We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable stay”
Review of The Cliffs Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Cliffs Hotel
Ranked #22 of 69 Hotels in Blackpool
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable stay”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed at the Cliffs from Sunday 2nd Sept.2012 till Friday 7thSept.
The staff at the reception desk were very pleasant and welcoming on our arrival and helpful throughout our stay. We were allocated room 107 sea facing, good sized room, plenty of storage, large flat screen tv, very clean and comfortable. Bathroom very narrow and a suggestion would be to replace the bath with a shower cubicle to allow more room. Dining room well laid out, choice and quality of food excellent. Our waiter, Brigeesh, was so friendly and efficient and the service was very quick. The nightclub was very large but a suggestion would be to change layout of seating, chairs too close together and five chairs each side of two small tables was too cramped. Suggest tables laid out more to accommodate couples rather than large parties. Entertainment excellent (for our age group) 60s. One area which we believe needs to be addressed is the congretation of smokers outside main entrance making it rather awkward going in and out of the doorway as they tended to hug this area. Obviously smokers have to be catered for and suggest an area away from the main entrance (or even a smoking room). Overall excellent hotel for the money, and we would definitely stay here again. Every member of staff we spoke to in the hotel was very friendly and would greet you even when passing in the corridor. Recommend you arrive early as car parking is limited

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samlynn98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    846
    689
    198
    94
    72
See reviews for
748
640
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (637)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We have recently returned from The Cliff, (12/8/12 to 19/8/12) This was not our first time at this hotel my husband and I have been coming to the Cliff for 8 years, we even honeymooned here. We found the staff at the reception very friendly when checking in and when we went to buy our tram passes they had ran out of them but the receptionist told us if we took a shot walk to a local shop we could find them there.

Room, our room was clean and tidy. It had suffician storage space and became our home for the week. the bathroom was always clean and we got fresh towels every day. The shower is nice and powerful, which is welcoming after a busy day on the go.

Food, I couldnt rate the food highly enough. Every meal we had out did the previous one. There was always plenty of it on the plate, we never left the dinning room feeling hungry. A favourite of ours is the Lamb Henry, in our eyes you cant beat it. All the waiting staff are friendly and there to help with what ever your needs are. i in particular have a food allergy and they catered to this fantastically.

Entertainment. once again i would rate this very highly. as we have been coimg to this hotel for years we have seen many of the acts before and look forward to seeing them again. after a busy day on the go both my husband and I enjoy settling down with a few drinks and enjoying the cabaret performances.

Cafe Bar. The cafe bar sell a selection of hot and cold food during the day, We had our lunch in the cafe on a few occasions and it met the standard of the evenning meals. we also found the prices very reasonable.

Overall we both loved our Cliffs experience and are looking into booking for next years holiday. we look forward to retuning next year and will spend the time dreaming about it untill we return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lauri h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

General:
Only go here if you are a family or like noizy children. They pack the rooms close together with thin walls and kids run riot everywhere and staff do nothing to even suggest the parents calm them down. You have to walk through reception were people are milling around trying to check in/out to get to any of the rooms or facilities.

Room
The room itself was pretty small, and the bathroom straight out of the 80s with brown ceramic bath ans sink and plastic 'wood effect' toilet.. I could hear the bath waiter draining above me so much I thought it was going to come through the ceiling.
No air-con and the window opened to a cargo loading area for next door hotel. Found an old fan in the wardrobe next to the childlike hairdryer. Both too dusty and dirty to want to use.
The shower was just metal piping from the taps, not a power shower and you couldn't even adjust the angle of the shower head. This lead to it flooding the bathroom floor, even with the shower/bath curtain up and flooding the towels.
the heated towel rack also did not seem to work.

Bar
The entertainment bar was quite small and we saw 5minutes of a terrible comedian and left. Could never have made it to the bar anyway, it was small local members/community/working mans pub style with a tiny bar and one staff member run off their feet, and there were not enough tables for all the chairs, meaning there were chairs set up around non-existent/invisible tables. Most bizarre.



Facilities
One lift for the entire hotel to all the rooms. (At least 3 floors)
The lift didn't go down to the gym so you have to wander down the steps with your swim gear, then back up with wet hair through reception.
Do not be fooled by the fancy photography of the 'gym' and 'spa' either...
There is a tiny pool, a jacuzzi that can only fit 3 people in, and a sauna that the thermostat was either broken or it was way too hot(it said >140 and was off the scale!) that can fit only 4-5 people in sat ontop of each other!
I had a wander around and found a sad looking room with a ping pong table in it too.
The only gym I saw was about 5machines in a sideroom next to the pool.
At check out time you can leave your bags in a cramped unlocked, unmonitored room and do not even get a receipt to say you have left luggage. It also seemed to be the random storage room for pool cleaning equipment!

Breakfast
All the tables are end to end so you have your breakfast sat next to 2 other rooms, so much so your elbow hits theirs if you try eat at same time!
The process of breakfast seems to be:
Wait a long time for any service then ask for Coffee and get Tea instead, ask again for Coffee, give up and drink juice. Fried breakfast options are Bacon made of 99% salt, sausages that are all fat or bad scrambled eggs that are not off but just taste too horrible to eat. With cheap soggy baked beans on the side.
The sachets of marmalade on burnt toast were all I managed to finish..
Also saw black juice next to the orange juice, spelt vaguely of apple but I didn't want to try it.

Overall/ tl;dr
Avoid, not worth the money at all.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Risa_Risa_Risa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egremont, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

This was our sixth trip to the Cliffs in recent years and we booked 2 seaview rooms, all inclusive, for ourselves and friends (no children). We booked for 5 & 4 nights respectively, arriving 27/8/2012. You may consider arriving on a Bank Holiday a bad idea but we had booked to see 2 Blackpool shows for my wife's birthday present. The holiday was a nightmare - more human zoo than hotel. On the plus side we were again happy with the size and cleanliness of the rooms (134 & 106) and reception did their best to cope with the chaos of checking in. Blackpool Transport is now up and running and provides a first class service by bus and tram from directly outside the hotel. Parking can be a problem so you need to anticipate when guests are checking out to grab a slot. The quality and quantity of the food for all meals was of the high standard we had come to expect.

Unfortunately the downside means we will never use this hotel again:-

Smokers blocked the outward opening main entrance, making it difficult to exit and impossible for wheelchair users (us not being in that category)

Children were allowed to run riot through all areas of the hotel under no parental supervision.

In order to obtain a seat for the cabaret you would have to be seated by 19.00 and endure the kids playtime, kids disco and bingo to see the show.

Children as young as 6/7 were still thronging the dance floor at 23.30!

Guests gave no consideration to others and made no attempt to close doors quietly (I do not expect to be woken at 04.00 due to this continual noise)

Lack of communication between Chef and waiting staff produced wrong orders, no orders and on one occasion cheese and biscuits as a starter.

Luckily we had 2 great evenings out from the hotel so were not subjected too badly to the madness inside. We cancelled our fifth night and were more than happy to get away. I would suggest if you are a couple with no children, do not ever book an "all inclusive" unless it is adults only.

Hope this has been of use, Phil.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank philip w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egremont
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Just returned from a 4 day break over the August Bank Holiday. From check in to check out, it was a very disappointing experience. The check in process was a shambles, had to attend 3 separate locations to register, get wristbands and room key. Room 106 was pleasant enough but the bathroom was a joke. No ... in fact it was a danger hazard. Literally the size of a broom cupboard, the loo was rammed in between the wall and the bath ( a width of approx 18"). Any ladies with a backside bigger than a size 18 must have had problems sqeezing themselves free. The towel rail was over 7 foot up the wall, the water scorching hot (there was a notice), you had to open the door outwards before you could have a wash in the handbasin, otherwise your right elbow would be black & blue from knocking it against the door. The toilet roll was knocked off everytime you walked past (or slithered past it). Enough about the broom cupboard. The bed was uncomfortable and the pillows were lumpy. The phone socket wasn't wired into the wall. The hotel's outside floodlights weren't dimmed until well after 1am (it was still on at 3am one morning) so even with the curtains closed it was like sleeping with the light on. The constant door banging, drawer slamming and general din from other residents & heavy plodding from the morons in the room above it difficult to get a goods night sleep. The place was overrun with kids, adults didn't get a look in. The kids disco in the Cabaret room didn't finish until 9.30pm then they didn't move out of the room which meant residents who wanted to watch the cabaret didn't have a cat in hells chance of getting either a table or a bit of peace and quiet and were relegated to the bar area (slightly larger than a broom cupboard). The kids were still up and running around that area too up to midnight. The all inclusive 'branded drinks' included in the package were either watered down or cheaper brands. We definitely were not drinking Bells whiskey. The food in the restaurant was ok but the tables are too close together and our waiter kept getting our orders wrong (language problem). The majority of residents took no notice of the Norovirus warning, ignoring the hand sanitisers dotted around the hotel. We put our health at risk just going through the main doors to outside - all the smokers congregated there and management didn't seem to care. We only came to Blackpool in August as there was a particular show on in town that we were only able to see at this time of year. This could be a really good hotel but management need to realise that not all adults have kids and they need to be catered for too. I agree with a previous reviewer that the whole place needs a lick of brighter coloured paint.

Room Tip: Go for a top floor room to avoid any dancing elephants above you
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

just arrived back from a weekend break at The Cliffs in Blackpool. Stayed in room 210 which I think in a previous life, was used as a broom cupboard. The room was the only disappointment, as the rest of the holiday was OK. Good selection of food in the restaurant and plenty of staff, so no waiting for your meal. There is however a sting in the tail, they dont serve coffee with your evening meal, you have to go in the Cafe bar and purchase a cup at £2-20. Entertainment was good but bar prices were a bit steep, so much so, that the compere and the comedian, both made comments on people having bottles in their bags. We have stayed at this hotel before along with all the other hotels in the Choice group. Would we stay there again, no I dont think so,

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jimmy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Just got back yesterday from a 3 day stay at the Cliffs and I will not be back. The whole Hotel needs a good refurbish as its looking really dated now, all the walls in the hotel are a dirty cream colour so a lick of paint would make such a difference. We were on the 2nd floor at the back of the hotel with no view but windows of other guests staying there and the woodwork of the windows is shocking its all pealing away, plus the room we were in, outside there was big air con machines which were on all night humming and clicking away. Kept me awake all night and the rooms are so hot we had to have the window open but in the end I had to shut it for the noise, nightmare. Our 2nd night we had a night out in blackpool, got back at about 12.30 in the morning. Just got settled and all we could here was loads of kids running up and down the corridor outside of our room screaming loudly. This went on for about 20 minutes and we had had enough, opened our door and told the kids that did they realise the time and could they be quiet, took no notice and there father couldnt of cared less. Asked to be moved but the hotel was fully booked so they had nothing. The hotel I would say caters for kids and the older person, we felt really old when we arrived cause its full of pensioners and we are only 50. Handy for blackpool, just hop on tram or bus (if you can get one that is as they are always full and you cant get on} we were just b&b and we felt as though they were rushing you to get you out, if your just b&b you cant reserve a table, just if you are on full board. Staff never smile and hardly any spoke english. We wont be returning here in the future, it was not a relaxing break at all, which was the whole plan. So if your after a quiet hotel avoid at all costs as kids running around all night from the disco.

Room Tip: maybe the rooms on the front of the hotel are better but you have to pay extra for one of these as w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank parkin1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 69 in Blackpool
3,135 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#35 of 69 in Blackpool
3,970 reviews
2.7 mi away
Viking Hotel
Viking Hotel
#18 of 69 in Blackpool
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Claremont Hotel
Claremont Hotel
#20 of 69 in Blackpool
1,486 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#37 of 69 in Blackpool
483 reviews
3.3 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 69 in Blackpool
3,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliffs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliffs Hotel

Property: The Cliffs Hotel
Address: Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9SG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#16 Family Hotel in Blackpool
#18 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Cliffs Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cliffs Hotel in Blackpool offers its guests 163 comfortable and pleasantly decorated bedrooms, all with the privacy and comforts you would expect from a hotel. All with en suite bathrooms and some with delightful sea views overlooking Blackpool promenade and beach plus the famous Blackpool Illuminations. There are a range of room sizes sleeping from one to a family of six. The facilities available at this fine early century hotel range from the swimming pool, leisure centre with gym and sauna and 'kids club' to the sea view Cafe bar and cabaret room making it the ideal hotel venue for a family holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Cliffs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliffs Hotel Blackpool
Blackpool Cliff Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing