We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good hotel spoiled by worst comedian in Blackpool”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Cliffs Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Cliffs Hotel
Ranked #22 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“good hotel spoiled by worst comedian in Blackpool”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

Good points - - - Comfortable room , good food, excellent staff and the entertainment on the friday with comedian Terra Cotta

Bad points - - - The entertainment on Saturday was dismal.a singer accompanied by two dancers who were at times out of sync.This was followed by a so called comedian Ian Craig who was terrible , this was just not my opinion but also of several people near us .Because he wasn,t getting any laughs his manner became sarcastic and somewhat aggressive. his material was dated and bordered on the vulgar.He might be okay at the Viking hotel which is adults only but should not be at the Claremont or Cliifs hotel

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janlee2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,848 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    832
    661
    194
    91
    70
See reviews for
726
625
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (622)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

Good food, very clean room, excellent service and nightly entertainment. .
The only drawback is lack of parking space. In addition to this in my humble opinion this has to be in the top three hotels in Blackpool.
.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redken19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

We booked a double sea view B&B+Dinner for a Saturday night, for £98. Check in was very quick & the room was spotless.

Dinner is semi self service, you help yourself to starters & sweets, the main course is served to you. All the staff were excellent as was the food. We had a nice bottle of wine for around £ 15.

Breakfast was self service, again it was all very good.

I don't think we could have found better value anywhere else in Blackpool. We'll be back.

Room Tip: The sea view was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chewy380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

We were a party of 12 ladies all friends and family, away for the weekend to celebrate my step daughters 18th Birthday.
On arrival, as the organiser I was introduced to the manager, who showed me around the dining room and showed me where our table would be for the weekend. We were given our keys and went up to our rooms. The rooms were clean and comfortable and of a decent size. The beds at the Cliffs have to be the most comfortable I have EVER stayed in, total comfort.
We had a fabulous weekend, everyone loved the hotel and all commented on how lovely the food was. Thank you to ALL the staff, for making our stay enjoyable, we will definitely be back again. I don't think I would stay anywhere else now that I've found the Cliffs. X

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimbab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

Once again we've had a fantastic 5 day break at the Cliffs.Rooms clean,public rooms excellent and the food superb.Thanks to the staff for looking after us and hope they enjoyed having us. The entertainment was of the usual high standard and comedian Terry Cotter "brill". Bus &tram right outside,and last but not least weather good. thanks CLIFFS.

Room Tip: Sea view if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MargaretBlackmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bo'ness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

Along with my son I have an annual trip to Blackpool,Having stayed at various hotels in this lovely resort I have to truthfully say this is the best one we have been in.How it is only a 2 star I just don't understand as the rooms as with the rest of the hotel were spotlessly clean.The food was also first class with a wide choice of dishes but I think best of all were the staff...so enthusiastic..Along with the leisure facilities and entertainment I will definatley return. Just one small thing......Can the bar stock diet Irn Bru!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Go for it..You won't be disappointed. Bus and Trams handy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dougie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

We have stayed here on numerous occasions and have always enjoyed our stay. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean and comfortable. There is a gym and small swimming pool, and entertainment for the little ones. The food is excellent, we thoroughly enjoyed the steak night. The only downside on our last trip was that our room was above the evening entertainment room and was quite noisy. Also as another reviewer pointed out the comedian on the Saturday night was dreadful, I have never seen this comedian before and I hope I never see him again. However, I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a warm, friendly atmosphere in a convenient location. Looking forward to our next stay!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#26 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,026 reviews
0.8 mi away
Claremont Hotel
Claremont Hotel
#19 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,442 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#35 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
#36 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Big Blue Hotel
The Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,967 reviews
2.7 mi away
Viking Hotel
Viking Hotel
#18 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliffs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliffs Hotel

Property: The Cliffs Hotel
Address: Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9SG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#16 Family Hotel in Blackpool
#18 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Cliffs Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cliffs Hotel in Blackpool offers its guests 163 comfortable and pleasantly decorated bedrooms, all with the privacy and comforts you would expect from a hotel. All with en suite bathrooms and some with delightful sea views overlooking Blackpool promenade and beach plus the famous Blackpool Illuminations. There are a range of room sizes sleeping from one to a family of six. The facilities available at this fine early century hotel range from the swimming pool, leisure centre with gym and sauna and 'kids club' to the sea view Cafe bar and cabaret room making it the ideal hotel venue for a family holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Cliffs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliffs Hotel Blackpool
Blackpool Cliff Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing