We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Celebration”
Review of Big Blue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Big Blue Hotel
Ranked #7 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights as part of a birthday celebration. welcoming on arrival and a very quick check in (alwasy a bonus when you have a toddler) Quick drink in the bar before going out (reasonable hotel prices), perfect location for us enjoying a long walk along the prom, great breakfast, clean and tidy rooms,lots of parking, thoroughly enjoyable stay, will return for the illuminations, subject to price

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bezaroonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,912 - 1,918 of 3,245 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2013

Just came back from a short break with two small kids to see the illuminations. Hotel is more expensive than a lot but as with anything you get what you pay for. We got a superior family room a bit cheaper on Late Rooms.com. We couldn't fault the hotel at all. All hotel staff were friendly and very helpful even with my gluten and dairy intolerance they were not phased and I got gluten free sausages and toast with my breakfast. There was plenty of choice for breakfast Kids loved bunk beds and their own tvs. Our bed was huge, comfortable and we had a good nights sleep. If we went back to Blackpool I wouldn't hesitate to book this hotel again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suequinby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

This hotel has great reviews so I was looking forward to our stay. I can honestly say we were all so disappointed, kids included. The bathroom hadn't been cleaned @ when I asked the staff at reception if someone could go up @ do it I was informed it had been @ that was it I also asked if I could have a bottle of water in my room they said they don't provide them so I asked to buy one @ was directed to a shop. The beds were the most uncomfortable any of us had ever slept in @ overall the whole place apart from the dining area was well past its best and in need of a make over. One of the lifts weren't working @ nobody tried to fix it when we were there. The food was lovely but very expensive, breakfast was shocking, both days there were loads of people standing waiting for ages on tables it was ridiculous. Never again and that came from our ten @ nine year olds !!!! I do believe at one point this would have been a lovely hotel they have seriously rested on there morals and let it go downhill.

Room Tip: Do your research @ stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weemagsScotlandUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed with mum and daughter for 2 nights during half term. 4 year old made up with bunk beds, own tv and giant snakes and ladders in the children's section of the family room.
Self service breakfast had lots of choice for all - cereals, pastries, fruits, yogurts and full English, just beware it does get very busy in the last hour of service.
Reception staff pleasant and efficient, same day wrist bands (at online advance prices) and complimentary park access passes available.
Enjoyed dinner in the hotel on the second night - food, service and value very good.
Great location for the park itself and for the illuminations tram - would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sammarshall2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

The cost of one night's accomodation had always put us off staying here, but for a birthday treat, we decided to give it a go.

We arrived much later than planned (courtesy of the M6), aware that tables for dinner were only available until 2130. The first issue we encountered was a lack of parking space. But worse still, because of the barrier, I had to pull over to one side whilst my wife went and spoke to reception. We were given a code to exit the barrier and park at another place but the fact that people had already double-parked and several other cars were already driving around didn't help.

Reception checked us in quickly enough and offered to phone the restaurant to reserve a table in case of being a few minutes late. It has to be said that all the staff were helpful, attentive and polite.

There are two lifts near reception but one was permanently out of order. I make mention of it because I noticed from other reviews here, prior to our visit, that this was also the case. The apparent lack of urgency in resolving this issue is disappointing, considering the disruption caused due to demand of use from guests.

Room (superior family) was generally good. Bathroom fine, with all necessary towels and toiletries. Good power shower. Bed was large enough and very comfy. Extra pillows provided. Tea, coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits provided too. Hanging / storage space was adequate. The window overlooked the Pleasure Beach (winner with the kids), and the top tilts open to allow fresh air in. There's also an air conditioning unit too. The kids area consisted of bunk beds, each with their own TV and a Snakes and Ladders game on the wall. However, some areas were quite dusty and there were a couple of food stains that one wouldn't expect to find at a 4* hotel. Additionally, the reception on the main TV was distorted somewhat.

Dinner, whilst pricey, was superb and the kids enjoyed dressing up and making their own pizzas.

Breakfast found us waiting for ten minutes until a table was free (along with several other families), but the food selection was very good, and it's little things like having your own selection of preserves on your table that remind you that you're in a 4* hotel.

Checking-out was quick and the Pleasure Beach wristbands issued without fuss. However, there was a sign on the front desk stating that guests were only able to use the car park until 2pm on the day of departure! We felt this a bit cheeky considering the money we'd paid and who wants to be bothered with such disruption and extra cost? Needless to say, we left our car there until the Pleasure Beach closed at 8pm. Regarding the Pleasure Beach, whilst there's an exclusive entrance that allows hotel guests into the park (near The Big One), we wondered whether being a hotel guest really benefitted us that much. Compared to the web price, we did save about £10 for four wristbands as hotel guests, but there's no early opening time for guests, not even for selected rides in the park. In fact, many rides don't even open when the park opens...

To summarise then, (generally) good rooms, good food, helpful staff. However the inadequate parking spaces, and seating provision at breakfast are issues. Additionally, there seems to be little benefit in being hotel guests in relation to the Pleasure Beach. Perhaps most importantly, this hotel is too expensive, so whilst I could generally recommend, I can't see myself returning, save for special occasions.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Graeme67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

Our third stay at the Big Blue which says it all really. Our 1st choice hotel in Blackpool. Excellent location, the family rooms have great views over the pleasure beach park. The staff are friendly and efficient. Treated to a room upgrade which was nice. The restaurant isn't the cheapest but the food is excellent. Rooms very comfortable and housekeeping is to a very high standard.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Just got back from Big Blue hotel. Must admit that I was a little apprehensive about going to Blackpool. As a child had holidayed in Blackpool but then left for South Africa and now at 50 I'm back and it made sense to go back to see the place. Living down South, so many people had suggested that it wasn't very nice. Gotta say they are all so wrong. Hotel was brilliant and as good as any top hotel in London. Staff, along with people in Blackpool, so friendly and extremely helpful. Breakfast was very good, lot's of choice and extremely well run, everything freshly made and tasty. Restaurant food and room service provided good choice and all perfectly prepared. Very good family hotel with great thought into making holiday great for kids, with separate area in room, giving peace for parents while kids have own space and games, tv etc.
Will def recommend to all, whether business or pleasure, provides well for everyone. Who needs to go to Florida when we've got it all right here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.9 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,260 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#30 of 73 in Blackpool
3,376 reviews
0 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Blackpool FC Hotel
Blackpool FC Hotel
#10 of 73 in Blackpool
905 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#17 of 73 in Blackpool
1,065 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#40 of 73 in Blackpool
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Blue Hotel

Address: Ocean Boulevard | Pleasure Beach, Blackpool FY4 1PL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Blackpool
#3 Family Hotel in Blackpool
#3 Business Hotel in Blackpool
#4 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: $94 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Big Blue Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Big Blue Hotel at Pleasure Beach, Blackpool, where chic, cutting-edge design blends seamlessly with an attention to detail and a level of service that is second to none. This modern, 4-star hotel is perfectly located for a luxury break, business trip or family holiday, with modern accommodation at affordable prices. All 157 bedrooms are designed with wonderful fabrics from Designers Guild and offer luxurious en-suite bedrooms with complimentary WiFi internet access, flat screen televisions with inbuilt freeview, iron/ironing board, tea/coffee making facilities, telephone, hairdryer, heating control, electric shaver point, 24-hour room service, smoke alarms, duvets, power shower, key card access, an integrated air cooling system and DVD players that can also be used as a CD player. The Big Blue offers contemporary family accommodation right next to Pleasure Beach, Blackpool's biggest tourist attraction featuring the UK's only Nickelodeon Land - a new 6 acre area of Pleasure Beach loaded with 12 rides, a Nickelodeon shop, fun game stalls, a new restaurant and home to a whole host of famous Nickelodeon characters. The location is within easy reach of all of Blackpool's main attractions so families are guaranteed to get the most out of their trip. A range of hotel conference facilities are available making the Big Blue an ideal venue for Blackpool conferences and business meetings. The hotel also has complimentary WiFi internet access in all bedrooms, public areas and meeting rooms. Dining at the Big Blue hotel is an unforgettable experience whether it's a lazy cappuccino in the cafe bar or a delicious gourmet meal in Blues Bar and Brasserie. Children can create their own fresh pizzas while parents can choose from an extensive menu designed with a European feel using only fresh, local produce. Sink into a soft leather armchair and enjoy a long cool drink after a day on the rides or sip a Big Blue cocktail at the bar and just simply people watch. It's up to you. Stay over in a Deluxe Suite and enjoy pure luxury with fresh flowers, champagne on ice and chocolates in your room....just some of the special touches we offer (additional charges apply). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Orbitz and Evoline ltd so you can book your Big Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Blue Blackpool
Big Blue Hotel Blackpool
Hotel Big Blue
Big Blackpool Blue Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing