We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Cliffs Hotel Blackpool”
Review of The Cliffs Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Cliffs Hotel
Ranked #23 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Reviewed November 6, 2012

What a lovely stay we had at the Cliffs hotel Balckpool. All the staff was very helpful & friendly. The room was a seaview which was good. the only thing i could say was wrong was the way the bedroom furniture ( couch) was laid out. My grandchildren had to climb on the couch to see all the lights & made it difficlut to pull the curtains on & off as well. It was in the middle of the window & couldnt be moved as it was heavy. Apart from that it was great. The staff for meals couldnt do enough for us & very polite.We was waited on every morning & every evening.The meals was nice only wish they would do a selection of steaks etc for people that dont like salad or meals cooked in sauces. A fantastic place for a holiday with the kids. My grandchildren even tried out the club. Although not old to stay on their own they still enjoyed it. WELL DONE WE WILL BE BACK. Only one more thing I wish the smokers would move away from the entrance.

Room Tip: A Sea View room.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suehodgson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,935)
There are newer reviews for The Cliffs Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,387 - 1,393 of 1,935 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had a super weekend, about the 5th time we've visited this hotel. This weekend was a family get away with an age range from 3 up to 72! Something for everyone. Good kids club and disco, super Halloween party, good kids menu, although they can also choose from the main menu too. Food was excellent with a good choice of fish/meat/pasta/veggie dishes and adult entertainment was good. Leisure club good facilities, lovely heated pool, overlooked by sports bar for those who just want to watch! Rooms were spotlessly clean and I understand they are being refurbished floor by floor. The promenade lounge/bar has been refurbished since our last visit too, this is lovely, modern, bright and relaxing.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms - request away from the lifts. Sea view rooms are extra but worth it.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank georgina e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just a one night stay returning home from holiday, I have stayed at this hotel a few times previously and never been disapointed. Good value for money great choice on the menu very comfortable rooms and excellent entertainment.
I would certainly recommend a stay at this hotel

Room Tip: Nice sea view rooms you will pay a liitle more but well worth it
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stay here in late Oct from Fri-Sun, very busy when we were there but the service we had was good, Food was ok..Rooms clean and tidy, bathroom spotless although freezing cold.
Rooms dated but ok.
We used the swimmimg pool etc a few times which was great.
I would use the hotel again but would also look around.

Room Tip: Front for the views
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnG724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I have just come back fron a wonderfull 4 days at the cliffs hotel the food was excellent the hotel is a very old building so you have to expect the rooms not to be the stand box you get in moden hotels but are all of s good size We were there in the school half term holiday so there were lots of children around we do not have children of our own but it was not a problem the only complain was the drink prices were high but when you get free entertainment you can not complain
one other thing was the limited parking

Room Tip: try and get a sea view room there are larger
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALANPINK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

I booked this hotel last minute and luckily got the last room available for me, my wife and two children, dinner, bed and breakfast. It's a little more expensive to what we would usually pay for a weekend away but the spa/swimming pool convinced me to push the boat out a bit. On the day of arrival we checked in rather late due to being dragged around the pleasure beach by the kids, we did struggle to get parked at first but were lucky enough to get parked near the front door in the end. On check in we were greeted by happy smiley faces and given all the relevant information about meals, times and leisure facilities.

Our room - Consisted of one double bedroom and an adjoining twin room and separate bathroom with bath and shower. Both rooms and bathroom were very clean, possibly newly decorated to an acceptable standard. The only complaint I have about the rooms is that it's a little chilly on a night, apart from that they were spot on.

Leisure facilities - The whole place appeared clean and tidy, the swimming pool was lovely and warm and the jacuzzi was red hot. All in all a lovely place to relax after a hectic day entertaining the kids in Blackpool.

Dining - You would be greeted at the door by a waiter who took you to your designated table, this was your table for the whole stay. The dining area is a nice environment in general. You were given a menu which consisted of four/five starters/main meals/desserts. There is a childrens menu although our kids eat real food not nuggets and the likes. My wife is a vegan. The hotel werent prepared for a vegan guest but went above and beyond to satisfy her needs, preparing food from scratch for both starter and main course. Between the entire family we tried almost everything on the menu, the food is quite basic and you can tell it's pre prepared but it was still quite nice. The only meal that wasn't enjoyed was the chicken dish due to being very dry.The breakfast is once again basic but ok. I must admit that I prefer self service breakfasts but the staff did a good job giving us what we wanted. Monitoring the service for other people around us I could see how some people complain about being left unattended for quite a while. To our advantage we had "Carl" serving us, a top lad who made sure we had everything we wanted at all times. He was supported by Bart the drinks waiter and Stefan another waiter who was also very attentitive and friendly. We found the whole dining experience quite relaxed and enjoyable.

Evening entertainment - The Lancaster suite is a nice big function room with plenty of seating and a well stocked bar, staged area with dance floor and Blackpool glittery backstage curtains. All the acts we saw were good if not a little cheesy but generally entertaining. My one complaint about this venue is the price of the beer at nearly £4 a pint I found myself reluctantly sipping my guinness. My next complaint has nothing to do with the venue but I wish other people would control their children, there were a few running around like tazmanian devils on red bull. They were constantly being told off by the host (in a nice manner) but their parents took just as little notice as the kids.

Overall stay - Generally enjoyed the Cliffs experience, it's a little bit far away from the attractions than we would have liked but if you don't mind jumping on a tram then I would recommend this hotel. After reading a few of the bad reviews, I can understand a couple of the complaints like parking and waiting to be served could be a problem but we fell lucky with both. In particular we would like to thank Carl the waiter for making our stay feel a little more special. As far as the complaints about the rooms are concerned it is clear they must have recently refurbished the rooms as ours was spot on. Many thanks to The Cliffs, the Clark family.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NO5HIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for a few days. It is a very big hotel with spacious accomodation. Our room had a nice sea view and the food was good. Our children liked the room and the entertainment at night, such as a disco and for the adults there was a cabaret act on. There are plenty of facilities, like a cinema and swimming pool to occupy all of the family. We had a lovely time there and we would stay there again. Only negative side is that the hotel is a bit pricey.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mummy349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#27 of 73 in Blackpool
3,257 reviews
0.8 mi away
Claremont Hotel
Claremont Hotel
#21 of 73 in Blackpool
1,519 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
4,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Viking Hotel
Viking Hotel
#19 of 73 in Blackpool
1,149 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#39 of 73 in Blackpool
514 reviews
3.3 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliffs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliffs Hotel

Address: Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9SG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Blackpool
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#18 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: $100 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Cliffs Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cliffs Hotel in Blackpool offers its guests 163 comfortable and pleasantly decorated bedrooms, all with the privacy and comforts you would expect from a hotel. All with en suite bathrooms and some with delightful sea views overlooking Blackpool promenade and beach plus the famous Blackpool Illuminations. There are a range of room sizes sleeping from one to a family of six. The facilities available at this fine early century hotel range from the swimming pool, leisure centre with gym and sauna and 'kids club' to the sea view Cafe bar and cabaret room making it the ideal hotel venue for a family holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Cliffs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliffs Hotel Blackpool
Blackpool Cliff Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing