We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filthy and run down”

The Blackpool Tower Ballroom
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ornately decorated dance hall and theater is known for its Mighty Wurlitzer organ, which is played for dancing, concerts and special events during certain times of the year.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Filthy and run down”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Love watching Ballroom on tv so looked forward to my visit but was highly dissappointed. I thought this is not the same famous Ballroom they show on tv as it looks so glamorous and shining.Well it's another cover up by BBC as I have now witnessed it with my own eye's stained carpets, seats, torn seats repaired with plumbers tape. Chandeliers well more cobweb than chandelier and filthy curtains and coving not been cleaned in years. Dance floor badly damaged also what a poor memory to those who came out of retirement to restore it after the fire, poor neglected building.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank pongodove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,063 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,020
    682
    215
    81
    65
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A must to see”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

During the daytime two organists alternating - great to listen to - but all ballroom and sequence dancing. A table next to the dance floor costs but you can enter the upper galleries just for a look for free.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Don R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“You have to pay :(”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We watched this from the 3rd floor balcony, because that was free. It's really silly having to pay to enter the ballroom, as the only thing you can do is dance and also purchase drinks from a bar.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dan5588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“fab day for mom and friend”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

we wnt sunday, we prebooked ballroom and cream tea, it came on platter after they chose what they liked, glorious room, beautiful, organ music lovely, took mom and friend and men did ask them to dance which was nice, disabled loo on mainfloor ask at bar, or downstairs normally, open 10 - 5, but precheck on blackpool tower number or website as some days its shut to public for competitions, etc, they have balls which look fab, would do this next time, ps pack your sequins and glitter and thats the men also :). good fun, go, mom 82 friend 77 loved it, mainly 50-70 crown but a few younger, enjoy

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Adele F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Beatiful Scenery”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The feeling when you enter this magnificent space is really quite something. The grand ceiling, light fixtures and beautiful ballroom help captivate the magic of an almost forgotten time which is being kept alive by those who come to dance here on a weekly basis, the organists and those who wish to marvel.

If it wasn't for the generic catering- slightly dry cakes and scones and cheap and chunky cups and saucers with UHT milk and cutlery served from one of those hideous cutlery trays, I would have given the venue 5 stars. The venue deserves a much more refined and proud (without being pretentious catering service), with decent china, real milk, proper teapots and fresh cakes served by staff who understand the importance of customer service,

We paid the £9 to enter the ballroom on the ballroom level, but if you just want to look you can enter and watch from the balconies on the floors above- you just won't have access to the cafe/bar. Every hour the organists change over from a wurlitzer to more modern organ and play a variety of music for people to dance to. I wish I could dance, The people frequenting the ballroom to dance were incredibly friendly and chatty and quite rightly proud of what they do and where they do it. The Ballroom is incredibly magical and well worth a visit!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Urbanexplorer31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blackpool Tower Ballroom also viewed

 

Been to The Blackpool Tower Ballroom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing