We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel by in Blackpool!”
Review of Big Blue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Big Blue Hotel
Ranked #7 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2008

Me and my partner went to blackpool for the first time to see the end show of the illuminations and also for his 21st Birthday! We are so pleased that we chose this hotel -as it was by far the best one in Blackpool! On arrival we were checked in very quickly and welcoming, and upgraded without charge from a superior double to a deluxe double! the room was spotless, there was a lovely fireplace and a huge comfortable bed, and the food was lovely. The only only bad thing we could say about the hotel was that we were a little dissapointed with the view as we were on the ground floor looking out to a car park - with a car parked right in front of our window - but apart from that - excellent!!!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank v2theb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,192)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,935 - 2,941 of 3,192 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2008

we have stayed in this hotel 4 or 5 times now, both with our children and without, this time was without and we booked a superior room which was fantastic!!, there was two armchairs with footstools on the end of them and a lovely fireplace, we had a view of the rides also.
the room as always was spotless, as was the bathroom which had gorgeous toiletries to use.
this hotel is obviously more money and you get what you pay for and i would pay a bit more and stay here any day!!, the breakfast is gorgeous too!!, a buffet breakfast with cereals, fruit ,yogurts, full english, pastries!!.
the staff are always friendly, nothing too much trouble. cant wait to go again!!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank beckithomas1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2008

Good points

-Location to Pleasure beach
-Modern,Clean & Stylish
-Large Rooms
-Excellent family rooms
-Polite Staff
-Good food

Poor points

-Parking
-Disabled Parking
(these two issues are apparently to do with cross over!! The hotel excuse for no parking was that as guest check out and new guests arrive, there are more cars than spaces as the people checking out don't remove their cars and use the car park whilst they stay for the day. However the car park was still full to capacity gone 11pm so i don't beleive that this is completley responsible. As for diabled spaces, there are a few but these get used when other guest can't find a space. We reported several cars that were parked in these spaces preventing us from having a diabled space as we had a blue badge holder in our party but the hotel said there was nothing they could do, despite having all guest leave their car reg when checking in!!!)

-DVD didn't work (ongoing problem in a lot of rooms apparently)
-Thin walls and floors (noise travelled from above very loudly especially as guests jumped in and out of bunk beds and parents seemed to stampede across floor)

Additional comments

Ground floor had a room the contains a chocolate vending machine, drinks machine and ice machine(this might be available on every floor). This was a really nice feature. The ground floor room also had a cash machine (ATM £1.50 charge)

Ground Floor hotel rooms at the front over look the car park and carpark footpath, so you will have a constant flow of people walking past your room. This can be noisy in the evening as most people arriving aren't aware that these are guest rooms. Back of hotel overlooks Pleasure beach, including a couple of rollercoasters and the train. The roller coaster can be heard and on busy days run quite consistently.

Room service is available with a good selection until about 11pm then it is a very reduced menu, mainly sandwiches and easy to make food. The prices for food and drink throughout the hotel are reasonable for this type of establishment , but probably more expensive than eating out in one of the many other restaurants, bars, chip shops etc along the front. However on busy days and weekend these restaurants had queues outside where as the hotel had space, in pleasent surroundings with plenty of room between tables.

Breakfast in the morning is self service, including a good selection of fruit, pastries, and cereal as well as full english breakfast, tea, coffee and fruit juice.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danthebiscuitman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2008

If you want peace of mind then stay here!!we went witha toddler & booked a superior family room it was great..it had a separate sleeping area for 2 kids in bunkbeds with their own separate tv & games & a travel cot could easily fit beside the main double bed which was HUGE..Bathroom was fabulous & very clean.staff very helpfull and all communal areas fab!!Breakfast was great & a grat selection.On the sunday we had too wait 10 mins to be seated as it was busy.Your right beside the pleasure beach & theres a tram just up from the main enterance to take you up town.iv stayed in a few bad hotels that is why we splashed out this time and i tell you it makes the experiance so worthwhile

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank HelenHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2008

we stayed 1 night on the Love Sunday offer which for £99 for 1 night in Blackpool is not cheap.
Yes it is probably one of the most expensive hotels in Blackpool,
Parking was at the hotel and the check in was simple.
Having to pay before staying is odd.
We were on the 3rd floor with a partial sea view.
The rooms were clean, spacious, bathroom was ok the bath had a couple of black marks on it, and the heated towel rail was a nice touch, powerful shower, 2 single beds pushed together, lounge area with chairs and a fireplace.
Plenty of space to hang clothes and store bags, lots of tea/cofffee/chocolate & biscuits but very little sugar
The hotel restaurant was very good but very slow on service. The food wasGood , but then we are prepared to pay for decent food .
The hotel is right on the pleasure beach and a good 20 minute walk to the town/tower.
The hotel breakfast was of a normal standard.
All self service and we didn't have to wait for a table.
Choice of several cereals, pastries, fruit, yoghurt and all the usual 'English' breakfast items. Why extra for a poached egg or extra for lots of other thing is hard to understand.
A small question does this hotel charge the most for a pint of Lime And Lemon £4.70 ( £3.60 for the lemon £1.10 for the lime ) beat that:)

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lrb18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2008

I will start by saying I am so so glad we stayed here.

Yes it is probably one of the most expensive hotels in Blackpool, but there are good reasons for that !

We (4 adults and a child) booked a Superior Double and a family room for 2 nights.
Parking was at the hotel and the check in was simple.
Only thing I did find a bit strange was when I was asked how I would like to settle my bill "I haven't stayed yet" was my response...
Apparently they are having a trial period of doing this so that come Sunday morning there aren't queues of people waiting to check out !
We were on the 3rd floor with a partial sea view.
The rooms were immaculate, spacious, bathroom was gorgeous and the heated towel rail was a nice touch, powerful shower, a huge bed that was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in, lounge area with chairs and a fireplace.
Plenty of space to hang clothes and store bags, lots of tea/cofffee/chocolate & biscuits.

Braved the delights of Blackpool on the Friday night and was very pleased when we got back to the hotel !
I had read on previous reviews that the hotel restaurant was very good and so booked in there on the Saturday night.
We were not disapointed - the food was amazing !
Quite pricey compared to the slop served along the front, but then we were prepared to pay for decent food !

The hotel is right on the pleasure beach and a good 20 minute walk to the town/tower. Although you can take the tram/bus/taxi/horse if you don't fancy the walk.
The horse & cart have a set charge of £20 - no matter where you start from or go to !
The tram was about £9 for 5 of us and a taxi about £7...

The hotel breakfast was of a high standard.
All self service and we didn't have to wait for a table.
If you try and get a table after 8.30 on Saturday or Sunday you will have to wait.
Choice of several cereals, pastries, fruit, yoghurt and all the usual 'English' breakfast items.

All in all this hotel was the best part of our 2 night stay in Blackpool. I would not have entertained any of the other hotels we saw on our travels .

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DC1177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2008

Just returned from a two night stay at The Big Blue Hotel, lovely hotel, rooms very clean and spacious excellent location.
Only had evening meal on one night of our stay, lovely meal but a little expensive, would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cap58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.9 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
4,162 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#29 of 73 in Blackpool
3,306 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#16 of 73 in Blackpool
1,044 reviews
1.2 mi away
Blackpool FC Hotel
Blackpool FC Hotel
#8 of 73 in Blackpool
877 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#39 of 73 in Blackpool
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Blue Hotel

Address: Ocean Boulevard | Pleasure Beach, Blackpool FY4 1ND, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Blackpool
#3 Business Hotel in Blackpool
#4 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#5 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: $101 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Big Blue Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Big Blue Hotel at Pleasure Beach, Blackpool, where chic, cutting-edge design blends seamlessly with an attention to detail and a level of service that is second to none. This modern, 4-star hotel is perfectly located for a luxury break, business trip or family holiday, with modern accommodation at affordable prices. All 157 bedrooms are designed with wonderful fabrics from Designers Guild and offer luxurious en-suite bedrooms with complimentary WiFi internet access, flat screen televisions with inbuilt freeview, iron/ironing board, tea/coffee making facilities, telephone, hairdryer, heating control, electric shaver point, 24-hour room service, smoke alarms, duvets, power shower, key card access, an integrated air cooling system and DVD players that can also be used as a CD player. The Big Blue offers contemporary family accommodation right next to Pleasure Beach, Blackpool's biggest tourist attraction featuring the UK's only Nickelodeon Land - a new 6 acre area of Pleasure Beach loaded with 12 rides, a Nickelodeon shop, fun game stalls, a new restaurant and home to a whole host of famous Nickelodeon characters. The location is within easy reach of all of Blackpool's main attractions so families are guaranteed to get the most out of their trip. A range of hotel conference facilities are available making the Big Blue an ideal venue for Blackpool conferences and business meetings. The hotel also has complimentary WiFi internet access in all bedrooms, public areas and meeting rooms. Dining at the Big Blue hotel is an unforgettable experience whether it's a lazy cappuccino in the cafe bar or a delicious gourmet meal in Blues Bar and Brasserie. Children can create their own fresh pizzas while parents can choose from an extensive menu designed with a European feel using only fresh, local produce. Sink into a soft leather armchair and enjoy a long cool drink after a day on the rides or sip a Big Blue cocktail at the bar and just simply people watch. It's up to you. Stay over in a Deluxe Suite and enjoy pure luxury with fresh flowers, champagne on ice and chocolates in your room....just some of the special touches we offer (additional charges apply). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Prestigia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Big Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Blue Blackpool
Big Blue Hotel Blackpool
Hotel Big Blue
Big Blackpool Blue Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing