We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Danced the day away”

The Blackpool Tower Ballroom
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ornately decorated dance hall and theater is known for its Mighty Wurlitzer organ, which is played for dancing, concerts and special events during certain times of the year.
High Peak
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Danced the day away”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I have always wanted to dance at the Tower ballroom, and after having lessons in ballroom dancing decided to have a go. I was a bit overawed by some of the dancers as they were so brilliant, but once on the magnificent dance floor it didnt seem to matter that you were not up to their standard. It was a lovely day and hopefully I will soon revisit.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank 41HighPeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,005 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,985
    665
    211
    79
    65
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“nice to see”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

i always love to go in and watch the ballroom dancers.they are worth watching Mabye a bit of an uplift and this could be grand again

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank dazbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, England
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“For the worst cream tea in Lancashire, this is the place”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Please excuse typing mistakes, as im using a smartphone and you need fingers the size of matchsticks.

I have always loved the tower since a child. As a resident of Blackpool now, i bought a amerlin annual pass to enjoy regular visits. I am so disappointed what they have done since merlin tookover the running of the tower. It is all glitz, 'essex' chavvy and blingy now and not what it used to be. The exhibitions are gone. The aquarium gone. The cafe is now a burger bar. Hideous.

Biggest complaint is the cream tea. One hardly buttered sandwich with a slice of prepacked processed cheese (the poor so called vegetarian choice). The accompanying salad dressing I have fed better to my rabbit as a kid. It was basically the fried up scraps out of a processed bag of leaves. The scone was small and so hard, you could knock it on the table and it didnt even dent or crumb. The cream, was a small jampot portion size pot of UHT cream which had no taste at all. The tea was very thick and tangy strong. When i asked for some water to dilute it, a grumpy, untidy looking woman behind the counter stated there was an extra charge of 40p. She said 'you cant expect us to give out free water for tea' and was utterly uninterested or courteous. It was by far, the very worst afternoon tea we've ever had. Dont even bother with it. I am in the process of demanding my money back from them, it was that bad and a complete waste of time and money.

Helpful?
Thank blackpoolrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent to sit chill, or dance .”
Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

I love watching the dancers And listening to the fabulous organ music. It's Free. But you can only view from the gallery area. You need to purchase a ticket, if you wish to watch downstairs. A must see relaxing attraction.

Helpful?
Thank 16kimc16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Everyone should have thie experience!”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

This venue is the iconic place to visit if you have ever tapped your feet to music. Live music, the most amazing sprung dance floor, and beautiful ceiling create a memorable atmosphere. Its a lovely place to just sit enjoy a reasonably priced cup of tea and people watch. Then slipp on those dance shoes and tread the boards.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blackpool Tower Ballroom also viewed

 

Been to The Blackpool Tower Ballroom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing