We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Dudley
Ranked #616 of 863 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 5, 2011

Was looking for a hotel in blackpool for half term with my sister and two children. My mum recommended this hotel as she has stayed there before.

We had a great stay. Rooms were lovely and clean, breakfast was delicious and wendy and alan were very friendly and welcoming. Would definitely recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeni0109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (36)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 36 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2011

i have stayed in the dudley hotel many times...with friends and also with my son...i cannot believe some of the negative reviews on this page....alan and wendy wwer 2 of the warmist and friendliest people i have met regarding bed and breakfast...nothing was ever to much trouble every time i and friends have stayed there....honest genuine people who dont just run it as a buisness they take pride in the job and also the accomadation they offer..try and i can guarantee you would not be disapointed...

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Just come back from a 2 night mid week stay with my family and friends.
Wendy and Alan were certainly welcoming and did everything we could possible ask for and more.
They were fantastic with the children and definatly cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loubylou865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

when we arrived outside could not beleive my eyes its nothing like the picturess the dirt on the windows was unbelevable no parking at all carpark miles away ,when we got in the hotel the rooms wernt ready and were asked to go for a walk hmmmmmm very profesional this trip was booked with a surprise hotel and what a surprise it was if id of known it was this hotel i would of stayed well away worst experiance iv ever encounterd and that goes for the other 11 people in are party who im sure will review aswell the place should be closed down id rather stay in a hotel off the film the wrong turn very unwelcoming unsatisfying ,the people who have reviewed this hotel obviousley no the ppl or its been took over by new owners absolutely vile

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Princess Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded October 31, 2011

This comment is made by a member of the same group who wrote the last review so i dont need to go into detail as you can see my response to the last comment.
They are just very bitter about being thrown out for their disgraceful behaviour.
We have some very lovely and decent people here and dont tolerate people of this nature.They are not suitable to stay in a hotel of this standard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

pictures are so false dirty looking outside unorganised no parking deffinateley not for the youner generation ,room smelt of smoke very arrogent and unwelcoming people had a 2 night stay and stayed for 1 no refund was givin never met two people who lie so much in my hotel make me not ever want to o to blackpool ever again absolutely disgusting the only good time we had was when we wernt in the hotel purely filthy utterley disgusting wouldnt no good hospitality if it bit them in the face they are deffinatley in the wrong buisness never had a clue between them

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gerard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded October 30, 2011

As the owner of The Dudley Hotel I would like to respond to this comment.

Firstly the only APPAULING thing here was this group of people..!!!!

They arrived early at 11.40am (check in is 14.00hrs unless by prior arrangement)
Although they were early we let them leave their cases here whilst they went to the pleasure beach.
As check out is 11am previous guests had only just left so obviously we couldnt change over the rooms in 40 minutes..!!!

Parking wasnt an issue as they were dropped off in a mini bus (we dont state that we do have parking anyway)
They told us that their mini bus was picking them up at 13.00hrs on Sunday and although check out is 11am we agreed to let them stay until the mini bus arrived.

The group returned from the Pleasure Beach and got ready for their night out.They bought some drinks in the bar and we chatted to them.
On arrival back here at 2.30am the group came in very noisily constantly slamming doors going from room to room and making such a racket that after 1/2 an hour my husband had to go up and ask them to quieten down.At that point there were 8 people in one room although they had 6 rooms booked.
At 3.45 my husband went back up and again asked them to keep the noise down....to no avail.The noise continued.
After my husband had been up 3 times I myself went up at 6.10 and told them they would have to leave as we do not tolerate this kind of behaviour from anyone.
They had no respect for anyone.
At this point we had complaints from the neighbours.
Some of the group came downstairs and gathered on the street and some were still in the rooms.
One of the men was shouting and threatening to smash the place up,at this point i called the police.
After another 20 minutes all the group were outside and started walking down the street shouting.

This group were booked in for 2 nights but we certainly dont give refunds for bad behaviour.

In 20 months of being here we have never had to deal with behaviour this bad and have never had to ask anyone to leave.
As for saying the place is dirty its obviously untrue (if it was i think we would have had other bad comments on here...!!)

Anyone is welcome to look around here before booking .

This is the worst group of people that have ever stayed here and they would never be welcome back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2011

The Dudley hotel was 5 star for the service. Alan and Wendy were very friendly and couldnt do enough for us, wouldnt ask for better service. I was expecting the bar to be expensive but wasnt 1 bit so it was great gettin a few drinks whilst getting ready.

The room was basic yet clean, cosy, comfortable and also had a free view tv.

The location was great, near to bars and clubs. If u needed to go further eg pleasure beach you would need to get a taxi but they are more than happy to phone taxis for you. The taxi cost roughly 7pounds but on a nice day its good to walk to see all the attractions on your way.

Cant really fault anything about the place and the staff. Its welcoming, friendly, clean, cheap and they do a great full english in the morning.

Room Tip: Our rooms were very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danni6832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

Very warm welcome by Wendy and Alan. The service was excellent , In this friendly family run hotel.
The accomodation was clean tidy airy.
They were very understanding to our needs

Room Tip: book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doristigerlilly10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.3 mi away
Glyndale Hotel
Glyndale Hotel
#92 of 863 in Blackpool
212 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fairhaven Hotel
Fairhaven Hotel
#140 of 863 in Blackpool
85 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Lucena Hotel
Lucena Hotel
#102 of 135 in Blackpool
157 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#28 of 73 in Blackpool
3,375 reviews
1.8 mi away
Heywood House
Heywood House
#347 of 863 in Blackpool
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dudley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dudley

Address: 67 Dickson Road, Blackpool FY1 2BX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #616 of 863 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: $40 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
The Dudley Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing