We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“what a great hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Big Blue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Big Blue Hotel
Ranked #7 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“what a great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2005

What a fantastic hotel! The staff were lovely. The room was great. The food was really good and we were right next door to the pleasure beach.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,778
    822
    209
    85
    38
See reviews for
1,295
872
34
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (626)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2005

me and my boyfriend stayed in the big blue hotel in may 2005. upon our check - in we were quickly rushed through whilst the receptionist was taking a telephone call and pulling faces at the callers expense. he handed us our card, told us our room number and that was it. he did not give us any information about the hotel eg. breakfast times, dvd rental price/list or a check out time, we found this very rude as for the price of the hotel we expected much better service.
however the hotel itself and our room was very nice and kept clean. the hotel in general is a modern place and the food at breakfast was self service and very tasty.
however we would still recommend it to people and would stay there again when visiting blackpool, as mainly it was the reception staff that were not helpful.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2005

Been twice now and had a great time.The rooms are spacious and the breakfast is great.Iits nice to stay in a good hotel in blackpool with excellent standards

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SoniaClarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2005

My husband and I stayed at this hotel on 28 February for 1 night. On arrival at the hotel you could think the hotel was not up to much, we particularly didn't like the blue colour of the hotel's exterior walls. However, when we stepped inside this hotel we were very pleasantly surprised. There is a beautiful aquarium in the reception, which leads onto a well furnished bar and restaurant. Very nice decor. We had an evening meal there which was superb and pretty reasonable. Breakfast the next morning was adequate - hot and cold and self service. We had also upgraded to an Executive Room for £10 extra as the rate was excellent anyway being out of season. Again this room was well furnished, with lovely decor. A nice feature in the room was an inbuilt wall fire/heater which was at one end of the room where there were 2 comfy chairs and footstools - nice touch. The bed and pillows were also really comfy with beautiful luxurious bedspread. All in all we would highly recommend anyone staying at this hotel, which is by far the best in Blackpool. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone, even families, just don't be put off by the exterior blue walls.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2005

I stayed at this hotel for the first time last weekend and I can honestly say that it was the best hotel I have ever stayed at. We were given a huge family room when we only paid for a standard room and everything in the room was of a high standard. The staff were excellent and the breakfast was great. Only only gripe is that I didn't get a view of the big one from my window - maybe next time! I would not hesitate to stay there again and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2005

I stayed at the big blue hotel from 04/03/2005 - 06/03/2005. We had booked a standard room and when we got to our room we found that we had been given a family suite. We had a very late check in time but the hotel was fine with that. When we got there the receptionist informed us that as a rule, they dont generally do room service however, if they're not busy they'll bring it up to the room for you. We had a few requests when we first got there but the hotel dealt with them swiftly and professionally. All staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel bar stayed open as long as there were people there (which was all night) but after a certain time it was open to residents only. Hotel was just south of the main entrance to the Pleasure Beach and about 5 mins walk to the south pier. Rooms are nicely decorated and furnished (as mentioned before the kids - if we had any - would have had bunk beds and a tv each, there was also a snakes and ladders game on the wall with a large sponge dice), bathroom was nice (not plush but def not shabby), main bedroom had a kettle and tea/hot choc/coffee (with proper mugs). Dvd player, tv, ac/heater,phone, hairdryer. Towels replaced daily (towel heater aswell). there was a ice machine downstairs. Blackpool pleasure beach was fantastic of course. never had to wait more than twenty minutes to get on any ride as staff kept everything moving smoothly (unlike alton towers where i've had to wait for 2 n half hours before). You need to try the Pasaje Del Terror although its not for the faint hearted aswell of course, as the pepsi max, big dipper, irn bru revolution, ice blast, bling and anything else you fancy.

  • Stayed March 2005, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Unholy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2005

The Big Blue is easy to find - just head for the rollercoaster! Room was comfortable (but nothing special), but instant coffee at breakfast and the don't-give-a-ahem attitude of the staff when the broadband did not work loses this hotel two stars. It loses a further star for being lousy value for money.

The restaurant is interesting - the menu is dull (and the wine list awful) but the food is fresh and reasonably prepared. The use of local ingredients means that the food is a little better than most hotel restaurants and a LOT better than that in any other Blackpool hotel. Given that I have not found a single half-decent business hotel in the Blackpool region, I will stay there again.

Helpful?
8 Thank lazy_diver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.0 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#35 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,731 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
#36 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#33 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Big Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Big Blue Hotel

Property: The Big Blue Hotel
Address: Ocean Boulevard | Pleasure Beach, Blackpool FY4 1ND, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Blackpool
#3 Business Hotel in Blackpool
#4 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#5 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Big Blue Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Big Blue Hotel at Pleasure Beach, Blackpool, where chic, cutting-edge design blends seamlessly with an attention to detail and a level of service that is second to none. This modern, 4-star hotel is perfectly located for a luxury break, business trip or family holiday, with modern accommodation at affordable prices. All 157 bedrooms are designed with wonderful fabrics from Designers Guild and offer luxurious en-suite bedrooms with complimentary WiFi internet access, flat screen televisions with inbuilt freeview, iron/ironing board, tea/coffee making facilities, telephone, hairdryer, heating control, electric shaver point, 24-hour room service, smoke alarms, duvets, power shower, key card access, an integrated air cooling system and DVD players that can also be used as a CD player. The Big Blue offers contemporary family accommodation right next to Pleasure Beach, Blackpool's biggest tourist attraction featuring the UK's only Nickelodeon Land - a new 6 acre area of Pleasure Beach loaded with 12 rides, a Nickelodeon shop, fun game stalls, a new restaurant and home to a whole host of famous Nickelodeon characters. The location is within easy reach of all of Blackpool's main attractions so families are guaranteed to get the most out of their trip. A range of hotel conference facilities are available making the Big Blue an ideal venue for Blackpool conferences and business meetings. The hotel also has complimentary WiFi internet access in all bedrooms, public areas and meeting rooms. Dining at the Big Blue hotel is an unforgettable experience whether it's a lazy cappuccino in the cafe bar or a delicious gourmet meal in Blues Bar and Brasserie. Children can create their own fresh pizzas while parents can choose from an extensive menu designed with a European feel using only fresh, local produce. Sink into a soft leather armchair and enjoy a long cool drink after a day on the rides or sip a Big Blue cocktail at the bar and just simply people watch. It's up to you. Stay over in a Deluxe Suite and enjoy pure luxury with fresh flowers, champagne on ice and chocolates in your room....just some of the special touches we offer (additional charges apply). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda and Prestigia so you can book your The Big Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Blue Blackpool
Big Blue Hotel Blackpool
Hotel Big Blue
Big Blackpool Blue Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing