We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well priced for what you get!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Big Blue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Big Blue Hotel
Ranked #7 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Well priced for what you get!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2011

Very high standard hotel for the price, good room service, staff excellent but set 1.5miles from blackpool tower when pleasure beach is closed November time.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hmoses92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,974 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,814
    825
    212
    85
    38
See reviews for
1,321
884
34
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (634)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
N.Wales
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2011

Right next to the fair in Blackpool, has parking, quick check in, lovely double rooms. The Breakfast is the best, thoroughly enjoyed this hotel. Bit on the expensive side though.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blaenau2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2011

Stayed for 1 night on 11th Nov with a group of friends after a golf day.
The staff were all very pleasant, the rooms were all of a good size, breakfast was plentiful and well organised and car parking was good. So all in all a good quality hotel.
My only 'slight' complaint would be that we paid £91 on line for a twin, however for the following night we were quoted £158 for a family room, seemed expensive.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mansell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

Stayed here with the children the staff are great and the food is brilliant going again soon and will be staying here again should be classed as 5 star

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Riessk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport gwent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

Have been to this hotel many times and have always had a pleasant experience, however this time - not so much...... On arrival, we were told we had a free-upgrade to a family room, when entering the only difference was a set of very small bunk beds behind the main door, and lets just say, if we had children we would not be happy for them to sleep there. The walls were covered in filth and the overall room was decorated more like a hostel than a 3/4* hotel. When complaining to reception, we were told that we would be placed in the original room booked - which turned out exactly the same as the other minus the bunk beds, for nearly £100 a night I'd rather stay elsewhere - which we nearly did. On previous stays we had a big flat-screen T.V and a luxurious wooden finish to our room but booked and paid a similar price as this recent stay, when once again complaining to reception ( there were other guest complaining there too at this point) he told us that the rooms we described are deluxe rooms and they were given to us on the previous times we stayed here as a free-upgrade, so that was what he would do that night due to circumstances. Why, if there were many deluxe rooms available were we put in a very poor family room in the first place - as an upgrade? And Why, when there were just two of us would a family room be any sort of upgrade when there wasn't much difference in the space? also, if a customer complained once, shouldn't we have been given the deluxe room first time instead of being difficult giving us the room we had originally booked and then the hassle of going back to reception again? Anyway, after the rooms were corrected we had a very nice night stay,comfortable sleep, nicely decorated furnishings, complementaries, and the buffet breakfast did not fail to impress, lots of selection and at a lovely standard as always, shame about the rest of the experience, and a shame we have now seen the other sort of rooms that are on offer at this hotel. We like to stay at smart hotels and don't mind paying that little bit extra for it . They make a unfortunate reactions by offering free- upgrades, because when they don't offer it guests are left with the reality of what they had booked - and over paid for. We weren't told on previous stays that we had been upgraded and therefore assumed that was the beautiful quality of all the rooms, unfortunately not. If you enjoy a bit of comfort make sure you book a deluxe room to avoid disappointment!

Room Tip: Book a Deluxe room to avoid disappointment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank v2theb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2011

My husband and i stayed here for a few day in october half term,the hotel is spot on we could not find a problem at all, the room was fantastic very quite even though we were overlooking the theme park,we truly could not fault it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 864Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2011

We had our honeymoon here. 50 years ago.
Entertainment generally was expensive. probably cheaper holiday abroad, but we wanted to see how it had changed?
A bit confusing on entering the suggested way to the main front,Mostly car parks on route.
We went with the family this time, personally I would avoid going there when its school breaks.
The breakfast was very good in the hotel. We also had an evening meal, which was excellent, albeit quite expensive. My only criticism was I found the heating in the room too hot, no apparent way of altering it.

Room Tip: If you have any difficulty getting around, I suggest you ask for a room near the entrance. It's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morph1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.0 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,808 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#27 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
#35 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#32 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Big Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Big Blue Hotel

Property: The Big Blue Hotel
Address: Ocean Boulevard | Pleasure Beach, Blackpool FY4 1ND, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Blackpool
#3 Business Hotel in Blackpool
#4 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#5 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Big Blue Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Big Blue Hotel at Pleasure Beach, Blackpool, where chic, cutting-edge design blends seamlessly with an attention to detail and a level of service that is second to none. This modern, 4-star hotel is perfectly located for a luxury break, business trip or family holiday, with modern accommodation at affordable prices. All 157 bedrooms are designed with wonderful fabrics from Designers Guild and offer luxurious en-suite bedrooms with complimentary WiFi internet access, flat screen televisions with inbuilt freeview, iron/ironing board, tea/coffee making facilities, telephone, hairdryer, heating control, electric shaver point, 24-hour room service, smoke alarms, duvets, power shower, key card access, an integrated air cooling system and DVD players that can also be used as a CD player. The Big Blue offers contemporary family accommodation right next to Pleasure Beach, Blackpool's biggest tourist attraction featuring the UK's only Nickelodeon Land - a new 6 acre area of Pleasure Beach loaded with 12 rides, a Nickelodeon shop, fun game stalls, a new restaurant and home to a whole host of famous Nickelodeon characters. The location is within easy reach of all of Blackpool's main attractions so families are guaranteed to get the most out of their trip. A range of hotel conference facilities are available making the Big Blue an ideal venue for Blackpool conferences and business meetings. The hotel also has complimentary WiFi internet access in all bedrooms, public areas and meeting rooms. Dining at the Big Blue hotel is an unforgettable experience whether it's a lazy cappuccino in the cafe bar or a delicious gourmet meal in Blues Bar and Brasserie. Children can create their own fresh pizzas while parents can choose from an extensive menu designed with a European feel using only fresh, local produce. Sink into a soft leather armchair and enjoy a long cool drink after a day on the rides or sip a Big Blue cocktail at the bar and just simply people watch. It's up to you. Stay over in a Deluxe Suite and enjoy pure luxury with fresh flowers, champagne on ice and chocolates in your room....just some of the special touches we offer (additional charges apply). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Big Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Blue Blackpool
Big Blue Hotel Blackpool
Hotel Big Blue
Big Blackpool Blue Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing