We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The decor is superb”

The Blackpool Tower Ballroom
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ornately decorated dance hall and theater is known for its Mighty Wurlitzer organ, which is played for dancing, concerts and special events during certain times of the year.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“The decor is superb”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Very nice to watch so many fine dancers.Great afternoon tea on sale.And just a great atmosphere to be part of

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank williamson000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,958 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,953
    654
    208
    78
    65
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ascot
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Beautiful but underused and terrible tea”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Pride of Blackpool. The venue makes up for all of it's faults, it is magnificent. If you buy afternoon tea or high tea prepare to be unimpressed. The triangle sandwiches were just out of a packet and cut in to triangles. The cream for the scones was runny and the jam out of a packet. The tea pot couldn't pour without dribbling. The sponge cake however was nice. I bought a Big ticket and was under the missunderstanding that I could go back as many times as I wanted over a 90 day period. I went to go back in but was told my ticket was not valid anymore. When I left I thought about how much they say they need to drive revenue through the door to keep the ballroom. I was at the door planning to spend another £16 on a tea that was probably worth a fraction of that but as a result I took my money elsewhere. Seems a little silly to me particularly as when we went before the ground floor with the bar and dance floor was probably 90% empty.... However, a must see and very nostalgic

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ahamaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“...”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

It is what it is, beautiful room. But obviously nothing much for families to enjoy, part of the tower history (:

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank KellyVillaLFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Amazing place to visit, shame about the new pricing”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

ALways a place we like to drop in, see the inside of the tower and have a cream tea in the ballroom as people dance. It used to be free though and the pricing structure is designed to bleed you dry. Worth going though the ballroom is just amazing.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank MichaelT224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Charming”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Beautiful environment - a real step back in time. Lovely to just sit and watch people dancing. The atmosphere was lovely.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blackpool Tower Ballroom also viewed

 

Been to The Blackpool Tower Ballroom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing