We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shame, Great Hotel!!, But Badly Managed”
Review of Big Blue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Big Blue Hotel
Ranked #7 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2006

We stayed here over a year ago, and we where welcomed by the beavers from beaver creek, smiling happy staff throughout, and we where made to feel at home.

What the hell has happened, it was like walking into a time zone, no meet and greet, staff dont seem to want to be there, the bedroom where ok, but we had been totally amazed on how in one year the standards and services could drop so suddenly.

As a HR manager myself, the team where all demotivated and there was just no WOW factor as we had always been led to believe.

On chatting to a few of the staff, they confirmed that there had been a change of Manager, well enough said!! may be an idea to get the previous chap back, he had it spot on.

We would not return!!!!EVER

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank stevenhughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,071 - 3,077 of 3,194 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2006

We stayed at the Big Blue Hotel in October half term. It was simply outstanding. The room was clean, comfortable and huge. We had a king size bed, bunk beds which were great up untill the age of 11 years. Breakfast was outstanding, the breakfast manager was fantastic, he organises the resources he has excellently.

Stayed: October 2006
4  Thank Happyfamily2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2006

Great rooms, soundproofed doors, aircon, great music great staff, great food. In short everything is great at big blue. Shop aroud for best price though as I managed to get it for £62 per night which is less that some of the cheaper hotels are charging for B&B for 2 people. We want to go back!

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank slmgbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2006

My wife, daughter (aged 8) and I stayed at The Big Blue from Mon October the 9th for 3 nights. Wetravel to Blackpool at least annually and normally stay at The Cliffs Hotel (North Pier). We decided on a change this time and booked The Big Blue Hotel through 'Hotels R US' for £186 for the 3 nights on a B & B basis.

We travel by train and were informed prior to our stay by the hotel staff to get off at The Pleasure Beach stop. A great tip as the hotel is a stones throw away! The welcome was very friendly and the hotel had a modern feel about it. We were informed we could have our room ealier than usual (1300hrs) and made our way to a 4th floor room overlooking The Pleasure Beach.

The family room was simply fantastic and one of the best we have ever had. Lovely decor, king size bed, games for my daughter, 3 TVs in total and a great view of the theme park. It's magic when the rides whizz by the window although they did stop at 1930hrs during our stay.

The breakfast was also brilliant. A great welcome and an incredible choice of food e.g. hot cooked, fresh cakes & continental.

We didn't do dinner but went to another great food place called the Harlequin restaurant within the Colonial Hotel a few hundred yards north. £4.50 each for a quality carvery dinner and very reasonably priced drinks. Recommended!

All in all the usual fine family trip to Blackpool. The Big Blue is an excellent fuss free hotel as I experienced and we will be back in 2007! Thanks to all the staff!

Darren & family.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Liverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2006

Just returned from a two night break and have nothing but praise for this hotel. It is modern, exceptionally clean, comfortable beds, friendly staff and the breakfast great. Upon arrival the air conditioning wasn't working in our room so we were immediately upgraded to a superior room which was pure luxury.Best we have ever stayed in when visiting Blackpool.

Stayed: September 2006
3  Thank sh9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2006

We had a one night stay here and booked one of the best rooms which was not as spacious as described (american spacious). The room was very nice but compact and there should have been some landscaping outside the ground floor french windows not weeds. Over priced but breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tennispick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2006

just back from a long weekend - cannot reccomend highly enough for families - our family room had seperate bunk beds each with own TV.Open the curtains and find a rollercoaster fly past your window!! - kids just love it - amazingly room was so quiet!! - staff superb,breakfast brilliant.forget blackpool of old with dodgy b&b`s.we stayed at the imperial for prior 2 years and the big blue puts it too shame.we`ll be back!!

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gaxxyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.9 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#38 of 73 in Blackpool
4,166 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#29 of 73 in Blackpool
3,308 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#16 of 73 in Blackpool
1,046 reviews
1.2 mi away
Blackpool FC Hotel
Blackpool FC Hotel
#8 of 73 in Blackpool
878 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#39 of 73 in Blackpool
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Blue Hotel

Address: Ocean Boulevard | Pleasure Beach, Blackpool FY4 1ND, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Blackpool
#3 Business Hotel in Blackpool
#4 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#5 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: $101 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Big Blue Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Big Blue Hotel at Pleasure Beach, Blackpool, where chic, cutting-edge design blends seamlessly with an attention to detail and a level of service that is second to none. This modern, 4-star hotel is perfectly located for a luxury break, business trip or family holiday, with modern accommodation at affordable prices. All 157 bedrooms are designed with wonderful fabrics from Designers Guild and offer luxurious en-suite bedrooms with complimentary WiFi internet access, flat screen televisions with inbuilt freeview, iron/ironing board, tea/coffee making facilities, telephone, hairdryer, heating control, electric shaver point, 24-hour room service, smoke alarms, duvets, power shower, key card access, an integrated air cooling system and DVD players that can also be used as a CD player. The Big Blue offers contemporary family accommodation right next to Pleasure Beach, Blackpool's biggest tourist attraction featuring the UK's only Nickelodeon Land - a new 6 acre area of Pleasure Beach loaded with 12 rides, a Nickelodeon shop, fun game stalls, a new restaurant and home to a whole host of famous Nickelodeon characters. The location is within easy reach of all of Blackpool's main attractions so families are guaranteed to get the most out of their trip. A range of hotel conference facilities are available making the Big Blue an ideal venue for Blackpool conferences and business meetings. The hotel also has complimentary WiFi internet access in all bedrooms, public areas and meeting rooms. Dining at the Big Blue hotel is an unforgettable experience whether it's a lazy cappuccino in the cafe bar or a delicious gourmet meal in Blues Bar and Brasserie. Children can create their own fresh pizzas while parents can choose from an extensive menu designed with a European feel using only fresh, local produce. Sink into a soft leather armchair and enjoy a long cool drink after a day on the rides or sip a Big Blue cocktail at the bar and just simply people watch. It's up to you. Stay over in a Deluxe Suite and enjoy pure luxury with fresh flowers, champagne on ice and chocolates in your room....just some of the special touches we offer (additional charges apply). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Big Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Blue Blackpool
Big Blue Hotel Blackpool
Hotel Big Blue
Big Blackpool Blue Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing