We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need a new reception Manager”
Review of The Cliffs Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Cliffs Hotel
Ranked #23 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Reviewed July 5, 2008

We stayed at the hotel In June and we was most disapointed that it is nothing like it shows on the web site.

On arrival it took a turn for the worse. We was left waiting at reception to be served and whilst we stood waiting we could see a small woman which looked like to be a manager because she was wearing a suit jacket just looking back at us, after we had been stood there waiting she shouted at the young girl who eventally checked us in. I felt very embrassed for the girl. I have a young daughter myself i would tell her to leave. I am suprised that there is any staff left working on reception if she speaks to staff in that manner and she calls herself a manager.

The room was ok but really wonted to change rooms but felt like i couldn't go back to reception. The food was however very nice and the pool was also nice. Just a shame about the rude staff. We was talking to other guests who had previously stayed before and they informed us that it never used to be like this.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank nicktruscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,934)
There are newer reviews for The Cliffs Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,878 - 1,884 of 1,935 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2008

We booked the cliffs after reading rave reviews on this website. I was somewhat confused at how a hotel that has such reviews, could be so very bad.

My family and I entered through the front door and my first impressions were poor, the glass was filthy, we were hit by a wall of smoke and there were cigerette burns in the carpet!

Things got worse.... We went to our room down a corridor that would do well as a set for a 1950's hospital drama. The room had stained carpet, stained sheets, dirty phone. a bathroom I would not wash my dog in and no cot ( as requested) .

Our room was also a smoking room. I called reception asking to be moved to a non smoking room with a cot. The reply was that they could not move us. I asked for our money back.. After a long battle with the management my family and I left with our refund. I have to say that we were very relieved to not have to discover any more "delights" of the cliffs

Ended up in the Big Blu ... Fantastic

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tollyDuffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2008

During my stay in the cliffs at the start of the year i was pleased to see the food and staff were still as friendly as ever! apart from the nasty little round woman in a blue suit wearing a badge stating she was reception manager. On two occasions over my 3 night stay i heard this woman snaping at a member of her staff in a very degrading manner! My daughter works on reception and i would be extremly upset if i thought she was being spoken to in that manner by a jumped up little woman like that! Apart from that the stay was lovely.

Stayed: January 2008
3  Thank bev6244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2008

We paid £69 per person for 2 nights bed breakfast and evening meal. The food was lovely and there was a full entertainment programme on both nights. There is a swimming pool, kids club and gym included in this price. Yes the hotel is a bit tired and the rooms are pretty basic but for £69 what do you expect realistically. If you can get a good price then its definately worth going we had a brilliant weekend the entertainment was good fun. The staff on the whole are foreign but very friendly and helpul. We went with a group of adults but have previously been as a family and had a great time both times. Recommened to all age group, other reviews say its full of penisoners but it wasn't on this occassion it was a very mixed bunch of age groups.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natasha54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2007

Stayed at this with a family group of 12, we have been coming for years and so know what to expect.

The Cliffs is your typical Blackpool hotel, slightly faded glory, popular with the blue rinse brigade. The decor is slightly tatty in both the rooms, corridors and dining areas. Parking is not great, but as we have been coming for years we know what do do (get there early!) and grab your spot.

We really liked the 'leisure centre' downstairs, the pool was great as well as the Gym kit. We were in there every day of our 4 night stay, and our 14 month old daughter loved the pool.

The evenings entertainment was from a different era! A singer / comedian, with a quiz or bingo. The Cliffs are deffo catering to their main demographic here, and who can blame them?! Still it was good fun and the comedian made us laugh.

Our room (no 105) was OK, though the bathroom was tiny with the toilet squashed right next to a narrow bath, I ended up going downstairs to the bar to use a more comfortable toilet. The room was clean and warm with good views, though as other people have commented the windows could do with a clean. Also the door to the room was a little rickety, they could do with a bit of a seeing to.

Food was OK, I must admit I was slightly underwhelmed, service was quick (too quick maybe!). The food wasn't horrible, just unimaginative. Not much choice at the breakfast either, if a standard Travelodge or Holiday Inn can do a decent breakfast why can't a big place like the Cliffs?

Would we come again? Of course, it's a family tradition, and unless they really go downhill we will keep coming. Don't come here expecting the Malmasion, or the Hiltion. But it's warm and comfortable, and it's Blackpool and so the Cliffs is typical of the area.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Mark.L.Johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2007

We have just arrived back home from another great stay over at the Cliffs. We have stayed at the Cliffs several times since 2001 and not once we have been disappointed with anything. Since the last stay the rooms, restaurant, and leisure area have undergone refurbishment and they have done a really good job! There is a variety of choice for evening meal and the entertainment also suits everyone’s liking with Singer and Comedian, Hotel caters great for kids with there own entertainment programme too. The staffs are friendly and give excellent hospitality. I could rave on and on about this hotel as I can’t see how anyone can find fault over it.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank djj2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2007

I stayed at this hotel with my mother and this is the third time we have visited. We had paid for a seaview and the room was clean and a good size with a lovely view out to sea. The food was still really good although we had a few mishaps through misunderstanding of the 'scottish language by the foreign waiters and waitresses. thank goodness for the return of our waiter Peter, who delivered once again a good service.

Only complaint this trip, the toddlers and children were allowed to run riot in the entertainment theatre whilst the singers and comedians were on stage, (11.30pm - 12 midnight) . The kids had their club until well on in the evening, so the adult entertainment should be just that for adults - for this reason we are going to try a sister hotel.

Stayed: July 2007
1  Thank Papermoon051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#27 of 73 in Blackpool
3,257 reviews
0.8 mi away
Claremont Hotel
Claremont Hotel
#21 of 73 in Blackpool
1,519 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
4,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Viking Hotel
Viking Hotel
#19 of 73 in Blackpool
1,149 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#39 of 73 in Blackpool
515 reviews
3.3 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliffs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliffs Hotel

Address: Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9SG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Blackpool
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#18 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: $100 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Cliffs Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cliffs Hotel in Blackpool offers its guests 163 comfortable and pleasantly decorated bedrooms, all with the privacy and comforts you would expect from a hotel. All with en suite bathrooms and some with delightful sea views overlooking Blackpool promenade and beach plus the famous Blackpool Illuminations. There are a range of room sizes sleeping from one to a family of six. The facilities available at this fine early century hotel range from the swimming pool, leisure centre with gym and sauna and 'kids club' to the sea view Cafe bar and cabaret room making it the ideal hotel venue for a family holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Cliffs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliffs Hotel Blackpool
Blackpool Cliff Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing