We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend at Blackpool”
Review of Canasta Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Canasta Hotel
Ranked #269 of 853 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Isle of Bute
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Weekend at Blackpool”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Arrived at the hotel on Friday afternoon, offered tea and gentleman took my case up to the room. Lovely start to my holiday. Room small but clean and comfortable. Out for the evening and returned for the Karaoke. and friendly bar staff. Enjoyable night. Breakfast lovely and the best we have had in a while. The waiting staff friendly and helpful..A collection of newspapers to read in the lounge and offered free tea and coffee. My wee fella got free juice. Lovely touch. Trams stop outside the hotel, but you might want to walk after the lovely ample breakfast. We stayed for three nights.

Room Tip: Go for a seaview, we didnt but wish we had
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janmax99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanastaHotel, Owner at Canasta Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Thanks for the review Janmax.
I agree the rear facing double rooms are small...we list them as "cosy" on the website.
There is room to move round both sides though. We do reflect this in the prices we charge and I note that you found the value to be good.
The sea view doubles are larger.

Thanks for this honest review and we hope you'll consider us next time you come to Blackpool
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    78
    17
    16
    15
See reviews for
89
133
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
wrexham
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Travelled with a mate on a get away from the wives weekend on 4th and 5th of August, easy to find, managed to park approx 100 yards from hotel. Upon arrival were greeted by owner who organised a hot drink for us which was great. My mate had just worked a 12 hour night shift and was allowed access to room at 945 which again was great. Room was nice, bed comfortable and clean. Next morning breakfast was, in my opinion the best I've ever had in Blackpool. My opinion of the hotel is very, very good, no rowdyness and freindly staff and thankfully other guests, there was even a collection of free newspapers to read.
Only one complaint was that horrendous thunderstorm we had at night which had me up for an hour. Would like to say thanks to all the staff at the Canasta for a hugely enjoyable 2 night stay

Room Tip: Quiet area for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beedar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanastaHotel, Owner at Canasta Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thanks Beedar for taking the time to leave the review. We're so pleased you enjoyed it.
Sorry you didnt get parked with us but am pleased you mentioned there is street parking nearby. Yep...if the rooms are ready when you arrive there's no need for you to wait. In your case the room wasnt occupied on the previous night so you got the keys early. (Note to future guests normal check in is at 2:30pm)
You were joking about the thunderstorm wern't you? I mean..what do I do about that? LOL
We're really pleased you had a great stay and wil look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport Cheshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Just returned from a two night stay at the Canasta and it will not be the last one. Nice friendly hotel away from the crowds on the sea front. What a nice welcome at check in to be asked if you wanted a tea or coffee, which is always available free of charge. Might not sound like much of a perk to some but it is a lovely touch especially when you have returned from a long walk along the prom. Room (15) was clean and comfortable complete with 4 poster bed. The breakfast was amazing and if you wanted you could have more, not that I needed any more. Good choice as well Full English or you could have Haddock with poached eggs, kippers or if you fancied the lot. Friday evening was karaoke and the owners even joined in to encourage the guests. Drinks in the bar are also reasonable which is always an added bonus. Tram stop if almost outside the hotel too which on the 2nd night was a welcome sight after so much walking for the two days. Thanks for a great stay would recommend this hotel and look forward to our next visit

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kraftykisses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanastaHotel, Owner at Canasta Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thanks kraftykisses for the glowing review. Its nice to know we're getting things right - I'll tell all the staff and give them a pat on the back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

3rd year of staying in the Canasta, lovely comfortable stay, excellent location, breakfast was lovely, staff very friendly, nothing ever too much trouble, rooms comfortable and very clean. Tea and coffee on arrival as usual. Lovely and peaceful hotel, not at all rowdy. Excellent value for money, see you next year!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nightowl57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanastaHotel, Owner at Canasta Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thanks Lee and Family for your continued repeat business!
Look forward to the darts next year....I may even get a few tickets myself!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Husband, myself and 2 daughters stayed for 2 nights midweek. Very clean and helpful friendly people. Our room was perfect.

Getting a wee coffee when we arrived was very welcome as we'd unfortunately been stuck in traffic and the journey was longer than expected. So that was really nice. Free tea/coffee till 10:00pm.

Breakfast was outstanding and again staff very nice. We've stayed at bigger hotels in the past whose breakfast wasn't as good as this.

For the price, spot on, nice quiet location but handy enough to walk or get the tram.

We'd been before and will be back next time we go to Blackpool. Thanks!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mashed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanastaHotel, Owner at Canasta Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Thanks very much Mashed!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Pleasant stay, very obliging. Good breakfast. would definitely stay again and you can have endless tea/ coffee, free parking which is a double bonus. Looking forward to our next visit to blackpool. Hotel owners very nice too .

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missvivvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanastaHotel, Owner at Canasta Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Thanks very much Miss Vivvy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke on trent
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Loking for a hotel in a good location check this one out!! very clean well presented ,we had a sea view room although a little small it was comfortable and clean,the hosts make you very welcome offering tea and coffee all day,and a well presented breakfast.Thanks Doug,Mandy,Daniel and the waitresses.

Room Tip: Room was a little small but had the advantage of the sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeweybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanastaHotel, Owner at Canasta Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Thanks very much jeweybabe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
#35 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,480 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#36 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
0.0 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#13 of 70 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Lyndene Hotel
Lyndene Hotel
#25 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,329 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#33 of 70 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#207 of 853 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canasta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canasta Hotel

Property: Canasta Hotel
Address: 288-290 Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2EY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #269 of 853 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Canasta Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
31 en suite bedrooms (10 with sea views) located on the seafront within 10 minutes walk from the Blackpool Tower. Family run hotel - very friendly and meticulously clean. No stag or hen parties. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing