We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Again the best hotel in blackpool” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elgin Hotel Blackpool

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Elgin Hotel Blackpool
Ranked #8 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
oldham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Again the best hotel in blackpool”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Just returned from the Elgin hotel, sixties weekend. We took 3 friends who had not been before and they could not get over what a well run hotel this is. I could not fault this hotel, the rooms are clean and bright, the food is first class and served with a smile and efficiency. The entertainment is excellent. I think it is Nigel the owner who gives it the finishing touch, coming round to everyone for a chat and making you feel very welcome. We have going a few years now and my friends cant wait to go back. Well done all at the staff at the Elgin for making this the best in blackpool.

Linda Evans/Brenda Bridges party

Room Tip: All the rooms are up to standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindaeoldham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSeddon, Owner Manager at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Hi Linda

Many thanks for your kind words. Really pleased that your friends enjoyed their first visit to the Elgin and not least the 60s entertainment. I you fancy something different we have some new themes this year including our Soul Weekend and Tina Turner Tribute weekend.

We’d be delighted to welcome you all back at any time.

Best Wishes and Warm Regards

Nigel and ‘Team Elgo’
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    180
    42
    9
    14
See reviews for
191
253
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
huddersfield
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Elgin 8th to 12th April all inclusive and were amazed at the customer service we experienced.From arriving Monday lunchtime till leaving Friday morning could not have been treated any better Every member of staff we came into contact with showed the same level of comittment and that is something some of the so called 5 star hotels could learn from It would be difficult to say what was the highlight of our stay but if I was pushed it would have to be the Doris Day tribute night by Jean Pasquill on Thursday superb night's entertainment Have booked in for August with grandaughter ROLL ON AUGUST

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bigmacHuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSeddon, Owner Manager at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Hi Big Mac – really pleased to hear that you enjoyed our all-inclusive midweek this month. Many thanks for your generous complements, not least regarding our 5 star service – we genuinely do try to please. Your praise gives us all great encouragement.

We look forward to welcoming you in August.

Best Wishes

Nigel and ‘Team Elgo’
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Just returned from a 60's music weekend. Three of us are all travellers and have stayed in 4 star hotels in the town...we certainly didn't expect this amazing level of customer care. (hope i dont sound condecending?).
The booking was easy, transport provided, room clean with opening windows (not ac), lots of hot water and spotless comfy beds ... wonderful.
After initial blip around vegan diet the owner wouldn't rest until we were catered for. Without any of the fuss normally associated with hotels and plant based diet.... even though the hotel was full we were given his time and energy.All the staff were unobtrusive, polite and helpful. Tom cared for us at the table as if we were royalty.
If you have a special diet give them notice (lots of vegetarian dishes in freezer). Cant praise them all enough. What's in the water in blackpool?? Even the busy tram staff were extra polite and helpful. We will be back. Especially for the 60 music ... first class.

Room Tip: ask the staff - give them your budget. we had a cheaper room with a corner view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank magic1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSeddon, Owner Manager at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Magic – many thanks for your kind comments. Apologies again for getting our ‘vegans’ and our ‘veggies’ mixed up somewhere along the lines of our internal communication, but really pleased that everything worked out well in the end. As a team we really do try to go that ‘extra mile’ for our guests – in this case it was literally the mile to the shops in Bispham!

We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards and Best Wishes

Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

my wife and i chose this hotel when it was advertised in our local paper,and thought it was great value.we travelled by coach to our destination,the driver was very cheerful and very helpful he only stopped to pick up passengers on the way there was no courtesy stop(so weak bladders beware) on arrival at the hotel we were met by someone from the hotel who informed us about buses and trams and that,we could use our bus passes on the trams which is great for those eligible.he also informed us our luggage would be taken from the coach and put outside our room,which was good as the lifts are quite small and stairs quite steep,in my opinion.The food was excellent with decent portions for inclusive deal,you could tell from the first plate what the quality of the food was going to be,the inclusive deal when we were there was drinks(branded not house)from 11-30am till midnight,wow.the staff and owner,were very helpful,and explained things fully,i would recommend the Elgin to anyone visiting Blackpool,it was a fantastic stay and we will be definately returning there in the future

Room Tip: do not think you would be disappointed by any room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tobythompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSeddon, Owner Manager at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Mr Thompson

Many thanks for your generous complements. Really pleased that you enjoyed our food, service and not least the all-inclusive free bar with premium range drinks! I was sorry to hear that passengers had to sit with their legs crossed on the journey down here. There generally is a courteously stop en route from Durham and we have now spoken to the coach company to ensure that a stop is included on all tours from your area in the future. Thanks for making us aware of this.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Elgin.

Kind Regards

Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wrexham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

I stayed here with my dad,sister & her fella, we had a lovely stay .... just wanted to get away for a few days.....Food was top class & so was the service , better than other hotels weve have stayed in. Entertainment was great, good variety and we all loved the bingo after dinner especially because we won a few times.... Rooms were nicely decorated and both rooms had a sea view would definintely go again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bronny1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSeddon, Owner Manager at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thanks Bronny – Really pleased that you enjoyed our food, hospitality and entertainment. It always helps the holiday coffers when you win at bingo once, let alone 3 times!
Best Wishes
Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

I stayed here with my mum and sister, It was brilliant. Food was top class , better than other hotels i have stayed in, Even did chips for my sister as she doesnt like other potato dishes.Entertainment was great, good variety and mum loved the bingo after dinner.
Room was quite recently decorated, It was a club class room, really nice but smaller than i expected seeing as they are meant to be bigger than other rooms but would definintely go again.

Room Tip: Maybe the only tip is book early then you have more choice, but it was very quiet at night , we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank June D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSeddon, Owner Manager at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thanks June. We really appreciate your feedback. Good to hear that everything was to your liking. With regards to your room, don’t be afraid to ask for a look around the hotel and select a room of your choice – you can then request this on a future stay. Quite a lot of people do this as our rooms are all quite unique. Good to know that Irish entertainment went down well and that the food tickled the taste buds.
Kind Regards and Best Wishes
Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chesterfield derbyshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

once again thanks to all the staff at the Elgin Hotel Blackpool for a fantastic weekend which I came with 14 others for the Grandnational. All of our party commented on how much they enjoyed their stay, the food was superb the rooms lovely and comfertable, and the staff were very welcoming. Jo who booked us in on arrival was very accomadating friendly smile and very helpful. The staff in the dining room worked very hard and nothing was too much trouble, and the lady with short hair behind the bar (sorry I cant remember your name) was lovely and extremely helpful. Everyone has asked me to organise this trip again for next year they enjoyed it so much even though none of us made our fortunes at the races it doesn,t matter. So Ill be ringing up at the end of august with the prices for next year. Thanks again to everyone at the Elgin TOP weekend !!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizzie1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSeddon, Owner Manager at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Hi Lizzie – thanks once again for bringing your lively group back to the Elgin – you always enhance the atmosphere at Grand National weekend! Thanks also for all your kind comments not least about all the members of the team – it really does make our job all the more rewarding.
We look forward to welcoming back in the not too distant future.
Kind Regards and Best Wishes to all the gang.
Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,979 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Big Blue Hotel
The Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,933 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lyndene Hotel
Lyndene Hotel
#24 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sheraton
Hotel Sheraton
#21 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#35 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elgin Hotel Blackpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elgin Hotel Blackpool

Property: Elgin Hotel Blackpool
Address: 36-42 Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9RW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#9 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Elgin Hotel Blackpool 2*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elgin Hotel (Large Hotel of the Year Finalist 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014 & 2015 - Lancashire Tourism Board) is an 89 bedroom hotel located on the cliffs on the exclusive Queen's Promenade, just one mile north of Blackpool Town Centre. All bedrooms are en-suite and we are proud to offer an extensive range of room type which range from Standard to Club Executive - these rooms even have TVs in the bathroom! In addition, we also have five accessible bedrooms. We offer a wide range of midweek and themed mini weekend breaks, including: • Elvis Tributes • Swinging 60s • Rod Stewart Tributes • Comedy & Cabaret nights • Turkey and Tinsel breaks • Illuminations breaks • And much more! With all this to choose from, you're sure to find something to suit your taste! Bingo and cabaret entertainment can be enjoyed every evening after Dinner in the hotel. Guests on midweek breaks also have the option to take advantage of our free excursions to various locations throughout the year! Return coach travel is available from a number of regions when booked with Elgin Tours. We take the stress out of travelling so that you can start your holiday the right way. Plus we're fully bonded with ABTA for extra piece of mind. Our philosophy at the hotel is very much focused on adding value to your stay. We strive to go the extra mile and our friendly staff are always willing to accommodate special requests. Our commitment to customer service is just one of the reasons why many guests choose to return! • Dinner, Bed and Breakfast as standard • Special discounts for children • WIFI available • Lift to all floors • Car park plus plenty of on-street parking without charges/restrictions • Fully licensed bars and lounges • Accessible rooms • Great transport links (bus and tram stops outside of the hotel) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Elgin Hotel Blackpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackpool Elgin Hotel
Elgin Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing