We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Free Show In Blackpool” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Blackpool Tower Ballroom

The Blackpool Tower Ballroom
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ornately decorated dance hall and theater is known for its Mighty Wurlitzer organ, which is played for dancing, concerts and special events during certain times of the year.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
228 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Best Free Show In Blackpool”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

Although we are locals we did not realise that part of the Tower Complex is open again for 'FREE'. Spent a few hours around lunch time taking in the views of the Promenade and Comedy Carpet from the 3rd Floor and watching the dancers in the famous Tower Ballroom with the Wurlitzer Organist. Absolutely fantastic time and will pop in again when in town shopping.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,821 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,845
    639
    199
    74
    64
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Golden Age Not Forgotten”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

We were visiting Close Friends in Blackpool for an Anniversary Party. Before we went home
they took us to see the Tower Ballroom. This was just MAGICAL. The WURLITZER ORGAN
(Installed 1930 I think) was being played by a most talented player, Elderly Couples were
Dancing and so enjoying themselves, It was just wonderful to watch, you could just imagine
how it was in the Old Days!. We met One Lady (Cancer Survivor, like Two of us in our party)
who was such a beautiful dancer and actually came off the dance floor to the balcony from where we were watching to say hello, obviously could see our interest. On some days, this lady and her family can represent 4 Generations dancing at the Tower Ballroom, at the same time - Beat That! The Ballroom is MAGNIFICIENT
Blackpool generally has had alot of money spent on it recently, they deserve to get the visitors. Promenade and New Lighting, Trams etc are excellent.
One last thing, the Facade of the Tower is being brought back to it's original splendour
Thanks
Kim & Mike Foreman
Joan & Ian Bell

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank OakC0ttage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharnford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“A must for any keen dancer.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

We spent a wonderful Saturday afternoon at the Ballroom. Since we took up ballroom three years ago it has been our ambition to dance there. The cost, £9pp for dancers was very reasonable for what was a trully excellent experience. As others have said its spectacular arhitecture, opulence, elegance and charm recall a time mostly long gone. The cafe is very reasonable and it was very pleasnt enjoying tea and cakes between dances. We are going back soon.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TRGSharnford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good at night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

its good at night because they turn it into a family bar and its free entry if you have younger children its the ideal place for them

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lewis V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Very nostalgic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Dancing in the Tower Ballroom is a magical experience. It's like going back in time to the 'good old days'. The organ music is excellent catering for ballroom, latin and sequence dancing. The cafe too is very good and not over-priced. A venue not to be missed when visiting Blackpool.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blackpool Tower Ballroom also viewed

 

Been to The Blackpool Tower Ballroom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing