We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel”
Review of Big Blue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Big Blue Hotel
Ranked #7 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Very helpful and friendly staff. We stayed in deluxe family room which was ideal as the kids had their own bed area with tv and playstation 3. Room overlooked pleasure beach and was very quiet at night so we all got a good nights sleep. Already looking forward to our next stay there.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,268)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,979 - 1,985 of 3,268 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2013

Love this hotel, I read so many reviews before I left as I was taking my 2 children and very fussy mum I had to make sure it was the right place to go. It was everything and more, the staff were so so helpful and my children were so welcome. We went down for dinner at night and they were amazing with them and we did not feel out of place. The food is lovely, I changed the menu around with ease to what I wanted.
Every night they gave me free warm milk for my children to go to bed with helping me make It home from home to get them to sleep. The breakfast was great, I know people complain about the toaster but a bit of common sense tells u they are easy to use.
We went to the pleasure and nickelodeon land which when u buy the wrist bands is great value and the kids loved it. My son is a crazy ninja turtle fan and they told us what t prime they were coming out and took great photos to buy, but also don't mind u taking your own. My daughter saw dora and went through dora land about 3 times, including once with dora which she found amazing!
The place has been brilliant, alot of people I told I was going to blackpool were unsure and said it wasn't what i t used to be, but I thought it was better, amazingly clean and i Always felt safe no matter were I went with the kids.
Also the water park is amazing!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krystal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Had the most wonderful stay here, reception staff were friendly and very helpful. We stayed in the deluxe family room which my 12 year old son was very impressed with. We booked our Pleasure beach tickets on-line and the email said to pickup from the casino, reception staff at The Big Blue asked us at check in if we had our tickets and explained we could get them in the morning if we brought the ref no they could give us our wristbands and enter the park through the VIP gate next to the hotel (great service). We booked dinner the second night of our stay which was excellent. All in all a wonderful hotel with very pleasant and friendly staff from reception to the cleaners and all the waiting staff a breath of fresh air. In the best location for the pleasure beach and a touch of class to return to. Would recommend and return to.

Room Tip: Deluxe family rooms overlook theme park which kids love, but still peaceful to get a good nights sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

This is the first time I have stayed in a hotel in Blackpool and have been blown away. The hotel is clean and well maintained, the food is slightly over priced but the breakfast is wonderful. All the staff are friendly and obviously very well trained. I would definitely return and would recommend it to everyone. Having stayed in Blackpool several times as my husband has family there, my previous experience of hotels and BB's has been disappointing to say the least. However the Big Blue is a credit to Blackpool

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beryl62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here many times can't really complain one bit rooms clean good value for money food fab slightly over priced for food maybe and drink but other than that can't fault it we've stayed in all rooms . Family with the kids they'r great with little bunk beds also honeymoon suit lovely and double room great so all round good

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caela1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

My fiancee and I stayed here for two nights in late September. It was a last minute choice as the hotel we had originally booked was being ripped apart by reviewers on this site and we could not bring ourselves to go there.
On booking in we were made to feel very welcome and the room, along with the rest of the hotel, was very clean and modern.
My fiancee was particularly impressed with the restaurant and its staff. She is coeliac and when we told the waitress she immediately informed us of all the gluten free options on the menu. There was an impressive range of gluten free food available both for dinner and for breakfast.
The room was very comfortable and it made a pleasant change to find plenty of milk with the tea and coffee makings. The hotel is well placed on the seafront right next to the pleasure beach, if that's your thing, and very handy for the tram network.
We couldn't fault the hotel at all and as a result we had a very enjoyable couple of days. We would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear overlook the pleasure beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsmug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is absolutely fantastic. Visited the hotel for two nights with my family and couldn't find any faults. The rooms were very spacious and very clean. The bed, well it's huge could fit all the family in. We had a travel cot in our room and still had plenty of room to move about.
Breakfast was excellent fast service and plenty of choice to choose from

We celebrated my mums birthday while we were there and two of the waiters brought out a cake and sang to her. They didn't have to do this but they did and it made the end of a perfect evening even more special so thank you to them. The food in the restaurant was really good.

Overall excellent hotel would stay there over and and over again. Thank you.

Stayed: October 2013
Thank Becci86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#27 of 73 in Blackpool
3,403 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
4,304 reviews
0 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Blackpool FC Hotel
Blackpool FC Hotel
#10 of 73 in Blackpool
909 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#38 of 73 in Blackpool
563 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#14 of 73 in Blackpool
1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Blue Hotel

Address: Ocean Boulevard | Pleasure Beach, Blackpool FY4 1PL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Blackpool
#3 Family Hotel in Blackpool
#3 Business Hotel in Blackpool
#4 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: $95 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Big Blue Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Big Blue Hotel at Pleasure Beach, Blackpool, where chic, cutting-edge design blends seamlessly with an attention to detail and a level of service that is second to none. This modern, 4-star hotel is perfectly located for a luxury break, business trip or family holiday, with modern accommodation at affordable prices. All 157 bedrooms are designed with wonderful fabrics from Designers Guild and offer luxurious en-suite bedrooms with complimentary WiFi internet access, flat screen televisions with inbuilt freeview, iron/ironing board, tea/coffee making facilities, telephone, hairdryer, heating control, electric shaver point, 24-hour room service, smoke alarms, duvets, power shower, key card access, an integrated air cooling system and DVD players that can also be used as a CD player. The Big Blue offers contemporary family accommodation right next to Pleasure Beach, Blackpool's biggest tourist attraction featuring the UK's only Nickelodeon Land - a new 6 acre area of Pleasure Beach loaded with 12 rides, a Nickelodeon shop, fun game stalls, a new restaurant and home to a whole host of famous Nickelodeon characters. The location is within easy reach of all of Blackpool's main attractions so families are guaranteed to get the most out of their trip. A range of hotel conference facilities are available making the Big Blue an ideal venue for Blackpool conferences and business meetings. The hotel also has complimentary WiFi internet access in all bedrooms, public areas and meeting rooms. Dining at the Big Blue hotel is an unforgettable experience whether it's a lazy cappuccino in the cafe bar or a delicious gourmet meal in Blues Bar and Brasserie. Children can create their own fresh pizzas while parents can choose from an extensive menu designed with a European feel using only fresh, local produce. Sink into a soft leather armchair and enjoy a long cool drink after a day on the rides or sip a Big Blue cocktail at the bar and just simply people watch. It's up to you. Stay over in a Deluxe Suite and enjoy pure luxury with fresh flowers, champagne on ice and chocolates in your room....just some of the special touches we offer (additional charges apply). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prestigia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Big Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Blue Blackpool
Big Blue Hotel Blackpool
Hotel Big Blue
Big Blackpool Blue Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing