We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely couple of nights”
Review of Canasta Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Canasta Hotel
Ranked #288 of 856 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Glasgow
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely couple of nights”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Husband, myself and 2 daughters stayed for 2 nights midweek. Very clean and helpful friendly people. Our room was perfect.

Getting a wee coffee when we arrived was very welcome as we'd unfortunately been stuck in traffic and the journey was longer than expected. So that was really nice. Free tea/coffee till 10:00pm.

Breakfast was outstanding and again staff very nice. We've stayed at bigger hotels in the past whose breakfast wasn't as good as this.

For the price, spot on, nice quiet location but handy enough to walk or get the tram.

We'd been before and will be back next time we go to Blackpool. Thanks!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mashed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanastaHotel, Owner at Canasta Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Thanks very much Mashed!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    78
    17
    17
    15
See reviews for
89
133
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Pleasant stay, very obliging. Good breakfast. would definitely stay again and you can have endless tea/ coffee, free parking which is a double bonus. Looking forward to our next visit to blackpool. Hotel owners very nice too .

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missvivvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanastaHotel, Owner at Canasta Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Thanks very much Miss Vivvy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke on trent
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Loking for a hotel in a good location check this one out!! very clean well presented ,we had a sea view room although a little small it was comfortable and clean,the hosts make you very welcome offering tea and coffee all day,and a well presented breakfast.Thanks Doug,Mandy,Daniel and the waitresses.

Room Tip: Room was a little small but had the advantage of the sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeweybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanastaHotel, Owner at Canasta Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Thanks very much jeweybabe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

I stayed here with my wedding party and all I can say is a massive thankyou. One of the wettest weekends of this year and Doug & Mandy couldnt do enough for us, even had the sewing machine out at one point. They accomodated all of us and our motorbikes without bother :-) Tea and Coffee a plenty on request at no charge. No complaints from anyone - breakfast set us all up for the day. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a decent hotel in Blackpool, where the owners will bend over backwards for you. Kadie & Dave

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kadie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanastaHotel, Owner at Canasta Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
The pleasure was ours Kadie

It was the highlight of our year when 150 bikers came to meet you in a procession down to Festival House - wasn't it amazing how the torrential downpour seemed to stop the minute you stepped outside. Awesome!

We're so pleased everything went well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

I am writing this review again as the last one appears to have gone AWOL.

LOCATION
5 minutes walk to the tower and town centre, on the sea front. Although the hotel is on the Seafront, it was not noisy which was a positive and a good nights sleep was had by all.

ACCOMMODATION
The accommodation was of good quality and felt homely. The hotel was bigger than the average bed and breakfasts . Room 9 was well presented and imaculate. The Bedding and beds were of good quality, the bathroom was compact , but served the purpose.

My friend and I visited Blackpool on the 22nd until the 24th June for a family party. I searched the wed, having been disappointed and disgusted with some of the previous places I had stayed over the years. We decided to book the Canasta as it appeared to tick all our boxes and we were not disappointed We arrived on Friday weather was awful , as soon as we stepped in to the hotel we were offered tea and coffee. We were very pleased with the accommodation (believe me we are hard to please). On the Friday evening there was a karaoke that was hosted by the owners who turned out to be great chanters (singers). Breakfast was fab and nothing was to much trouble for the staff. ( tea and coffee is on offer all day and is free of charge) We would like to thank Doug, Mandy, their son and all the staff who made our stay enjoyable and relaxing and restoring our faith in quality accommodation and hospitality.
Kate and Angela

Room Tip: Room 9 quite a large room ,lovely sea view, don't be put off by the room being on the seafront...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate9162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanastaHotel, Owner at Canasta Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thanks very much Kate9162. We're pleased you enjoyed us so much and that you persevered to leave that review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

we stayed here the weekend of 23/24th June we would stay here again,the owners and the staff were very pleasant,the room we had was a std double small but clean comfy and adequate for our two night stay.
The breakfast was superb,you were also supplied with free tea and coffee on demand throughout the stay proper cups and teapots etc (not out of a machine with plastic cups) the staff were very helpful phoning taxis for us and they put a very good karoake on at night if the demand was there nothing seemed to much trouble for them, the bar area and dining room was nice and there was lovely views of the sea from the bar.

Room Tip: if you are a large person the std double would be a tight squeeze especially in the on suites, I am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanastaHotel, Owner at Canasta Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thanks Reggaechic - we're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
I'll let the team know
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Me and my partner stayed at the Canasta for a two night break, initial impressions were good we were met by the owner and shown to our room, although on the small side it was clean and comfy, breakfast was also nice. On the second day we had a maid come to our room and ask us if we needed any more supplies or the room cleaning. We politely told her that neither would be necessary. After a night out we arrived back to our room and were gobsmacked to find all the furniture in our room had been replaced ! A chest of drawers had been dumped on top of a new pair of shoes bending them, our clothes had been moved around it was a complete invasion of our privacy. My partner went to speak to the owner, explaining that we had requested no one to disturb our room, who was very rude and just kept repeating "I dont understand your attitude". We just wanted an apology, needless to say we skipped breakfast the next morning and left early. A disapointing end to what could have been a very nice hotel experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kat F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanastaHotel, Owner at Canasta Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2012
Hi Kat,

I remember this, in October last year, when we purchased quite a lot of furniture to replace the existing stuff which we considered worn.

I remember how upset you were and thought, to be quite honest, at the time, you were going over the top a bit. All we had done was replace the wardrobe, chest of drawers and bedside cabinets for some nice new pine stuff.

We'd ordered quite a bit of furniture and because of fire regulations we couldnt store them in corridors - at our busiest time of year we simply had to get them in the rooms and get the old stuff out. Our supplier couldnt commit to a delivery date so I couldnt inform you. He just rang me up and said he'd be delivering in half an hour. "Oh right..OK...lets do it!" was my reply.

However, you were most upset, to the point you were very nearly crying and I couldnt quite understand why.

BUT...I don't like upsetting folk. So I'm sorry. I apologise, unreservedly. I regret asking my chambermaids to move your clothes into the new drawers and wardrobes. Sincerely.

On a more positive note thanks for mentioning that you found us clean and comfortable and the one breakfast you did have was nice.We're also pleased you found the location and value good.
When some folk are upset at certain aspects they tend to go over the top with marking us down on other points also so thanks for your honesty.

I hope you consider us for your next trip to Blackpool though I understand that's probably going to be unlikely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
#37 of 70 in Blackpool
1,498 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#35 of 70 in Blackpool
1,007 reviews
0.8 mi away
Doric Hotel
Doric Hotel
#9 of 70 in Blackpool
1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#13 of 70 in Blackpool
741 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rockcliffe Hotel
Rockcliffe Hotel
#208 of 856 in Blackpool
220 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#199 of 856 in Blackpool
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canasta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canasta Hotel

Property: Canasta Hotel
Address: 288-290 Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2EY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #288 of 856 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Canasta Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
31 en suite bedrooms (10 with sea views) located on the seafront within 10 minutes walk from the Blackpool Tower. Family run hotel - very friendly and meticulously clean. No stag or hen parties. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing