We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“big blue hotel blackpool”
Review of Big Blue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Big Blue Hotel
Ranked #7 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 25, 2013

stayed at this hotel twice now.very enjoyable stay very polite friendly staff,excerllent meals.hotel provided free tickets to the pleasure beach saving £6 to walk round.plus.discounted wrist bands at £23.

Room Tip: rear of the hotel overlooks the pleasure beach great views.the hotel offers discounted wristbands fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keith h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,956 - 1,962 of 3,267 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night 22/10/13 booked a double deluxe online the night before for a very good advanced rate. Arrived about 12.30 parked in the car park & advised reception we had parked, very helpful reception staff. Parking is free for the duration of your stay. The hotel is situated behind the pleasure beach at South Shore & a tram stops across the road but the service was not very frequent possibly as mid week so walked to the town which took approx 30 mins. Arrived back at 3pm for check in and we had been given a free upgrade to a suite ( room 434) absolutely amazing, it had a separate lounge, flat screen tv, I pod station and games table & we had been left complimentary wine & water, the French window overlooked the pleasure beach with The Pepsi Max Big One going passed straight outside!! Bedroom adjacent with sliding door into lounge, massive comfy bed, plenty of wardrobe space. Flat screen tv & DVD player with DVDs to watch, and another French window overlooking the pleasure beach. Bathroom lovely with his & hers sinks, separate shower cubicle with power shower & lovely deep double ended bath, bathroom beautifully furnished. Didn't eat dinner in restaurant as had reserved dining seats at The Sands venue for Legends show which is a fantastic show, had drinks in the bar area on our return and the bar area was very modern with comfortable sofas. Overall all staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful. Had an amazing stay and will defiantly be returning and booking a suite now we have been spoilt!! Absolutely loved my stay here and when visiting again will not be booking a show but taking advantage of the facilities more.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EnglandCarolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are ideal for families having a central bathroom separating the main room and creating a separate room with bunkbeds (each with their own TV and reading light) for children.

The hotel is modern, clean and 10 times better than anything else on the seafront.

Plenty of parking and friendly staff, it was a very easy stay - we were here for the thrills of the Pleasure Beach and the hotel was ideal.

The only thing to be aware of is the queues for breakfast if you don't get down there before 9am. At 8.30am you'll get seated immediately.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterrosey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

great hotel for children,really the best one in blackpool.the beds for children screened off with tvs and games,the breakfast had a great variet,my grandaughter has not stopped talking abot this hotel.loved it will certainly return.we were first allocated a room that looked out on to the big ride but we were changed with no fuss to a fdiffernt one which was great.

Room Tip: go on the right of the hotel on the highest floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keytey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This was our second visit in twelve months and this hotel retains its quality of not just food but fabulous staff.The hotel itself is very modern and well presented.The staff at every level are trained to a very high standard and are veryn helpful and friendly.The package for a sunday is £99 for your room,3 course dinner and full english breakfast.The food is extremely good and presented to a high standard,all in all FABULOUS.

Room Tip: rooms at the back of the building look out onto the pleasure beach and rooms at the front out toward...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stubbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We had a great time at the big blue hotel in Blackpool for my sons 9th birthday.
We stayed one night bed and breakfast in a superior family room on the second floor. There was 3 of us 2 adults and 1 child.
The room was lovely very clean and bright and it looked out onto the Big One roller coaster at the Pleasure Beach which came right past our window but there was no noise you could wave to the people going past which was funny.the kids part of the room was a bunk bed with a tv and places to out your games consoles if you wanted and there was a snakes and ladders magnetic game mounted on the wall and a massive dice which was good fun.
The room had everything you needed hot drink facilities shower facilities of you didn't have your own, I found the room quite warm untill I found the air con! We didn't stay for evening meal as we found it quite expensive.
Breakfast was delicious everything from pastries and muffins to full breakfast ,juices ,teas, coffees and plenty of it to set us up for the day,
All in all we had a lovely time and would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emmabillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I've stayed in many Blackpool hotel. This is the best by a long way. It is quite expensive but we'll worth the extra. It's location is good - my balcony looked out on to the Pleasure Beach's Big One ride.
As a single person traveling on business I was concerned about the number of kids in the restaurant but I shouldn't have been. They were all well behaved, mainly due to the skills of the waiters who involved them in things. I particularly liked the children's menu option of self made pizza which meant the kids had to get "dressed up" as cooks to add toppings to a raw pizza base before cooking. It kept the kids quiet yet excited!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank Ray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.9 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
4,300 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#27 of 73 in Blackpool
3,402 reviews
1.2 mi away
Blackpool FC Hotel
Blackpool FC Hotel
#10 of 73 in Blackpool
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
518 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#39 of 73 in Blackpool
563 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#16 of 73 in Blackpool
1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Blue Hotel

Address: Ocean Boulevard | Pleasure Beach, Blackpool FY4 1PL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Blackpool
#3 Business Hotel in Blackpool
#3 Family Hotel in Blackpool
#4 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: $96 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Big Blue Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Big Blue Hotel at Pleasure Beach, Blackpool, where chic, cutting-edge design blends seamlessly with an attention to detail and a level of service that is second to none. This modern, 4-star hotel is perfectly located for a luxury break, business trip or family holiday, with modern accommodation at affordable prices. All 157 bedrooms are designed with wonderful fabrics from Designers Guild and offer luxurious en-suite bedrooms with complimentary WiFi internet access, flat screen televisions with inbuilt freeview, iron/ironing board, tea/coffee making facilities, telephone, hairdryer, heating control, electric shaver point, 24-hour room service, smoke alarms, duvets, power shower, key card access, an integrated air cooling system and DVD players that can also be used as a CD player. The Big Blue offers contemporary family accommodation right next to Pleasure Beach, Blackpool's biggest tourist attraction featuring the UK's only Nickelodeon Land - a new 6 acre area of Pleasure Beach loaded with 12 rides, a Nickelodeon shop, fun game stalls, a new restaurant and home to a whole host of famous Nickelodeon characters. The location is within easy reach of all of Blackpool's main attractions so families are guaranteed to get the most out of their trip. A range of hotel conference facilities are available making the Big Blue an ideal venue for Blackpool conferences and business meetings. The hotel also has complimentary WiFi internet access in all bedrooms, public areas and meeting rooms. Dining at the Big Blue hotel is an unforgettable experience whether it's a lazy cappuccino in the cafe bar or a delicious gourmet meal in Blues Bar and Brasserie. Children can create their own fresh pizzas while parents can choose from an extensive menu designed with a European feel using only fresh, local produce. Sink into a soft leather armchair and enjoy a long cool drink after a day on the rides or sip a Big Blue cocktail at the bar and just simply people watch. It's up to you. Stay over in a Deluxe Suite and enjoy pure luxury with fresh flowers, champagne on ice and chocolates in your room....just some of the special touches we offer (additional charges apply). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Big Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Blue Blackpool
Big Blue Hotel Blackpool
Hotel Big Blue
Big Blackpool Blue Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing