We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT NIGHT'S SLEEP”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Elgin Hotel Blackpool
Ranked #8 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2014

I stayed at the Elgin for one night recently during a freak hurricane! The staff sprung into action after a great meal, sealing the doors at the front, whilst the quiz kept everyone happy in the bar. The staff were extremely friendly, nothing was too much trouble. I had a great night's sleep on a very comfortable bed, and awoke to a much calmer day!

I'd definitely return to the Elgin.

Room Tip: I was disappointed at first to have a room at the rear, however it was very quiet, particularly as t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missustravellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elginhotel, Director at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2014

Dear Miss Ustravellor
Many thanks for your generous complements. We're particularly delighted that you had a good nights sleep as it really was blowing an absolute hooley outside - probably the strongest winds we've ever experienced in Blackpool. Really pleased that the team here looked after you so well.
Best Wishes and Happy Travels,
Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (822)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

491 - 497 of 822 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2014

We recently stayed at the Elgin for a family function. The buffet food was excellent both in quality and variety and the staff were extremely attentive - nothing was too much trouble. Our room was well equipped and comfortable and the service at breakfast was second to none.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elginhotel, Director at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2014

Dear Gail
Many thanks for your positive review. Great to see you back at the Elgin after so many years albeit in such sad cirmcumstances.
Please don't leave it another 30 years before your next visit!
Warm Regards and Best Wishes
Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Just back from a weekend at the Elgin.Our room was a superior sea view and was nicely appointed.We had a couple of problems one being the tv which had no signal, we reported this to reception and it was fixed by tea time the next day.It was unsurprising as the weather was awful and blowing a gale so the repairman had to wait till the wind lessened before he could go on the roof to fix the problem.Apparently ours wasn't the only room not to have a signal.Our other problem was in the bathroom where the extractor was blowing out fluff all over the toilet and floor but again this was fixed the next day.Although it did start again on the Sunday morning but as we were checking out it didn't matter.We found the food excellent and plentifull although service was super quick.As we finished one course our plates were whisked away and the next course brought immediately.This is probably because people want to get their seats for the entertainment as if you were not quick there were no seats available.We had to sit at the end of the bar on 4 mismatched chairs and a small table which we found difficult to fit our glasses on and bingo tickets.The entertainment was excellent there were 2 acts on as well as bingo and a quiz all which we enjoyed.The bonus for us was that Sunday Lunch was included and we had breakfast and drove to Fleetwood and then returned for lunch which was excellent and unhurried.We definately will return as we enjoyed it very much.Great value for money!!!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a sea view well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julesmcfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elginhotel, Director at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Dear Jules
Many thanks for your feedback – really pleased you enjoyed your stay. Not least the good food and the entertainment. I’m sorry that you had problem with your TV areal and your extractor fan. The weather on the Wednesday before your stay really was exceptional – 100 mph gusts of wind that were literally knocking people off their feet. I can only think that this is what caused the problems in your room.
I take on board your comments regarding seating but in fairness there was plenty of seating available in the other bar (which had the same entertainment). We do have a new cabaret room on the drawing board for next winter, so hopefully this will resolve the issue.
Many thanks for your comment regards ‘Value for Money’.
We hope to be of future service.
Kind Regards
Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from the elgin after a 3 night stay. It was our first return visit but once again our comfort was a priority. Yes the room was small but we only want to sleep in it when on holiday. Had some noise for two nights with inebriated neighbours with foul mouths but what can you do at 1am . Hotel was warm and clean and when I asked that the coffee splashes on our en suite room door were removed it duly happened. Food is good and hot with attentive dining room staff. Sunday night saw the entertainment,Chris Gee , complete a good weekend. I am sure when reburbs have been done the star rating should increase.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank madmadlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elginhotel, Director at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Dear Madmadlady!,
Many thanks for the feedback. I’m sorry to hear about the disturbance in the night. Please don't hesitate to mentions things like this to us when you're here. I'm really pleased that you like our new rooms – we completed the last one on Friday.
Hoping to be able to welcome you back to the Elgin in the not too distant future,
Best Wishes
Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We had my mother's wake at the Elgin Hotel this week where the staff could not have been more attentive and caring. The food, hand carved ribs of beef were delicious, prawns and deserts superb. We had family staying at the hotel where they all said the rooms were of the highest standard and were looked after so well. Thank you Nigel and his team for making Audrey's send off in the style she would have wanted.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elginhotel, Director at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Hi Shaun
Many thanks for your review. As I said to your father it was a real privilege to cater for Audrey’s funeral. Really pleased that the food hit the spot and everyone enjoyed their overnight stay.
Keep in touch.
Best Wishes,
Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Just back from a short stay at the excellent Elgin Hotel. If you are visiting Blackpool, the Elgin is very hard to beat. From it's A1 position on the promenade, the Elgin looked after us superbly. the staff were very welcoming, the food brilliant and the entertainment laid on was top drawer. Indeed, you don't have to step out of the door! I would thoroughly recommend a stay at the Elgin when visiting Blackpool and will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Ask for a Posh Pod if travelling on your own. These are fantastic rooms, well appointed and excelle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elginhotel, Director at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2014

Dear Nigel
Many thanks for the feedback. We’re all really pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay. We would be delighted to welcome you all back – just don’t leave it another 10 years!
Kind Regards and Best Wishes
Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We returned to the Elgin this week for a one night stay and to attend a funeral wake at the hotel. It was a sad occasion but the management and staff were so caring and attentive and the buffet was the best 'funeral food' I have ever had. All homed-cooked with hand-carved ribs of beef and it was absolutely delicious.
Our room was beautifully designed, a comfortable bed with soft feather pillows. We booked an upgraded room and it was well worth the small extra cost. The cleanliness level was of the highest standard and we will definitely return very soon. Oh I forgot to mention we were entertained by Robbie Williams looky-likey the night before and although we went to bed at midnight the dance floor was still full. Ann the MC was brilliant too.
Thank you to all the team at the Elgin for making a very sad occasion extra special.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizPa55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elginhotel, Director at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2014

Dear Liz
Many thanks for your review. I’m really pleased that we managed to play our part in Audrey Smythe’s Funeral – it was a real privilege. Head Chef Gary did an amazing job on the buffet, as did 2nd Chef Gary with the dinner on the Wednesday evening. All the team were glad to be involved. Good to know that you enjoyed your stay and the entertainment.
Look forward to seeing you soon.
Best Wishes
Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#27 of 73 in Blackpool
3,433 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sheraton
Hotel Sheraton
#19 of 73 in Blackpool
492 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#38 of 73 in Blackpool
4,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
577 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lyndene Hotel
Lyndene Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
1,476 reviews
3.4 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elgin Hotel Blackpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elgin Hotel Blackpool

Address: 36-42 Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9RW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#6 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: $80 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Elgin Hotel Blackpool 2*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elgin Hotel (Large Hotel of the Year Finalist 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014 & 2015 - Lancashire Tourism Board) is an 89 bedroom hotel located on the cliffs on the exclusive Queen's Promenade, just one mile north of Blackpool Town Centre. All bedrooms are en-suite and we are proud to offer an extensive range of room type which range from Standard to Club Executive - these rooms even have TVs in the bathroom! In addition, we also have five accessible bedrooms. We offer a wide range of midweek and themed mini weekend breaks, including: • Elvis Tributes • Swinging 60s • Rod Stewart Tributes • Comedy & Cabaret nights • Turkey and Tinsel breaks • Illuminations breaks • And much more! With all this to choose from, you're sure to find something to suit your taste! Bingo and cabaret entertainment can be enjoyed every evening after Dinner in the hotel. Guests on midweek breaks also have the option to take advantage of our free excursions to various locations throughout the year! Return coach travel is available from a number of regions when booked with Elgin Tours. We take the stress out of travelling so that you can start your holiday the right way. Plus we're fully bonded with ABTA for extra piece of mind. Our philosophy at the hotel is very much focused on adding value to your stay. We strive to go the extra mile and our friendly staff are always willing to accommodate special requests. Our commitment to customer service is just one of the reasons why many guests choose to return! • Dinner, Bed and Breakfast as standard • Special discounts for children • WIFI available • Lift to all floors • Car park plus plenty of on-street parking without charges/restrictions • Fully licensed bars and lounges • Accessible rooms • Great transport links (bus and tram stops outside of the hotel) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Elgin Hotel Blackpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackpool Elgin Hotel
Elgin Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing