We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“L&G Routh” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elgin Hotel Blackpool

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Elgin Hotel Blackpool
Ranked #8 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“L&G Routh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

We have had the best weekend ever. Room was beautifull. Saturday nights entertaiment with two artists was great no time to get bored. Elgin staff you will be seeing us again soon well done to every one for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSeddon, Owner Manager at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thanks Linda.

Head Barmaid Debbie said it had been a great night on the Saturday – good to hear that the 2 acts went down well. Many thanks for the positive feedback. Hopefully see you soon.

Kind Regards and Best Wishes

Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    180
    42
    9
    14
See reviews for
191
253
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Rooms are clean tidy and spacious, only thing I would fault in this heat there was no fan and they don't have air conditioning. Food was excellant very filling, staff were excellant, there is a computer you can use in the lounge which is handy if you want to book places to go to, my daughter also went on her usual websites whilst there. We stayed for one night as we wanted a place to stay whilst we did zoo, Stanley park, model village and shopping the next day, would stay again highly recommend

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSeddon, Owner Manager at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Lisa

Many thanks for your kind comments not least with regards to our food and our staff. Really pleased that you all enjoyed your stay. I know that it was extremely hot when you were here and yes, we did run out of fans – apologies for this. One day we’ll be introducing air-conditioning to the bedrooms.
In the meantime, please don’t hesitate to request a fan at time of booking a future holiday with us – we will make sure we have one for you.

Kind Regards and Best Wishes

Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

hotel was very friendly , all staff made you very welcome, food was of a good standard , and service excellent, rooms were of a decent size but very warm due to the good weather ,( which we don't often get), entertainment every night , was mostly of a good standard , enjoyed our stay in the Elgin and would recommend it as in a more quieter area at the North Shore ,although we felt it was more suited to the more mature guests but was still a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSeddon, Owner Manager at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Ruth

Many thanks for your generous compliments. We’re really pleased that the team looked after you and that the food, the service and the entertainment were to your liking. I’m sorry that the hotel was a bit hotter than you’d like – we have been ‘blessed’ with some exceptional weather.
We would be delighted to welcome you back at any time.

Kind Regards and Best Wishes

Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huddersfield
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed in April and we were back again on July 1st and bringing grandaughter in august so I think it says it all. If you are looking for a first class hotel with great food very very attentive staff and superb food this must be the place to book Easy transport via tram or bus just across road from hotel. Nigel you should be very proud of the team you have at the Elgin and at every opportunity I will recommend you See you all again 12th August

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bigmacHuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSeddon, Owner Manager at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Ruth

Many thanks for your generous compliments. We’re really pleased that the team looked after you and that the food, the service and the entertainment were to your liking. I’m sorry that the hotel was a bit hotter than you’d like – we have been ‘blessed’ with some exceptional weather.
We would be delighted to welcome you back at any time.

Kind Regards and Best Wishes

Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed fri to sunday, we had a fantastic time, all staff very friendly and attentive, can not thank reception girls for all info they gave me. Food was plentiful and very enjoyable. Entertainment on the fri ( very funny). Organised trip to funny girls on the saturday, a must see. Thankyou, we hope to see you soon. Janice & Elgin.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janice987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSeddon, Owner Manager at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Hi Janice & ‘Elgin’

Many thanks for your feedback – this is very much appreciated. Thanks also for sending us your pictures of ‘Elgin’ (the one on four legs) – you’re now officially in our ‘2013 Elgin Hotel Photographer of Year’ competition! I’ll pass on your thanks to the girls in Reception.

Kind Regards and Best Wishes

Nigel & Team Elgo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Had an absolutely fab weekend at The Elgin. Five of us stayed for my friends 50th with a trip to Funny Girls. One friend commented that it was the best service she had ever had - and she stays in 5 star hotels when she goes on holiday.
Instead of Blackpool rock, we came home with a Bischon Frise puppy that my friend has named "Elgin"! as a reminder of a great weekend away. Can't find a fault with anything. Service was excellent from every member of staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jude H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSeddon, Owner Manager at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Hi Jude

Many thanks for your kind comments and also for the explanation of who ‘Elgin’ is! Really pleased that you all enjoyed the Funny Girls Weekend. Be sure to try our ‘Viva Blackpool Show’package next year or maybe ‘Mama Mia’ which is touring from the West End.

Kind Regards and Best Wishes to All

Nigel and Team Elgo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed Monday to Friday last week.. Food was good. Staff make this hotel always so helpfull.. A tip would be in hot weather ask for a fan as there is no air con in the rooms Worth a try. I dont think you will be dissapointed. Tram and Bus stops almost outside. Cheep pub next door as well.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikie47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSeddon, Owner Manager at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Mikie

Many thanks for your positive feedback and suggestion to other guests. Good to know that you enjoyed your stay – it really does mean a lot to us.

Kind Regards and Best Wishes

Nigel and Team Elgo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,979 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Big Blue Hotel
The Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,932 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lyndene Hotel
Lyndene Hotel
#24 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sheraton
Hotel Sheraton
#21 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#35 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elgin Hotel Blackpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elgin Hotel Blackpool

Property: Elgin Hotel Blackpool
Address: 36-42 Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9RW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#9 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Elgin Hotel Blackpool 2*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elgin Hotel (Large Hotel of the Year Finalist 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014 & 2015 - Lancashire Tourism Board) is an 89 bedroom hotel located on the cliffs on the exclusive Queen's Promenade, just one mile north of Blackpool Town Centre. All bedrooms are en-suite and we are proud to offer an extensive range of room type which range from Standard to Club Executive - these rooms even have TVs in the bathroom! In addition, we also have five accessible bedrooms. We offer a wide range of midweek and themed mini weekend breaks, including: • Elvis Tributes • Swinging 60s • Rod Stewart Tributes • Comedy & Cabaret nights • Turkey and Tinsel breaks • Illuminations breaks • And much more! With all this to choose from, you're sure to find something to suit your taste! Bingo and cabaret entertainment can be enjoyed every evening after Dinner in the hotel. Guests on midweek breaks also have the option to take advantage of our free excursions to various locations throughout the year! Return coach travel is available from a number of regions when booked with Elgin Tours. We take the stress out of travelling so that you can start your holiday the right way. Plus we're fully bonded with ABTA for extra piece of mind. Our philosophy at the hotel is very much focused on adding value to your stay. We strive to go the extra mile and our friendly staff are always willing to accommodate special requests. Our commitment to customer service is just one of the reasons why many guests choose to return! • Dinner, Bed and Breakfast as standard • Special discounts for children • WIFI available • Lift to all floors • Car park plus plenty of on-street parking without charges/restrictions • Fully licensed bars and lounges • Accessible rooms • Great transport links (bus and tram stops outside of the hotel) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Elgin Hotel Blackpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackpool Elgin Hotel
Elgin Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing