We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitely a wow hotel but staff could be friendlier.”
Review of Big Blue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Big Blue Hotel
Ranked #7 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Menai Bridge, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Definitely a wow hotel but staff could be friendlier.”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Paid £240 for one night with breakfast and pleasure beach passes. Was a great room, family suite looked out over pleasure beach, right next to 'the big one' ride. Very nice bathroom and shower was beautiful! Supplied with shower gel, shampoo and conditioner. The staff were very efficient, especially waiting on staff at breakfast, the front desk staff were efficient but you could tell they were under a lot of pressure and they weren't overly friendly to our 5 year old daughter, got made to feel a little awkward when she was being her usual chatty self! Paid a lot to stay there and dinner would have been an extra £55, real shame!! Ended up going out to get food, BB hotel should have an option to book half board online! Thank you though, would return! An amazing comfortable nights sleep.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,007 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,834
    834
    216
    85
    38
See reviews for
1,333
895
34
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (639)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

1st night was £62 booked on internet, we decided to stop another, paid at reception then it was £87 !!!!!

Nice room, shame its 2 singles bolted together to get a king size, as you can feel the join

the food was superb, and service was good, did have to wait at the bar a couple of times and it was empty, but not a problem

the only downside was the restaurant door, kept banging everytime someone went through it,
plus the bath towels are not big enough to wrap round you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bella-vista-lodge9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

This hotel stacks up well against the many Blackpool hotels. Whilst not very central it is well placed for Pleasure Beach and offers ample free parking. Rooms are of a pretty good standard, clean and modern. Breakfast was reasonably good although, like most hotels, on a self service basis.

Would be happy to recommend this hotel as you can park up the car and walk or use the tram or bus for easy access to the town centre.

Room Tip: Ask for a front facing room as the noise from the Pleasure Beach rides could be a problem at weekend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaltireDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Stayed at this hotel twice. Excellent location for pleasure beach and cheaper wristband prices when pre booking. Rooms are clean and modern with a tele for each bunk bed which the children loved. Video,s and playstations are available for the rooms. View of the pleasure beach from the room. What was excellent was the standard of the food(4 star) and the staff. This is a luxury family friendly hotel and the focus is on families. It also has room service and it is the same price for a family of five as staying in a budget B&B. Would only stay here when visiting blackpool. The bar is also nice in the evening, lovely cocktails and children cocktails.

Room Tip: The deluxe family rooms include playstation 3's
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LorettaWolverhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west wales
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights, had a good stay,we had a delux room which was spotlessly clean, a lovely big comfortable bed,extra pillows in the room, good quality complimently toileties,power shower and plenty of hot water. Staff were friendly and very attentive, we had a very good meal in the restuarant not over priced, although the drinks were on the expensive side.
Breakfast was buffet style plenty with of choice. As this hotel is close to the pleasue beech a lot of familys stay there, but it is advertised as a family hotel,we did not find it to bad, if you want peace and quite I would recommend you don't stay there weekends or school holidays. The location is very good, 2 min walk to the trams.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chumba1mba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We booked initially for only one night Fri 26th April to see a show at the Opera House in Blackpool. Our stay at the hotel was so good we stayed the Saturday night as well.
It was very easy to book in with Tara and we were upgraded to a delux room which was spacious and spotless. It had a little seating area and the room was bright and cheerful. It had tea, coffee, mineral water an iron and ironing board provided as standard which I always need and it saved asking for one. I was a little concerned as it was just my husband and I, as we passed the other rooms on the hallway to our room we could hear children shouting and laughing from the other rooms, but once inside our room we could not hear anything.
Breakfast on the Saturday morning was lovely and the chef made me veggie sausages, on the downside there were not any mushrooms and I had to pay an extra £2 for these, shame as these are standard on other full English breakfasts.
We had lunch in the bar on the Saturday and we were served by Andy who was very efficient and polite. I had lovely scampi and chips and my husband had a steak and ale pie that was full to the brim with steak. We had lunch because we would not have time for dinner because of the show. After the show we returned to the bar just before 11pm and had a sandwich (again served by Andy). On that evening we asked about staying a further night in the same room, I asked if we could have the same rate and was advised that it would be a further £9 because it was a Saturday which was a really good deal. There seemed to be a hiccup when booking the room as Chelsea (receptionist) had then left for the evening, Simon booked it as best he could and asked us to comfirm in the morning. Tara Valentine was there in the morning and she knew about us instantly and confirmed the booking.
We booked a table for dinner, I picked a certain table but we were given another but it was fine. The meal was lovely although I had to ask for more saute potatoes as there was only one small sliced potato. We were served by three different people and each one was excellent and nothing was too much trouble even though the restaurant was busy. I had the most fantastic sticky toffee pudding with cream.
Breakfast on the Sunday was very busy at 9.45am and we had to wait about 10 mins for a table but it was not an issue, we still received excellent service.

Cons
The internet is not just one click on, you have to set up an account which is a pain and worse when it goes off and you have to do it again. Staying the second unscheduled evening wiped it off completely but I couldn't be bothered asking about it.

The air con never really went cool so it was quite hot when trying to sleep, some instructions would help. I can't really complain as I never asked how it worked so my fault really.

No mushrooms and at £2 pretty steep.

These are only minor things and they did not spoil our stay. Well done to all the staff and the HR person who employed them.

I would certainly recommend this hotel but only if you like children.

Room Tip: Room 424 overlooked the car park at the front and was very quiet. Rooms at the back overlook the fai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Littleminx122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dundee
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stayed for a short break, Friday to Monday, B & B. On arrival upgraded to Deluxe room which was lovely. Hotel was spotless, staff friendly & helpful, breakfast very good. Had a meal in the restuarant which was excellent & average price for a hotel. Would recommend this hotel at this time of year but in the busy summer months it would be unsuitable for anybody who didnt have children. As for another review who compared it to a fancy Travelodge all I can say is I would like to know which Travelodge they stayed in as we have stayed in a couple and they were awful

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lyalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.0 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 70 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,854 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#26 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 70 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#36 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#32 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Blue Hotel

Property: Big Blue Hotel
Address: Ocean Boulevard | Pleasure Beach, Blackpool FY4 1ND, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Blackpool
#3 Business Hotel in Blackpool
#4 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#5 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Big Blue Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Big Blue Hotel at Pleasure Beach, Blackpool, where chic, cutting-edge design blends seamlessly with an attention to detail and a level of service that is second to none. This modern, 4-star hotel is perfectly located for a luxury break, business trip or family holiday, with modern accommodation at affordable prices. All 157 bedrooms are designed with wonderful fabrics from Designers Guild and offer luxurious en-suite bedrooms with complimentary WiFi internet access, flat screen televisions with inbuilt freeview, iron/ironing board, tea/coffee making facilities, telephone, hairdryer, heating control, electric shaver point, 24-hour room service, smoke alarms, duvets, power shower, key card access, an integrated air cooling system and DVD players that can also be used as a CD player. The Big Blue offers contemporary family accommodation right next to Pleasure Beach, Blackpool's biggest tourist attraction featuring the UK's only Nickelodeon Land - a new 6 acre area of Pleasure Beach loaded with 12 rides, a Nickelodeon shop, fun game stalls, a new restaurant and home to a whole host of famous Nickelodeon characters. The location is within easy reach of all of Blackpool's main attractions so families are guaranteed to get the most out of their trip. A range of hotel conference facilities are available making the Big Blue an ideal venue for Blackpool conferences and business meetings. The hotel also has complimentary WiFi internet access in all bedrooms, public areas and meeting rooms. Dining at the Big Blue hotel is an unforgettable experience whether it's a lazy cappuccino in the cafe bar or a delicious gourmet meal in Blues Bar and Brasserie. Children can create their own fresh pizzas while parents can choose from an extensive menu designed with a European feel using only fresh, local produce. Sink into a soft leather armchair and enjoy a long cool drink after a day on the rides or sip a Big Blue cocktail at the bar and just simply people watch. It's up to you. Stay over in a Deluxe Suite and enjoy pure luxury with fresh flowers, champagne on ice and chocolates in your room....just some of the special touches we offer (additional charges apply). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Big Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Blue Blackpool
Big Blue Hotel Blackpool
Hotel Big Blue
Big Blackpool Blue Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing