We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A really lovely stay”
Review of Big Blue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Big Blue Hotel
Ranked #7 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A really lovely stay”
Reviewed November 10, 2010

Looking at the negative reviews I can understand how it could be noisy as it is a great family hotel so expect a lot of kids! Also, we had a small wait for breakfast on the Saturday morning but we didn't really stay at a busy time and breakfast was pretty busy when we were there.

We stayed in a double room, it was really spacious and modern with a little seating area around a ornamental fireplace. The bathroom was spacious and clean. No complaints at all about the room.

The breakfast was lovely, with a selection of full english, muffins, croissants, cereals, fruit, juice and hot drinks. All self service so you can have whatever you want.

The location was great for the Pleasure Beach (right next to it) and it's also quite close to the Sandcastle Waterpark but the Tower and amusements are a good 20 minute walk

My only slight complaint (not with the hotel!) is that everything was closed whilst we were there (Pleasure Beach and Tower) but I guess I should have done a bit more research!

I would definitely recommend the hotel and it seems like a great place for kids. I can imagine there might be a bit of noise from the Pleasure Beach too (when it's open) but none of these issues were encountered by me!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,008 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,835
    834
    216
    85
    38
See reviews for
1,334
895
34
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (639)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oban, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 8, 2010

I was so surprised to read the negative reports about the Big Blue Hotel, we only stay in 4* and above and this hotel is that and more. We stayed from 8th October 10 for four nights, rooms 431 & 432, the rooms were perfect, the staff were friendly and curteous and as for the breakfast, yes you had to wait to be seated if you arrive at the busy time, but the system used ensured everyone was seated in turn, you didn't have to stand as there was plenty seating in the waiting area, and the breakfast was worth waiting for, again the staff were excellent. We paid in excess of £1000 and will definitely go back. We just don't understand the bad press.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank strawberry52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2010

For several years when travelling to see the illuminations at Blackpool we always stay at the Big Blue. Always a treat for my children being located in the Pleasure beach. This year an error was made with the booking. Due to booking online it is difficult to establish who is responsible for the error. On arrival at the hotel there was no accommodation available (although full payment had been taken from our account) and the helpful receptionist secured other accommodation in a nearby hotel. After the holiday and to establish how this error could have happened we contacted the operations manager. He was less than helpful and despite us staying at this hotel on several occasions he was unwilling to offer any compensation or reduced cost for a return visit. We have now contacted the hotel a further twice without receiving aknowledgement or any form of response. We are bitterly disappointed and as a result we will not be returning to the Big Blue.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Zafira06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2010

We have just returned from the Big Blue Hotel and had a fantastic weekend. We chose the hotel because it looked good and modern (we prefer modern hotels) but also it had to offer a family room with a bed big enough for my 13 year old son, who is 6ft already! Alot of family hotels offer smaller size beds which he just doesn't fit on! So our room consisted of a very large king size bed and in a separate area two full size bunk beds, each with their own tv. Breakfast was lovely - didn't eat dinner there. Could watch the Pepsi Max Big One going round from our bedroom window - children loved that. Got soaking wet from Valhalla ride at Pleasure Beach, so it was great to be able to be back in our room within 10 mins to do a complete change of clothes and shoes! A long walk to other attractions at North Shore ie. Blackpool Tower but i didn't mind as it was too busy at that end and the hotels didn't look as nice! So all in all i can thoroughly recommend this hotel to families (there are lots of children around).

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sausage0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
137 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2010

We stayed at the Big Blue last year and think it is the best hotel in Blackpool for families, then we had a 'superior' family room which had 5' bunk beds for the children but as they've grown a bit we booked a 'deluxe' family room with full sized bunks, this was well worth the extra £10 per night. It would be helpful, when booking, if rooms were described as family rooms and then superior family rooms, all this 'superior' and 'deluxe' are confusing. Both types of family room have a lovely big king size bed. We also booked a 'deluxe' double room which at £159 was £20 per night more expensive than the 'superior' double and was not worth the extra, the double bed was not comfortable and seemed to droop at the sides and the lighting was very poor, making it difficult to read.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful, especially in the dining room, breakfast was very good and we had no delays in getting a table.
The location of the Big Blue is excellent, a short walk from the Pleasure Beach, Sandcastle Centre and tram stop, they have a huge free car park for residents only.
All in all it was a very pleasant stay and we will certainly stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conwy
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2010

What can i say its a lovely hotel, good sized room, tastefully decorated and clean.
buffet style breakfast was nice with plenty of selection.
drinks in the bar seemed a little pricey but average for a hotel.
well situated for going to Pleasure Beach a little out of the way for the tower though, But it was only a short walk across the road to get a tram and a taxi was about £7 to go up in to town.
would stay again and have recommended to friends

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan2k1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bournemouth
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2010

We arrived at the big blue and were upgraded to an delux room, a good start!. On entering the room it was just fantastic, big,modern, and clean. The bed was just to die for, so much so that we overslept and missed breakfast, so I cannot comment on food quality and service. however the receptionist was very friendly, and very imformative. I would stay here again at a drop of a hat. thanks for a great stay

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timbournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.0 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 70 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,858 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#26 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 70 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#34 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#32 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Blue Hotel

Property: Big Blue Hotel
Address: Ocean Boulevard | Pleasure Beach, Blackpool FY4 1ND, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Blackpool
#3 Business Hotel in Blackpool
#4 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#5 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Big Blue Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Big Blue Hotel at Pleasure Beach, Blackpool, where chic, cutting-edge design blends seamlessly with an attention to detail and a level of service that is second to none. This modern, 4-star hotel is perfectly located for a luxury break, business trip or family holiday, with modern accommodation at affordable prices. All 157 bedrooms are designed with wonderful fabrics from Designers Guild and offer luxurious en-suite bedrooms with complimentary WiFi internet access, flat screen televisions with inbuilt freeview, iron/ironing board, tea/coffee making facilities, telephone, hairdryer, heating control, electric shaver point, 24-hour room service, smoke alarms, duvets, power shower, key card access, an integrated air cooling system and DVD players that can also be used as a CD player. The Big Blue offers contemporary family accommodation right next to Pleasure Beach, Blackpool's biggest tourist attraction featuring the UK's only Nickelodeon Land - a new 6 acre area of Pleasure Beach loaded with 12 rides, a Nickelodeon shop, fun game stalls, a new restaurant and home to a whole host of famous Nickelodeon characters. The location is within easy reach of all of Blackpool's main attractions so families are guaranteed to get the most out of their trip. A range of hotel conference facilities are available making the Big Blue an ideal venue for Blackpool conferences and business meetings. The hotel also has complimentary WiFi internet access in all bedrooms, public areas and meeting rooms. Dining at the Big Blue hotel is an unforgettable experience whether it's a lazy cappuccino in the cafe bar or a delicious gourmet meal in Blues Bar and Brasserie. Children can create their own fresh pizzas while parents can choose from an extensive menu designed with a European feel using only fresh, local produce. Sink into a soft leather armchair and enjoy a long cool drink after a day on the rides or sip a Big Blue cocktail at the bar and just simply people watch. It's up to you. Stay over in a Deluxe Suite and enjoy pure luxury with fresh flowers, champagne on ice and chocolates in your room....just some of the special touches we offer (additional charges apply). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Big Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Blue Blackpool
Big Blue Hotel Blackpool
Hotel Big Blue
Big Blackpool Blue Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing