We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“anniversary break”
Review of The Cliffs Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Cliffs Hotel
Ranked #22 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Reviewed March 2, 2013

slightly annoyed on check when our room wasn`t ready due to maintenance problems.
was told by receptionist it would take 20 mins,but 1hr still no room.spoke again to reception(different staff member) and was offered an alternative room which we took..
food was excellent at all times with really friendly waiter sevice.hotel lovely and clean with upgrades taking place at present time.evening entertainment was good.leisure facilities were on the small side but relaxing.all in all we had a good week and would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brian g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,004)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,399 - 1,405 of 2,004 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2013

Worst hotel I have ever stayed in!

The receptionist on arrival had little interest in the job she was doing. Her customer service skills left much to be desired and gave us no confidence in returning to the reception when we encounted problems further into our stay.

Walking down the corridor to our room, I thought I had stumbled into a university dorm by mistake! Depressing, tired and in need of a complete refurb!

Our room was just about acceptable. Although the door was so thin all the activity on the landing could be heard. The decor was dated and the bed and pillows poor. The grubby window overlooked a long decent into a depressing area for the bins. Lovely!

Whilst the bathroom was a good size the door was only suitable for those on the shorter side, preferrably less than 5ft to avoid a bump on the head everytime you go in. The toilet made a loud churning noise every time it was flushed - much to our neighours delight I am sure! Whilst the smell in the bathroom resembled marijuana.

We stayed on a half board basis and whilst breakfast was acceptable (with the exception of the porridge), dinner was disappointing. The food was of poor quality and lacked any interest whilst the dining room was over cramped and noisy. I felt like I was dining with strangers the tables were so close together.

The pool area and spa facilities were dirty and dingy. With grubby floors, muck along the waterline of the pool and hair floating in the water.

The evening entertainment was cringeworthy cabaret. A dodgy singing double act, a poor compare and a 50/50 comedian. We returned to our room to avoid the disco that followed but couldn't excape completely as we learnt our room was directly above so we had to endure loud music as we tried to get some sleep. The next night we headed to the casino a little further up.

The only saving grace in this hotel is the cafe bar which has been refurbished and is modern and serves pleasant lunches.

My partner and in-laws who I travelled with stayed at the cliff many times albeit 15/20 years ago and told me before we travelled how wonderful it was. We were in agreement when we left that it has had its day and in my opinion could now do with being knocked down so they can start again!

Room Tip: Book in another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Holidays635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

stayed at the cliffs hotel many times. had 2 adjoining rooms which was great for our 15
year old son. staff were very friendly. the cabaret was very good on both evenings my
only complaint was that some parents didnt watch there kids properly.. would recommend the cliffs
hotel to anyone visiting Blackpool. hoping to return later this year..

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BurnleyDispenser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

this was my 2nd time at the cliffs , just come back today 1st march me and my husband were their
for 5 nights, you just can not fault the place,its great our room was lovely,great entertainment everynight staff are all very nice and very helpfull from the reception to the chamber maids and also the dining room staff,really enjoyed the pool and the gym it was great, also touch lucky with the weather,no rain sun out most days lovely, the hotel is ideal for getting to blackpool centre, cleavleys fleetwood and saint anns trams buses stop right outside the hotel,the restaurant just
been done up it is really nice,the food is superb can not fault it plenty choices for your starter main and desert,the coffee lounge as also been done up it is lovely just to sit in their and watch
the world go bye ,

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 44me_me44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Stayed at the cliffsa number of times and can not fault it, There again in feb 13 took two friends one disabled ,the room that they had was exerllent with en suite for disabled .Both of them enjoyed there stay ,my wife and i were delighted with the re-vamp of the coffee lounge and restaurant what a difference as allways rooms clean and tidy The food was exerllent value for money the service very good with friedly waiters entertainment very good but a little to loud distorting the sound a little The hotel should be tree star not two .will be back again this year more than once again with friends great stay thank you Derek anne maurice shirly

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank derek r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

For February , the stay was great ,the weather was great fro time of year which helped in a enjoyment stay , the hotel was nice and warm clean, all new Deco, the art Deco on the stairs is something to take a interest in and other parts of the hotel ,which i enjoy , the staff are very helpful and very friendly , they helped with the case`s to our rooms ,the meals are excellent you get your money`s worth , you certainly don't go home starving , the swimming pool and gym are are nice ,with a bar at the side for refreshments , every thing is fresh and clean ,the kids loved it ,they don't want to leave the hotel they want to stay with the kids club and pool , and the disco at night there worn out by then , great time ,we did not want to go home , well recommended we have been going to the cliffs and staying now for 10 years or more now, and had no need to complain. we have stayed at near by hotels in the past ,and there no way as good as the cliffs for value and comfort and been able to relax . oh plenty of room to park your car .should be 3 star at least
9/10

Room Tip: room 144 double bed and bunk bed for kids and a walk in wardrobe like( lion witch and the wardrobe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank donlopez616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed two nights dinner B and B £190 with a sea view Delighted with Cliffs The Comedians on both nights were superb Laughed our heads off Thought some of the parents didn't watch their kids properly This is on no way the hotels fault though The place is great and we would highly recommend The Brearleys from Manchester

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anagaaw_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.8 mi away
Claremont Hotel
Claremont Hotel
#16 of 73 in Blackpool
1,589 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#27 of 73 in Blackpool
3,433 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#38 of 73 in Blackpool
4,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
577 reviews
0.1 mi away
Elgin Hotel Blackpool
Elgin Hotel Blackpool
#8 of 73 in Blackpool
822 reviews
2.7 mi away
Viking Hotel
Viking Hotel
#19 of 73 in Blackpool
1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliffs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliffs Hotel

Address: Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9SG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Blackpool
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#18 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: $77 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Cliffs Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cliffs Hotel in Blackpool offers its guests 163 comfortable and pleasantly decorated bedrooms, all with the privacy and comforts you would expect from a hotel. All with en suite bathrooms and some with delightful sea views overlooking Blackpool promenade and beach plus the famous Blackpool Illuminations. There are a range of room sizes sleeping from one to a family of six. The facilities available at this fine early century hotel range from the swimming pool, leisure centre with gym and sauna and 'kids club' to the sea view Cafe bar and cabaret room making it the ideal hotel venue for a family holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Cliffs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliffs Hotel Blackpool
Blackpool Cliff Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing