We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chequers Plaza Hotel Blackpool
Ranked #54 of 69 Hotels in Blackpool
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic food”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We can not find Much fault with this newly dome hotel, clean bright and cheerful. The food is fantastic and the young head chef who I think is 21 will someday make it to the big time, we found him courteous polite passionate and humble. We have eaten in some top places as avid foodies and his food certainly measures up. Well done young man your food will put this hotel on the map. Ok foodie bit dealt with, the rest of the hotels clean and comfortable and staff very friendly and definitely worth a visit. Well done to you all. Management word to the wise you have a good team look after it.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotelandfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    131
    55
    34
    30
See reviews for
81
155
27
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bolton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed at the hotel last weekend and found everything to be of a very good standard, staff were friendly and professional and the food was first class we have eaten at some of the countrys finest hotels and the chef here certainly measures up if not exceeds standards at some of the places we have stayed! Our only critique is that the dining room lighting made eating the fabulous food not as enjoyable as it should be, our thought is sort your lighting out chequers and do your chef justice. We forsee rosettes for this young chef!
The manager was very attentive but did seem under pressure to do 10 things at once, but he did take it in his stride and remained polite at all times.
The rooms were basic but comfortable, a few mod cons would not go amiss.
When in Blackpool again we will most certainly be booking back in at the chequers. I know it is under totally new management and they must be doing all the right things as after reading other reviews I would say give this hotel a chance.

Room Tip: Add an evening meal you will not be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lancslassie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

First impressions were great, the room was spacious and clean. We stayed at the hotel as a family and on return from a long day out we decided to have a drink in the hotel bar as we were limited to where we could go with children.

The bar did not have any gas so we were unable to have any drinks involving coke, lemonade or larger. In fact the only choice of soft drink was a J2o. not a great mixer for vodka. We ended up walking to the local off license to get our own drinks to sit in the bar. There was no entertainment and no background music but they did put the tv on.

The next morning breakfast was served at 8.30 - 9.30 so we made an effort to get up and enjoy breakfast to find a note on the door that breakfast was delayed as they had no gas and they were trying to contact local hotels so we could eat there. However around 10.30 am they managed to cook some breakfast. The breakfast came out bit by bit. Bacon and hash browns, the rest was still cooking so we ate them then the sausages were cooked. It was a bit of a joke to be honest. No milk for the tea, no butter for toast we had to go to reception to ask for butter, milk, jam, and even plates !!! On check out they did not even apologise for the inconvenience, offer a part refund or wish us a safe journey. The excuses we kept hearing were we are under new management... they should have not taken bookings if they could not cater.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MissMLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert E, General Manager at Chequers Plaza Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you for submitting your response on Trip Advisor

We were sorry to hear that your stay with us did not reach your expectations.

Could you please contact me personally at Chequers Plaza to discuss with you further.

Robert Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Cant praise this hotel enough,mywife and i had a great 4 day stay,clean room with a very confortable bed,a fabulous sea view.very obliging staff,.lovely breakfast a down to earth chef who is such a nice person to talk to,and is very helpful. we had a lovely,lovely stay and will be returning shortly. 5 STARS from us.

Room Tip: dont miss breakfast its great and there,s plenty of it.,room at the front has a FAB, SEA vew with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Norman_The_Great
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay M, Manager at Chequers Plaza Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Hi
I would just like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments on trip advisor. I have passed your comments onto our management team and also josh (the chef) and your kind words have meant alot to all of us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Stayed here this weekend and what can I say except excellent all round.
Rooms are bright and cheerful though not ultra not modern but all I think we need is comfortable clean surroundings, excellent location and views and the breakfast was fantastic, the new head chef cooks a mean start to the day. Could not fault our stay and I would most definately stay here again. value for money,great staff and great food!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simong212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay M, Manager at Chequers Plaza Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Hi
Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on trip advisor.
It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us and your kind words mean so much to the team and the General Manager. We are glas that you have enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Stayes at this hotel twice. Once with friends- 4 girls under 20, and once with my partner. Both times were a great stay. Staff are very friendly and accommodating!
Rooms were basic but clean!
Breakfast is fantastic! Loads to choose from and topped up all the time so you will never go hungry!
Quite a long walk from the centre and trams are quite expensive but can be a lovely walk if it's a nice day/night :)

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Syoung7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
New Hacketts Hotel
New Hacketts Hotel
#51 of 69 in Blackpool
554 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#16 of 69 in Blackpool
984 reviews
0.6 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#50 of 69 in Blackpool
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Royal Boston Hotel
The Royal Boston Hotel
#12 of 69 in Blackpool
857 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Clarendon Showtel
The Clarendon Showtel
#57 of 69 in Blackpool
135 reviews
0.7 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#13 of 69 in Blackpool
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chequers Plaza Hotel Blackpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chequers Plaza Hotel Blackpool

Property: Chequers Plaza Hotel Blackpool
Address: 24 Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9RN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 69 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Chequers Plaza Hotel Blackpool 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chequers Plaza Hotel Blackpool, proudly sits on the Queens Promenade with Panoramic views of the Irish Sea and is located in the tranquil area of the seafront, yet bustling and lively Blackpool is a short tram or bus ride away, with the tram and bus stops ideally located opposite the Hotel. Our guest services team are based here at the hotel 24/7, you can be assured that your stay here at the Chequers Plaza will be of a high standard and making you want to return on your next visit to Blackpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chequers Plaza Hotel Blackpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chequers Plaza Blackpool
Blackpool Chequers Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing