We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable, friendly and excellent value”
Review of Big Blue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Big Blue Hotel
Ranked #7 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Comfortable, friendly and excellent value”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

This was everything the reviews suggested - good value, comfy rooms, warm, great breakfast - plenty of choice and the hot food was actually hot! Friendly and helpful staff. It was the most comfortable stay I've had in a hotel for a long time - and so cheap.

Room Tip: make sure WiFi works in your room - staff happy to help though so this was not a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anwen61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,007 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,834
    834
    216
    85
    38
See reviews for
1,333
895
34
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (639)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

This hotel is so perfect. Right next to the pleasure beach, it even has its own entrance. The hotel has a large car park but is also right next to the train station. From the moment we walked in we were impressed. Really lovely receptionist, we had a baby with us so we asked where we could buy fresh milk from, she explained the way to the local shop but told us you can get free milk for the baby from the 24 hour bar, such a big help for us. We got up to the room and it was a family room so the baby could sleep away from us and we could watch TV. The family room had bunk beds in the separate section but there is still enough room for a travel cot.
We walked down to the north pier and it took about 30-40 mins but it was a nice walk, there is a tram stop right outside if you prefer not to walk. We had dinner at Bella Italia between the north & central pier which was lovely then walked back through the lights. Our baby girl loved it. We stopped at the arcades and had a couple of games and won her a teddy and then walked back to the hotel.
Once back we got milk from the bar really easy.
The next day we went for breakfast in the hotel and it was gorgeous. They had everything you could ever think of and it was delicious. A lady came round asking would we like warm milk for the baby.
Even though our room was right next to the fair, you could practically touch the big one from our window, because of the opening times of the pleasure beach there was no noise, we had a lovely sleep and a nice lie in? As the only thing at the south pier is the pleasure beach and it closes quite early there is no noise, your better staying on the south side rather than in the middle of the hustle and bustle.
The room was really spacious and clean, as was the rest of the hotel. We felt so looked after by everyone for the entire stay. I recommend this hotel to everyone and would stay here every time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, Yorkshire
Level Contributor
119 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed for one night when visiting the theatre in Blackpool. We had heard quite a bit about the hotel so decided to give it a go and managed to find a good deal as it is out of season, for bed and breakfast .

The hotel which is almost on the front next to the Pleasure Beach has its own car park which is a bonus. The receptionist on arrival was very friendly and checked us in quickly and directed us to our room on the ground floor. We were a bit surprised when we arrived at our room to find it was designed for a family but assumed that this was because we got a deal and to be fair we did not query this. I can only review on this room though and for us it was not the best.

For a family the room would be good – as you entered on the left was a large alcove which contained bunk beds and 2 monitors which could be used for games.

The room was very dark and this was because there was only a small window – again we assume this is because children use the room. The window looked onto the Pleasure Beach although this had closed the previous weekend and did not open again until 1st December. I can only imagine that it would be fun to watch the rides passing the window, however you would have to stand there to watch them and children would have to be lifted to watch. I did notice that some adjacent rooms had floor length windows which would be much better for watching the rides.

The room was modern and very clean and seemed new to say it has been open a few years, however it had no wow factor and could be better described as functional. There were biscuits, tea and coffee with a generous supply of milk. The only glasses on offer were thin plastic disposable ones in the bathroom and we again assumed this was probably because children use the room but I hated them. Perhaps if I’d asked at reception, I could have got some proper glass ones!

The bathroom was nice but the bath towels were small and I would have preferred large bath towels or bath sheets to wrap myself in after my bath.

When we returned from the theatre we had a drink in the bar which is really pleasant furnished with low sofas and we found the staff friendly.

On our way to breakfast we noticed on the maid’s trolley bottles of water so we felt that there were definitely two standards or yet again, was it because children use the room?

The breakfast was ok but lacked something – the bacon was very salty but that was probably not the fault of the hotel and the queue for the one toaster was long. The toast had to be put through twice as it was not toasting well, which added to the length of the queue. My husband commented on the standard and that it was amazing how the same breakfast could be different from hotel to hotel.

Check-out was 11am which we found strange for a hotel of this standard especially as check-in was not until 3pm. You are able to extend your check-out to 1pm for an extra £30 which seems a bit disproportionate with the room tariff. We would expect a 12 noon check-out and feel that the late check-in/late check-out is for the hotel’s convenience rather than the guests.

A code is needed to exit the car park and the receptionist failed to provide us with this as she seemed preoccupied with staff in the office behind reception and we had to go back into the hotel to get it. She was on the phone and held out a piece of paper with the code on as she continued her conversation so obviously realised why we had returned. This was a different receptionist to the previous day.

I don’t think we would stay here again and wouldn’t go out of my way to recommend the hotel. Having said that, perhaps in a different room we would have enjoyed our stay much more!

Room Tip: If you are not travelling as a family, check you are not in a family room,
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pxbradford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rutherglen
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

the hotel is very modern, and clean. we have been to many hotels, in blackpool, over many years. this hotel has a buffet service , for breakfast, and its a must. the only criticism, we found was , you had to pay extra, for porridge, boiled eggs, and other items. if you are paying for a breakfast, you should be given all .the evening meal, was too expensive, and drinks are the dearest i have ever seen. the staff , are very good. we would return, again. if they had sensible prices---bill

Room Tip: dont get a ground floor , they are too noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rugbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

A great four nights stay in a beautiful room over looking the theme park. The staff are attentive and thoughtful and nothing is too much effort. Food was excellent and we were made to feel very welcome. I look forward to a return visit soon. Chris London.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisSouthLon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Great Hotel, Lovely food, super rooms but not cheap...drinks quite expensive in the hotel bar, but great atmosphere!!! Would definately go back!! + Pleasure beach tickets are 2 for 1 @ the hotel reception.

Room Tip: Family rooms have bunk beds for the children upto the age of 12
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donnamoore1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here while working in Blackpool. This is a great hotel with lovely staff. The food I ate was good and the rooms are clean and quiet. My only criticism is thy my mattress was sagging and felt like it needed replacing.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goochie60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.0 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 70 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,858 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#26 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 70 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#34 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#32 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Blue Hotel

Property: Big Blue Hotel
Address: Ocean Boulevard | Pleasure Beach, Blackpool FY4 1ND, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Blackpool
#3 Business Hotel in Blackpool
#4 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#5 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Big Blue Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Big Blue Hotel at Pleasure Beach, Blackpool, where chic, cutting-edge design blends seamlessly with an attention to detail and a level of service that is second to none. This modern, 4-star hotel is perfectly located for a luxury break, business trip or family holiday, with modern accommodation at affordable prices. All 157 bedrooms are designed with wonderful fabrics from Designers Guild and offer luxurious en-suite bedrooms with complimentary WiFi internet access, flat screen televisions with inbuilt freeview, iron/ironing board, tea/coffee making facilities, telephone, hairdryer, heating control, electric shaver point, 24-hour room service, smoke alarms, duvets, power shower, key card access, an integrated air cooling system and DVD players that can also be used as a CD player. The Big Blue offers contemporary family accommodation right next to Pleasure Beach, Blackpool's biggest tourist attraction featuring the UK's only Nickelodeon Land - a new 6 acre area of Pleasure Beach loaded with 12 rides, a Nickelodeon shop, fun game stalls, a new restaurant and home to a whole host of famous Nickelodeon characters. The location is within easy reach of all of Blackpool's main attractions so families are guaranteed to get the most out of their trip. A range of hotel conference facilities are available making the Big Blue an ideal venue for Blackpool conferences and business meetings. The hotel also has complimentary WiFi internet access in all bedrooms, public areas and meeting rooms. Dining at the Big Blue hotel is an unforgettable experience whether it's a lazy cappuccino in the cafe bar or a delicious gourmet meal in Blues Bar and Brasserie. Children can create their own fresh pizzas while parents can choose from an extensive menu designed with a European feel using only fresh, local produce. Sink into a soft leather armchair and enjoy a long cool drink after a day on the rides or sip a Big Blue cocktail at the bar and just simply people watch. It's up to you. Stay over in a Deluxe Suite and enjoy pure luxury with fresh flowers, champagne on ice and chocolates in your room....just some of the special touches we offer (additional charges apply). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Big Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Blue Blackpool
Big Blue Hotel Blackpool
Hotel Big Blue
Big Blackpool Blue Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing