We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dave Bailey Rotherham Brilliant 4 nights” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elgin Hotel Blackpool

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Elgin Hotel Blackpool
Ranked #8 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Dave Bailey Rotherham Brilliant 4 nights”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

Stayed at the Elgin 9th June to 13th , Could not have wished for a better hotel ,room.meals.staff.and entertainment all EXCELLENT.Will return and recommend the hotel to anyone. Thanks again for a brilliant 4 nights stay

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davebailey433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSeddon, Director at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Hi Dave
Really pleased that you enjoyed your stay.Many thanks for your generous comments and feedback. We look forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future.
Warm Regards and Best Wishes
Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    180
    42
    9
    14
See reviews for
191
253
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
lancashire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

Stayed at the Elgin for a weekend in June with a group of friends. The food was very good with equaly good service.
Rooms clean with clean bedding and good quality towels.
The entertainment on the second evening was fantastic. Ashley Rebanks was excellent. Everyone really enjoyed his performance a true proffesional. In fact we are considering returning for another stay later in the year ... but when Ashley is performing!
The only draw back in our room was that there was no electric socket near the mirror so we could not dry our hair in front of it

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LancashireLyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSeddon, Director at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear Lancashire Lynn
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review. Really pleased that you enjoyed your weekend and not least the entertainment with Ashley Rebanks. Apologies for the lack of socket near the mirror for your hairdryer. We have almost got round all our rooms by way of refurbishment. The room you were in is on our 'jobs to do list'.
Kind Regards and Best Wishes
Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

I came here with my elderly grandma and also my mum, the entertainment was good one night with a young male singer who also told a few jokes, he got the crowd laughing and up dancing, the next night not so good! A young girl who just talked about herself and sang very boring sleepy songs, we left early.
The bingo is fab with some great caller's, one guy was so funny at it he had the crowd in fits of laughter!
Our rooms were nice, very clean and stocked up daily.
Food lovely, good choices at all meal times, waiting on staff very friendly and helpful.
We're returning soon for the funny girl's weekend.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSeddon, Director at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Hi Sarah
Many thanks for your review. Great to hear that all three of you enjoyed your stay. I see you stayed in February - if you can let me know which date I can certainly look into the Saturday night's cabaret. Good to hear that Nicky Flash was still hitting the bingo high notes!
We look forward to welcoming you '3 generations' back to the Elgin.
Warm Regards and Best Wishes
Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

Having told hotel before going that my mum was in a wheelchair and that we needed a walk in shower I was disappointed to be given a room into which it was very difficult to enter with a chair. Once in it was a good job mum has some mobility as it was impossible to use chair. The room was dated and the pink/maroon bathroom fixtures dated it terribly. Their was hardly enough room to swing a cat and when I did venture into the walkin shower which was one of the smallest I have ever seen the water was scalding hot with no move to escape leaving me with a very soe head. When I mentioned my disappointment to the staff I was offered another room but at an upgraded price which I could not afford so had to stay put. Included in the price was a day trip to quarry bank mill, no mention was made about access but when we arrived we were told that only very limited access was available and that they did not recommend the gardens either due to rough paths and loads of steps. So another disappointment and a wasted day. Please can this very highly recommended hotel look into its disabled facilities and into the type of trip the include. Mum enjoyed herself but I felt very let down and needless to say will not be returning.

Room Tip: Know what you are looking for.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSeddon, Director at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Diane
Firstly, for the benefit of yourself, all other helpers and potential disabled guests, can I say that we very much welcome guests with mobility problems. In the last 2 years have create 4 purpose-built accessible rooms which have been warmly received. These have large turning circles for wheelchairs both in the bedroom and the bathroom, all light switches are at a suitable height and the bathroom is effective a wet-room with suitable grab rails and shower seats. We have however put these together with style to make these rooms as attractive as possible. We have also created an accessible public toilet in the center of the hotel and constructed a wide ramp to the front door of the hotel for those guests who can’t manage the steps.
When you made your booking it was pointed out to that we had no more accessible rooms available. Perhaps we should have made it clearer that the room we were putting you in was one of our smaller rooms and only had a small bathroom, I do apologize if this was not fully explained. However, bearing in mind that you were booking a coach tour, and that we pointed out that there were steps to be negotiated onto a vehicle with no ‘disabled lift’, our team member was led to believe that you would not need a wheelchair in the bedroom. I am surprised that you didn’t mention the problems with your shower at the time, had you done so, I’m sure we could have put it right for you.
With regards to Quarry Bank Mill, we did make all guests aware of accessibility problems. This was clearly explained by Amanda (our Operations Manager) during Dinner on the night of your arrival. I appreciate that this is not the best location for disabled guests but buggies were provide to allow guests to get up and down the slope from the car park to entrance of the mill. We do try to offer new excursion destinations each year and try to strike a balance between entertainment/interest value, distance from Blackpool and mobility problems. I’m sorry that this was not to your liking.
Please be assured that we take your comments seriously – we discussed these issues at length yesterday in our Tours Training session and really do hope that such a situation does not happen again.
I do hope that you will visit us at some point in the future and I feel sure if you book an Accessible Room you will have a thoroughly enjoyable stay.
Kind Regards and Best Wishes
Nigel Seddon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

I accompanied my mum on one of the all inclusive sixties weekends in which breakfast and evening dinner is provided and cabaret in Jimmy bar each evening. The entertainment is geared towards the older generation but a good time can be had by all!
The rooms are clean and adequate. Compared to similar alternatives in Blackpool, they are amongst the best you will find. We paid an upgrade for "Posh pads" which had a sea view, modern decor and were nicely kitted out. They were expensive for what they were though. I suspect the "standard" rooms would also be adequate but very small...but that's standard in Blackpool..cleanliness is the main consideration in this market.
Food was great, staff were excellent helpful and friendly. Cabaret was very excellent at times, mediocre at others!
A very spacious set of lounge areas made for a comfortable stay, the location is at the North shore end of Blackpool, which is the most attractive to stay, away from the hen/stag nights in the centre.
I would recommend the Elgin to any elderly people looking for a relaxing no pressure time!

Room Tip: They and get a sea view 2nd floor or above to avoid the noise from the lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSeddon, Director at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Hi Matthew
Many thanks for your review and your recommendation. Really pleased that you and your mother enjoyed your stay. Not least the food, the cleanliness and the hospitality of 'Team Elgo'. Our rooms are modest in size although if you do want a larger room, the Club Class and Club Executive rooms are considerably bigger.
I do hope we can welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Warm Regards and Best Wishes
Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

Just returned from a fantastic holiday 7 days of good food great entertainment and very caring staff from management to housekeeping. The minute you enter you feel at home nothing is to much trouble they go the extra mile to make your holiday the best it can be. I count the days till my sister and return in September.

Room Tip: They all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSeddon, Director at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Hi Teresa
Many thanks for all your generous comments. Really pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you both in September.
Best Wishes
Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eldwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

The hotel was a great party place for golden oldies..
An all inclusive bar encouraged people to have fun.
There was a singer/ comedian on. Every body had a little boogie. I was only there one night as I was picking my parents up to go home early Friday. The hospitality we revived was fantastic.
We would go again.
My parents go twice/ three times a year..

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paulette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSeddon, Director at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Hi Paulette
Many thanks for your review. Great to hear that you all had a good time and found everything to your liking.
Warm Regards
Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,979 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Big Blue Hotel
The Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,932 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lyndene Hotel
Lyndene Hotel
#24 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sheraton
Hotel Sheraton
#21 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#35 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elgin Hotel Blackpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elgin Hotel Blackpool

Property: Elgin Hotel Blackpool
Address: 36-42 Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9RW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#9 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Elgin Hotel Blackpool 2*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elgin Hotel (Large Hotel of the Year Finalist 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014 & 2015 - Lancashire Tourism Board) is an 89 bedroom hotel located on the cliffs on the exclusive Queen's Promenade, just one mile north of Blackpool Town Centre. All bedrooms are en-suite and we are proud to offer an extensive range of room type which range from Standard to Club Executive - these rooms even have TVs in the bathroom! In addition, we also have five accessible bedrooms. We offer a wide range of midweek and themed mini weekend breaks, including: • Elvis Tributes • Swinging 60s • Rod Stewart Tributes • Comedy & Cabaret nights • Turkey and Tinsel breaks • Illuminations breaks • And much more! With all this to choose from, you're sure to find something to suit your taste! Bingo and cabaret entertainment can be enjoyed every evening after Dinner in the hotel. Guests on midweek breaks also have the option to take advantage of our free excursions to various locations throughout the year! Return coach travel is available from a number of regions when booked with Elgin Tours. We take the stress out of travelling so that you can start your holiday the right way. Plus we're fully bonded with ABTA for extra piece of mind. Our philosophy at the hotel is very much focused on adding value to your stay. We strive to go the extra mile and our friendly staff are always willing to accommodate special requests. Our commitment to customer service is just one of the reasons why many guests choose to return! • Dinner, Bed and Breakfast as standard • Special discounts for children • WIFI available • Lift to all floors • Car park plus plenty of on-street parking without charges/restrictions • Fully licensed bars and lounges • Accessible rooms • Great transport links (bus and tram stops outside of the hotel) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Elgin Hotel Blackpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackpool Elgin Hotel
Elgin Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing