We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B & B”
Review of Windsor House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Windsor House
Ranked #52 of 853 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Crieff
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent B & B”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Spent 3 nights here to celebrate my 50th Birthday. Paul was an excellent host, made us feel very welcome, nothing was too much trouble & he made a delicious breakfast every morning. My room was spotless with very comfy bed & plenty of tea bags (always a bonus for me) Central location only few minutes from train station & North Pier. Thank you Paul for making my Birthday so special & introducing us to the fabulous Jess. Wouldn't hesitate to go back.
Janice & Lisa

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jandi62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    18
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
22
121
19
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I've never written so many reviews for one property before, but then I've never stayed at a property as often as I have at Windsor House before! I'd have to check with Paul the owner, but I think I must have notched up at least 20 visits since I found this wonderful place in 2009 - sometimes I stay there so often the other B&Bs owners on the street are amazed I'm back again, and a couple of local businesses have said they'd assumed I was a local until I told them!

It's all down to this place - back in 2009 it was my last try for a stay in Blackpool after my old B&B closed down. None of the other places were awful, but they just didn't feel friendly or cosy enough for the solo traveller. If Windsor House hadn't fitted the bill, I might well have stopped coming up to Blackpool.

Windsor House has it all - beautifully decorated, spotless rooms with all the facilities you need (and more in the Premier rooms which I often splash out on - they offer a lot more for not much more money and are a particular bargain for couples as they're sold per room, not person), a tasty and very generous breakfast (sausage, bacon, egg, mushrooms, tomato and beans plus unlimited toast and tea/coffee - I often find I skip lunch!) in a lovely classically Victorian dining room, and a lovely spacious but cosy bar (open Fri/Sat normally) which has a pool table, big TV and, new for 2012 - a quiz machine! Thanks Paul! (Been begging him to get one for ages!).

What Windsor House has of course that no other B&B has is your host Paul himself, ably assisted by Jess the wonderdog! You won't meet a nicer chap than Paul - a true gentleman who is warm, funny and kind and can't do enough for you without being overbearing or false. He makes the place what it is - and it's my second home in Blackpool thanks to him - don't ever leave Paul! I don't know what I'd do without Windsor House!

Stay here - you won't regret it.

Room Tip: Premier rooms are lovely for not much extra - a bargain. All rooms are good though and all great val...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrumTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Talbot
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Just returned from an absolutely great weekend, staying at The Windsor House in Blackpool.
What more can you say in addition to all the other great reviews?
Room - Spotlessly Clean
Bed - Really Comfortable
Breakfast - First Class Quality
Lastly - Customer Service
In all of the hotels that I have stayed at, the customer service at Windsor House has to be the best. It really would put a lot of the larger hotel chains to shame. Perhaps they should send their staff here, to see how it should be done.
Thanks for an excellent weekend, will definately be back again soon !

Room Tip: Premier Rooms are available, which are a little larger in size, and have some realy nice extra littl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daz_Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Just returned from a fantastic stay at the Windsor, from the moment you arrive Paul makes you feel so at home, nothing is too much trouble for him, he goes out of his way to make sure you are happy and having a nice stay. The room was spotless clean,very nicely decorated and all the personal touches Paul has put into the rooms just make it a wonderful place to stay, the breakfast was lovely and plenty of it, we would recommend this place to anyone, Paul is a true gent.
Thankyou Paul for a wonderful stay, Ray & Cath

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ray1889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Made to feel like visiting friends rather than just guests. Room was clean and comfy - have been twice now and have been welcomed in the same friendly manner both times. If you go to Blackpool then stay here!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Danny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke on trent
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Just returned from our stay at the Windsor House, The Owner Paul, was fantastic, nothing was too much trouble, a real gentleman, we were upgraded to a luxury room that had every facitlity going, the rooms were spotless, comfortable beds,and plenty of storage space, plus the use of a PC, was a dream being able to keep up to date with, emails etc, along with all the added extras, shower cream soap etc... Breakfast was beautiful,plenty of it and tasty to say the least, we enjoyed our stay here and and look forward to our stay again, we would definately recommend this beautiful kept home to anyone, and would not stay anywhere else. Thanks Paul for a great stay and we hope to see you and Jess soon xx

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank darts180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Just got back from Windsor house.The owner Paul was amazing he made us feel very welcome and couldn't do enough for us.The rooms were very clean and modern very spacious.Breakfast was excellent and plenty of it.Stayed in Blackpool loads of times but this hotel the best by far.Were all going back in December if not before.Can't wait see you soon Paul. Jo,Dawn,Mark and ann xxx

Room Tip: Any room all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jo c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.7 mi away
Windsor Hotel
Windsor Hotel
#257 of 853 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eleven
Hotel Eleven
#7 of 853 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Garnett Hotel
The Garnett Hotel
#20 of 853 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pelham Lodge
Pelham Lodge
#2 of 127 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Hotel Blackpool
The Hotel Blackpool
#6 of 853 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.0 mi away
Trentham Hotel
Trentham Hotel
#146 of 853 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor House

Property: Windsor House
Address: 47 Dickson Road | North Central, Blackpool FY1 2AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 853 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Windsor House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windsor House is an imposing former Victorian villa with 10 en-suite bedrooms, in an ideal location close to Blackpool town centre, Funny Girls, Winter Gardens, shops, restaurants and night life.Our aim is to provide an unforgettable holiday for you to remember for many years to come. Every effort is made to ensure your stay is as pleasurable as possible, with a friendly and professional service and attention paid to every detail. We take pride that our guests visit us again and again.Because of our close proximity to Blackpool's gay nightlife, we welcome gay guests and have a zero-tolerance policy towards homophobia. If you don't feel comfortable around gay people, we ask that you book elsewhere. At Windsor House we pride ourselves on providing a friendly and welcoming environment for all our guests whether thay be gay, straight, young or old.For those who are nervous or allergic to pets, please be advised that we have a medium sized dog resident at the hotel, however she is very friendly with a sweet temperament. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Windsor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing