We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bank holiday break”
Review of The Cliffs Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Cliffs Hotel
Ranked #22 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bank holiday break”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Stayed at the Cliffs 6 years ago & I can honestly say that although it was quiet good back then it has improved immensely. The food is a massive improvement as is the entertainment, kids loved it, far enough away from the hustle & bustle of the main drag, will defiantly recommend to family & friends.

Room Tip: Try & staty on a higher floor as the entertainment can be a bit loud, not a problem as such just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    846
    690
    199
    94
    72
See reviews for
748
642
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (638)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We have visited this hotel twice a year at least for the last 4 years now. The hotels new buffet style restaurant is excellent. With more than you can eat on offer, make sure he get out for a stroll on the prom when you have eaten. The rooms are clean and modern and when you return to your room it's as if you have just arrived for the first time. The pool area is ideal you can sit and enjoy a drink in the pool bar if you don't want to swim. There are at times other people in the pool who think nothing of being over excited at times and not considering other pool users. This is often dealt with by staff who are very polite in pointing this out. Nightly entertainment is great too. The adventure base is great for the kids too and the staff in the base work very hard to ensure the children have a good time giving parents a chance to enjoy what they put together when they bring it to the stage for all to enjoy. Love it and can't recommend it enough..

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelle s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 31, 2014

the hotel was fantastic rooms great staff friendly food was all so fantastic indoor pool gym games room it was cross the road from the sea nice walks on the beach it was a turkey and tinsels week what a great week excellent time had by all would recommend a visit

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tigger332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Just home from a stay at the Cliffs Hotel. Last time we stayed my review was not good so l thought it only fair to tell you about this visit. Our room was on the 1st floor sea view lovely, nice and clean and very warm had to turn heating off .Restaurant service very much better our waiter Ainars very attentive and competent. Entertainment excellent with one or 2 new acts. Café bar very good as always staff helpful and always pleasant. Only disappointment was the pool ,one person thought it was clever to sit on side throwing ball over our heads to his son could have hit my 5year old granddaughter or anyone else we did move but the ball was everywhere we got out ask an attendant if they should be doing that his comment was they're only having fun l replied its not fun for everyone else he said he have a word but they were on holiday to enjoy themselves l said so are we However this did not spoil our holiday we just accepted some people are selfish.. We will be back so well done Cliffs for all else. .

Room Tip: We love the sea view rooms so would recommend paying the extra for one
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShirleyWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Friendly, clean and good food. If the car park is full there is ample on road parking nearby. Free wi-fi in café/lounge. Do not forget to join the Choice Loyalty Club whilst at the hotel, the points do build up and the drinks seem to make you happier when you have paid for them with the choice vouchers.

Room Tip: Some rooms do get warm, but a fan is provided
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Just back from our second visit this year , enjoyed both our stays. Rooms clean and comfortable.
staff excellent, food 1st class. Entertainment each night really good. Good for families and couples. Not a bad thing to say . would definitely recommend.Will be back again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anne020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We have just returned home from the Bank Holiday Weekend at the Cliffs Hotel. This was our 4th visit over the past two years - and again we have no complaints! We had the same room as our last visit - which is amazing! I always ask for a 1st floor family room because it has a 'partition'/half wall in the room to separate the bunk beds from the double bed section in the room! This is excellent with children aged 9 and 12 yrs, as they are still wanting to be in a room with us - but gives us all a little privacy too! Great value for what you pay here - seriously! The pool, jacuzzi and sauna were well used during the day as we always do .
'The Base' Childrens' club is brilliant! My son Oliver looks forward to seeing Edward the Children's entertainer every time we go! He organises activities and plays with the children all day and evening until 10pm. This is really great for parents to be able to relax and watch the evening cabaret. The hotel will miss Edward when he leaves to go to University in September! Good luck Edward!

Room Tip: Family rooms don't have any views - but room 145 has a great layout for parents/teenagers in one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SSpeakman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#27 of 70 in Blackpool
3,143 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 70 in Blackpool
3,983 reviews
2.7 mi away
Viking Hotel
Viking Hotel
#18 of 70 in Blackpool
1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Claremont Hotel
Claremont Hotel
#19 of 70 in Blackpool
1,491 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#39 of 70 in Blackpool
486 reviews
3.3 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 70 in Blackpool
3,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliffs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliffs Hotel

Property: The Cliffs Hotel
Address: Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9SG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#16 Family Hotel in Blackpool
#18 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Cliffs Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cliffs Hotel in Blackpool offers its guests 163 comfortable and pleasantly decorated bedrooms, all with the privacy and comforts you would expect from a hotel. All with en suite bathrooms and some with delightful sea views overlooking Blackpool promenade and beach plus the famous Blackpool Illuminations. There are a range of room sizes sleeping from one to a family of six. The facilities available at this fine early century hotel range from the swimming pool, leisure centre with gym and sauna and 'kids club' to the sea view Cafe bar and cabaret room making it the ideal hotel venue for a family holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Cliffs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliffs Hotel Blackpool
Blackpool Cliff Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing