We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very comfortable hotel with excellant food (Roger & Norma)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Elgin Hotel Blackpool
Ranked #8 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We have just returned from 3 days at the Elgin, we paid for a superior room and got a superb sea view with very pleasant and comfortable facilities. The food as usual was superb always served hot and good helpings.
The staff are very helpful and pleasant. The evening entertainment was great (Elvis Presley) tribute with two artists both very good. They also had a comedy entertainer (Nicky Flash) who looked dim and useless but who turned out to be a very funny comic. The calling of boring bingo with Nicky was never so much fun, we cried with laughter. This man is a natural comic very similar to Tommy Cooper. We loved every minute of our stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fishbick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elginhotel, Owner Manager at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Dear Roger and Norma
Many thanks for your kind comments – this is very much appreciated. I often describe Nicky as a cross between David Blane and Tommy Cooper – if you enjoyed his Bingo, then you really must see his comedy magic act!
If we don’t see you before, have a great festive season, and hopefully see you in the New Year.
Best Wishes
Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (812)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

513 - 519 of 812 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2013

the hotel is in a great position on north promenade,nice facillities,great staff.
I arrived on thursday 31st october to stay one night ,the evening meal was excellent well cooked and hearty so was greatly looking forward to breakfast ,however the full cooked breakfast was poor 1 rasher of bacon ,1 chipolata hotdog type sausage,.
My companion ordered poached eggs which arrived on wet and soggy bread with firm yolks ,i dont expect four star food at bargain prices but this was a let down.
Apart from this i cannot fault the hotel ,just a dissapointing end to our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elginhotel, Owner Manager at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Dear Robin
Many thanks for your feedback and all your positive comments. I’m sorry that your breakfast didn’t come up to scratch. Poached eggs are often the test set us by the hotel inspectors and we do usually come up to the mark – I do regret that this was not the case with your breakfast. We would have been happy to change the eggs for you but I do appreciate that one doesn’t often want to wait another 5 minutes when everyone else has finished their meal. Please can I assure you that the sausages are local fresh pork sausages. We are more than happy to provide guest with a larger portion if required. Really pleased that you enjoyed your hearty evening meal.
I do hope that you’ll return when hopefully we can provide you with a breakfast that fully meets your expectations.
Kind Regards and Best Wishes
Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Fantastic weekend with mixed aged family party, enjoyed by all. Staff very attentive and accommodating. Dealt very well with slight mix up with one of our rooms with General Manager buying us all a drink. Stayed last year and will certainly return for our 3rd visit next year. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lesley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elginhotel, Owner Manager at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Thanks Lesley
Really pleased to hear that you and your group had such a great weekend. Apologies again for our slight mix up of room allocations on arrival. Hopefully see you all again next year.
Best Wishes
Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Had a fantastic 5days 4nights here with my Great Grandchildren and I could not have wished to go to a better place. All the staff from the top Management down to the bottom scale were all great and could not do enough for anyone even to cooking different meals for the 2 children who can be fussy as they do not eat a lot of chips and like pasta dishes when asked if they could do this there was no problem and it was done and we had 2 very happy children. The manager took time to speak to everyone in the evening coming round our tables to see if everything was to our liking and if we had any problems then please let him or one of his staff know. I have never had this before. His staff are a credit to him always had a smile on his face and no matter when so did all his staff. The rooms were comfortable and clean and the food was excellent a 5 course Dinner every night. We had quality and quantity in abundance. Well Done the ELGIN.

Room Tip: With children go to the far end of the site as the bar and music is beside the main reception and mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank betty_1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elginhotel, Owner Manager at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Hi Betty – many thanks for your most generous complements. We’re delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found all the team to your liking – we really do set out to warm and friendly (and helpful!). I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you all back to the Elgin in the not too distant future.
In the meantime you might want to watch us on the TV program ‘4 in a Bed’ – its being broadcast at 5pm on Channel 4 every evening next week. The Elgin is featured on the Thursday evening. Enjoy!
Kind Regards and Best Wishes
Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I booked for 23/24th October for my wife and I to see the illuminations and picked The Elgin based on the feedback on TA. We did book the Club Executive room 131 at extra cost (sleeps 4)and it was everything that was advertised on the hotel website, very chic and contemporary(maybe the corner shower cubicle is a bit tiny but with a flat screen TV over the bath...take your pick). We did not expect however to get such enjoyable and first class service in a Blackpool hotel. The friendly and superbly efficient waiter service in the restaurant is matched by the simple but exquisitely prepared food on offer. Evening meals and breakfast were served with polite and obliging enthusiasm normally only available at premium restaurants and room service came at the same level. The entertainment lounge was ideal for a few drinks before returning to our sea-view room to take in the passing themed trams, and the illuminations were right outside the door. A tram stop is almost opposite for the return journey after having walked breakfast off along the prom, then elevenses at the new Beach House Bistro and Bar opposite the tower, see separate review. The decoration and cleanliness of The Elgin are a credit to the owners and every single staff member was helpful and polite without being patronising, in particular in the restaurant and bar nothing is too much trouble. A long review for such a short stay, but the hotel really does deserve it.

Room Tip: Room 131 Club Executive is worth the extra cost with sea-view and a modern lift just a few feet away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2SunseekersCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elginhotel, Owner Manager at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear SunSeekers
Many thanks for your most kind review – your comments really are very much appreciated. We’re delighted that you liked your Club Executive room – we have more new bedrooms coming on line next year. Your feedback on the food, the cleanliness and not least the staff are most kind.
As I said to Betty above – you can even see us on TV next week.
Kind Regards and Best Wishes
Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed at The Elgin three weekends ago on the Frank Sinatra and Doris Day weekend. We were a family of two adults and one child. We had a lovely weekend at The Elgin. We could not find fault with any thing. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff who were most pleasant and helpful. The food was to a very high standard and it was nice to have a choice of options for breakfast and dinner. We stayed in a posh pod and this room was decorated and furnished to a very high standard. We will certainly come back again and found many of the guests on the weekend we stayed were regular visitors to the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elginhotel, Owner Manager at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Hi Helen
Many thanks for your great feedback. Really pleased to hear that you enjoyed our Frank Sinatra and Doris Day Weekend – we have some great new acts and tributes lined up for 2014, not least our Shirley Bassey and Tom Jones Tribute Weekend at the end of February. Your comments about our Staff (Team Elgo), our rooms and the food are really very much appreciated.
We hope to be of future service.
Kind Regards and Best Wishes
Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We have just come back from our third stay this year. As usual it was an incredible restful stay. The place was spotless, the food delicious, the entertainment great, and the staff were their usual obliging selves.
A special mention of "Nok" and "Aric" in the Dining Room.
We will be going back in the New Year.

Room Tip: Just "Book and Go"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Maurice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elginhotel, Owner Manager at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear Maurice
Apologies for not responding sooner but have been away in deepest dampest Dorset – lovely place.
Great to see you again for your third visit this year. Many thanks for your complements about the food, the cleanliness, the entertainment and not least the staff – I will pass your comments on to Nok and Arek.
We look forward to welcoming you in the New Year.
Kind Regards and Best Wishes
Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#30 of 73 in Blackpool
3,376 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,260 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sheraton
Hotel Sheraton
#18 of 73 in Blackpool
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#40 of 73 in Blackpool
549 reviews
3.4 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,245 reviews
3.4 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elgin Hotel Blackpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elgin Hotel Blackpool

Address: 36-42 Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9RW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#6 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: $75 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Elgin Hotel Blackpool 2*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elgin Hotel (Large Hotel of the Year Finalist 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014 & 2015 - Lancashire Tourism Board) is an 89 bedroom hotel located on the cliffs on the exclusive Queen's Promenade, just one mile north of Blackpool Town Centre. All bedrooms are en-suite and we are proud to offer an extensive range of room type which range from Standard to Club Executive - these rooms even have TVs in the bathroom! In addition, we also have five accessible bedrooms. We offer a wide range of midweek and themed mini weekend breaks, including: • Elvis Tributes • Swinging 60s • Rod Stewart Tributes • Comedy & Cabaret nights • Turkey and Tinsel breaks • Illuminations breaks • And much more! With all this to choose from, you're sure to find something to suit your taste! Bingo and cabaret entertainment can be enjoyed every evening after Dinner in the hotel. Guests on midweek breaks also have the option to take advantage of our free excursions to various locations throughout the year! Return coach travel is available from a number of regions when booked with Elgin Tours. We take the stress out of travelling so that you can start your holiday the right way. Plus we're fully bonded with ABTA for extra piece of mind. Our philosophy at the hotel is very much focused on adding value to your stay. We strive to go the extra mile and our friendly staff are always willing to accommodate special requests. Our commitment to customer service is just one of the reasons why many guests choose to return! • Dinner, Bed and Breakfast as standard • Special discounts for children • WIFI available • Lift to all floors • Car park plus plenty of on-street parking without charges/restrictions • Fully licensed bars and lounges • Accessible rooms • Great transport links (bus and tram stops outside of the hotel) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Elgin Hotel Blackpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackpool Elgin Hotel
Elgin Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing