 2005

DOYLE/AHEARNE FAMILY - 17 IN TOTAL

What can i say but Avril, Ste and Margaret make you feel really welcome. home from home. We have been going to the Oaklea for the past few years and we keep growing in numbers. The accomodation is excellent and the food is fantastic - non of this tv dinners frozen all cooked fresh.
the oaklea is central for all accomodations and shops. Easily found from front promenade. The oaklea is a family run hotel and this shows in their delivery of attentiveness. They are always willing to help. they feel part of our family now as we have known them for a length of time.

Stayed October 2005
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 15, 2005

my family and i stay at the new oaklea hotel often because the service is great. avril,steve and margret do so much for us to make our stay comforable. my wife and i have 3 kids and they cater well for them. the food is amazing, the rooms are very clean and cozy andthe hosts are extremely friendly i would recomend this hotel to anyone .

  • Stayed August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2005

Upon arriving at the Oaklea, first of all I found the parking to be a right pain, the traffic wardens are really strict and prompt in Blackpool, so if you overshoot the parking time for the spaces directly outside the hotel, expect to be punished. When I arrived inside the building I found it very smokey and this was the case in the room as well. As a non smoker I didn’t like this.

I actually wanted to cancel my stay at the hotel straight after handing over the money as my girlfriend fell ill, however the man in charge told me there was no way at all that I could have a refund. I found this not just bad service but extremely annoying.

I found the bathroom not very pleasant, however it was clean. It is also easy to hear other people on floors above you which disrupted me in the morning a bit.

Overall : staff not very helpful, bad parking (not the hotel’s fault though), smokey atmosphere, average to poor room.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JonCasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 20, 2005

i had my stag weekend in september 2004 with 16 of my mates, i have to tell everyone how welcomed we were made by avril steve and margaret , steve even took us out to the good clubs we really felt relaxed and at home from the moment we arrived until we left. we will certainly be back and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anybody young or old ,they were great hosts.

  • Stayed September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.7 mi away
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#28 of 69 in Blackpool
341 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Colwyn Hotel
The Colwyn Hotel
#5 of 69 in Blackpool
714 reviews
1.8 mi away
Village Hotel Blackpool
Village Hotel Blackpool
#29 of 69 in Blackpool
3,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Alumhurst Hotel
Alumhurst Hotel
#45 of 69 in Blackpool
197 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#38 of 69 in Blackpool
485 reviews
1.2 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 69 in Blackpool
3,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Oaklea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Oaklea Hotel

Property: The New Oaklea Hotel
Address: 30 Lytham Road, Blackpool FY1 6DY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 69 Hotels in Blackpool
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
New Oaklea Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing