We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Weekend”

The New Oaklea Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The New Oaklea Hotel
Ranked #60 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
A TripAdvisor Member
“Fantastic Weekend”
Reviewed October 30, 2005

DOYLE/AHEARNE FAMILY - 17 IN TOTAL

What can i say but Avril, Ste and Margaret make you feel really welcome. home from home. We have been going to the Oaklea for the past few years and we keep growing in numbers. The accomodation is excellent and the food is fantastic - non of this tv dinners frozen all cooked fresh.
the oaklea is central for all accomodations and shops. Easily found from front promenade. The oaklea is a family run hotel and this shows in their delivery of attentiveness. They are always willing to help. they feel part of our family now as we have known them for a length of time.

Stayed October 2005
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    1
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
3
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 15, 2005

my family and i stay at the new oaklea hotel often because the service is great. avril,steve and margret do so much for us to make our stay comforable. my wife and i have 3 kids and they cater well for them. the food is amazing, the rooms are very clean and cozy andthe hosts are extremely friendly i would recomend this hotel to anyone .

  • Stayed August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2005

Upon arriving at the Oaklea, first of all I found the parking to be a right pain, the traffic wardens are really strict and prompt in Blackpool, so if you overshoot the parking time for the spaces directly outside the hotel, expect to be punished. When I arrived inside the building I found it very smokey and this was the case in the room as well. As a non smoker I didn’t like this.

I actually wanted to cancel my stay at the hotel straight after handing over the money as my girlfriend fell ill, however the man in charge told me there was no way at all that I could have a refund. I found this not just bad service but extremely annoying.

I found the bathroom not very pleasant, however it was clean. It is also easy to hear other people on floors above you which disrupted me in the morning a bit.

Overall : staff not very helpful, bad parking (not the hotel’s fault though), smokey atmosphere, average to poor room.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JonCasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 20, 2005

i had my stag weekend in september 2004 with 16 of my mates, i have to tell everyone how welcomed we were made by avril steve and margaret , steve even took us out to the good clubs we really felt relaxed and at home from the moment we arrived until we left. we will certainly be back and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anybody young or old ,they were great hosts.

  • Stayed September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 9, 2004

we had a wonderful time Steve, Avril and Margaret could not do enough for us thanks x

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 24, 2004

What can I say, other than 'Top Hotel' Me (Mark), my wife (Julie) & our son (Aaron), who is 3 years old, stayed for a week in September 2003.
An absolutly excellent time was had. Clean, warm, freindly atmosphere nothing was too much trouble for Steve, Avril or Margaret.
We enjoyed it that much as a family, we are currently doing them a website. More people need to know about this 'Top Hotel'

  • Stayed September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 23, 2004

Avril and Steve are really friendly and this is what creates the atmosphere of this hotel. Give it a go you wont be disappointed.

p.s. good booze aswell

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.2 mi away
Stretton Hotel
Stretton Hotel
#43 of 70 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
1.8 mi away
North Ocean Hotel
North Ocean Hotel
#3 of 70 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
2.1 mi away
New Guilderoy Hotel Blackpool
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Viagra
Hotel Viagra
#68 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
0.2 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#54 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.6 mi away
Colonial Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Oaklea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Oaklea Hotel

Property: The New Oaklea Hotel
Address: 30 Lytham Road, Blackpool FY1 6DY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
New Oaklea Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing