We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's big, it's blue and it's brilliant!”
Review of Big Blue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Big Blue Hotel
Ranked #7 of 69 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“It's big, it's blue and it's brilliant!”
Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Great modern hotel, with all modern amenities. More expensive than most Blackpool hotels, but you get what you pay for. We stayed in deluxe room on the first floor with a slight view of the beach. Adjacent to the Pleasure Beach. The accommodation was beautifully presented and the staff were friendly and obliging. The breakfast was good too. Would definitely recommend the hotel to everyone : singles, couples, families and friends. Go enjoy the big blue experience.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Milgar46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,046 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,863
    842
    218
    85
    38
See reviews for
1,357
907
35
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (645)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel was quite nice, staff are all friendly and the room was very comfy! Keep in mind that the breakfast room is also very busy, and at times, we felt like we were falling over other guests. The breakfast was lovely, all the English traditionals. The hotel is located a fair way from the attractions but there is a tram stop straight across from the hotel. We stayed as a family of four and had the queen bed and the two bunks for the children. It was more than adequate for us all. I would recommend to all travellers!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozRachel23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Never sure what you are getting in Blackpool, so booked this hotel after reading reviews. It is a modern, clean comfortable hotel. The staff were helpful and friendly (northerners mostly are). We hadn't intended to have dinner in the hotel, but after an evening being battered by wind and rain, decided to head back to hotel, in time for last order. The staff were very accommodating, despite being the last in, they didn't try to rush us to order, they were so nice, and the food was lovely.

Good breakfast, and no problems with getting a table, only had a few minutes wait.

A great location, right by the Pleasure Beach, and we were given complimentary passes for the PB. Would definitely book the Big Blue again

Room Tip: Booked a superior double, which had a queen size bed, good size room,. Ironing board, hair dryer an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMF84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Spent 2 nights here 1st and 2nd nov,everything really lovely,staff are second to none,we had a superior family room,plenty of space,not 5 star but still really nice,and they do have deluxe rooms which may well be 5 star,one thing is for sure we would always stay here if coming to blackpool,very clean,food really good,we found the price of food,drinks etc were fair,not over priced about the same you would find in any hotel,restaurant or bar and in lovely surroundings and again amazing staff,well worth what appears to be the extra price you pay,there is no risk of any of the bad things you read about other hotels here,which you dont pay much less for.

Room Tip: Top floor if you are unable to cope with children running around above you,but bear in mind it has f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkdale, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I can not really say anything wrong about this hotel!
Great thats it! Just come and have a rest, try the wonderful service and comfortable rooms! Everything is clean and spotless. The food in the restaurant just fab as well!
Will return!

Room Tip: sea view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Excellent hotel friendly staff good clean rooms very good power shower lots of storage space in room bunk bed room for kids was great snakes and ladders on wall with big dice and their own tv . When going down to breakfast we found that most people tend to go down between 8.30 and 9.15 so there can be a small wait, worth it as there is lots to choose from a good hearty cooked breakfast to fruit croissant and yogurts . This hotel is great for families and couples right next to fair. The hotel is quiet and there is plenty of parking for guest, car park is secure as you have to get a gate pass to leave **** star excellent

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flossy37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This was my 1st visit to this hotel. I paid over £300 for 2nights B&B for a family of four. We stayed there fom Nov 2nd until Nov 4th. The hotel is very handy for The Pleasure Beach. I was able to pick my park tickets I had booked online from reception. The hotel has its own park entrance which saves time. Check in was smooth. The hotel has a large car park for guests. We had a superior family room. It was nice, nothing flash though. It was clean, and the bed was comfy. The kids had their own sleeping area with bunk beds and each bed had its own TV. The bathroom was nice, and the shower was good. Tea and coffee making facilities were on hand, as well as a hair drier and iron. The food in the resteraunt was nice but very over priced in my opinion. Also had a long wait between each course. It is not a five star hotel mind you. I would honestly rate it a 3.5. Breakfast was good, but slightly lacking in items on the cooked menu. I heard someone say you had to pay exta for mushrooms! Sleep quality was very good. I would go back to this hotel, but would be looking for a better price deal in the future. It describes itself as a boutique hotel. But if you know what this means, you will see it clearly isn't.

Room Tip: A quiet room in 419.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thefinnsDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.9 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 69 in Blackpool
3,911 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 69 in Blackpool
454 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 69 in Blackpool
3,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 69 in Blackpool
488 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#16 of 69 in Blackpool
975 reviews
2.5 mi away
Village Hotel Blackpool
Village Hotel Blackpool
#29 of 69 in Blackpool
3,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Blue Hotel

Property: Big Blue Hotel
Address: Ocean Boulevard | Pleasure Beach, Blackpool FY4 1ND, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Blackpool
#3 Business Hotel in Blackpool
#4 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#5 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Big Blue Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Big Blue Hotel at Pleasure Beach, Blackpool, where chic, cutting-edge design blends seamlessly with an attention to detail and a level of service that is second to none. This modern, 4-star hotel is perfectly located for a luxury break, business trip or family holiday, with modern accommodation at affordable prices. All 157 bedrooms are designed with wonderful fabrics from Designers Guild and offer luxurious en-suite bedrooms with complimentary WiFi internet access, flat screen televisions with inbuilt freeview, iron/ironing board, tea/coffee making facilities, telephone, hairdryer, heating control, electric shaver point, 24-hour room service, smoke alarms, duvets, power shower, key card access, an integrated air cooling system and DVD players that can also be used as a CD player. The Big Blue offers contemporary family accommodation right next to Pleasure Beach, Blackpool's biggest tourist attraction featuring the UK's only Nickelodeon Land - a new 6 acre area of Pleasure Beach loaded with 12 rides, a Nickelodeon shop, fun game stalls, a new restaurant and home to a whole host of famous Nickelodeon characters. The location is within easy reach of all of Blackpool's main attractions so families are guaranteed to get the most out of their trip. A range of hotel conference facilities are available making the Big Blue an ideal venue for Blackpool conferences and business meetings. The hotel also has complimentary WiFi internet access in all bedrooms, public areas and meeting rooms. Dining at the Big Blue hotel is an unforgettable experience whether it's a lazy cappuccino in the cafe bar or a delicious gourmet meal in Blues Bar and Brasserie. Children can create their own fresh pizzas while parents can choose from an extensive menu designed with a European feel using only fresh, local produce. Sink into a soft leather armchair and enjoy a long cool drink after a day on the rides or sip a Big Blue cocktail at the bar and just simply people watch. It's up to you. Stay over in a Deluxe Suite and enjoy pure luxury with fresh flowers, champagne on ice and chocolates in your room....just some of the special touches we offer (additional charges apply). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Big Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Blue Blackpool
Big Blue Hotel Blackpool
Hotel Big Blue
Big Blackpool Blue Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing