We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“top notch hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Elgin Hotel Blackpool
Ranked #8 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“top notch hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

spent monday to friday on an all inc break staff are very good make you feel at home nothing is to much trouble hotel is kept in very good order entertainment is great food is good all in all we thougherly enjoyed ourselves we will be back

Room Tip: 236 is a very good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSeddon, Owner Manager at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Hi Susan
Many thanks for your feedback – really pleased you enjoyed our all new, all inclusive holidays. We keep trying to improve our offerings and it’s great to hear all the positive comments.
Hopefully see you again soon.
Best Wishes
Nigel and Team Elgo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    181
    43
    9
    14
See reviews for
195
257
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cockermouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

my recently bereaved friend and i have just returned from the all inclusive 4 day break.i don`t know how you do it.my friend and her late husband visited many times but it was a first for me and rarely have i enjoyed myself more.everything and everyone was excellent,just the tonic my friend needed.we will be back kind regards to you all from Beryl and June

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beryl c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSeddon, Owner Manager at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Beryl and June
Many thanks for all your praise. It is good to know that you both enjoyed your all inclusive stay with us. We have some varied and interesting midweek breaks lined up for the Summer months with trips to Lancaster Canal and Barton Grange in April, Blackpool Tower or Zoo in May, and Salford Quays with the Lowry and Imperial War Museum in June. We take in the Lake Windermere with a cruise on the Lake in July and August, Browsholme Hall and Skipton in September and then Chester in October. This is as well as the great food and entertainment in the bar each evening.
Be sure to try one of these out on a future occasion. Many thanks for posting your comments.
Kind Regards
Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Another fantastic weekend at the Elgin hotel blackpool. Thanks to Nigel and all the staff, excellent
service and food as always. We had a lovely room spotless, and very comfortable. this was our
15th year, it gets better and better. Looking forward to next year

Christine C

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank christine1569139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSeddon, Owner Manager at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Cheers Christine – really please you enjoyed the weekend. My, how 15 years fly by. I’ll pass on all you kind comments to the team.
It’ll soon be January again!
Best Wishes
Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Over the weekend of 11 to 13 January 2013, 189 of us had a great weekend at the Elgin Hotel, Blackpool. I have arranged a weekend at the Elgin for the past 26 years, every 2nd weekend in January, 'my team' fill the hotel, and why would 189 people want to spend a weekend in January in Blackpool? The reason is because the staff of the Elgin Hotel make our stay so very nice. The hotel is warm, very clean and freindly. The food and service is always very good and enjoyable. The hotel owner and his staff make every guest feel very special, and they cannot do enough for you. During this recent stay at the Elgin, a couple were given a twin room, they requested a change of room with a double bed, and as the hotel rooms were full, the staff took the two twin beds out and replace them with a double bed, how many hotels would do that, they go that extra mile to please, and the do. Thank you Nigel and staff for making the 'Sir' Les weekend such a great success. The hotel may not have a fitness centre and swimming pool, but it has everything else to make your stay comfortable and very enjoyable.

Room Tip: For a 89 room hotel the Elgin offer a good selection of rooms, standard (I always have a standard ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RegularLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSeddon, Owner Manager at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Sir Les – you’re a leg-end! Thanks again not only for your kind comments but for all your hard work in organising this great weekend yet again.
I was somewhat amused by your tip on room type. I guess after a certain amount of liquid refreshment it’s hardly important what your room is supposed to look like!
Thanks again for making this great get-together happen.
It really is very much appreciated.
Best Wishes
Nigel and Team Elgo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selby
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Just returned from another fantastic weekend at the Elgin hotel blackpool.Thank you Nigel and all your wonderful staff for the excellent service, good quality food and friendliness-nothing too much trouble. roll on next year our 27th !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lesley a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSeddon, Owner Manager at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Lesley - Thanks ever so much for your kind comments - we thoroughly enjoyed the atmosphere and good company as well! How 26 years can fly by so quickly is beyond me. Have a great year and see you in January 2014.
Best Wishes
Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

For the 22nd year in a row we have had another fantastic weekend at The Elgin. Thanks to all the staff for all your help and great service. Can't wait for next year! The food, entertainment and quality of hotel continue to excel year on year. Especially nice to see Maureen again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSeddon, Owner Manager at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Hi Neil,
Many thanks for your kind comments not least in relation to Maureen and the team. Really pleased you enjoyed the weekend.
Best Wishes,
Nigel and Team Elgo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

This was our third time for the 60s weekend. We meet up with friends who also go each year. This time we feel was not has good as the previose times we have stayed so not up to our expectation. The swinging 60s entertainment on a Saturday night finished at 23.20. This has not happened before and it has put myself and party off from the swinging 60s again. We have also noticed that all the weekends have the same singers booked through out the year of 2013. We did not think the swinging 60s should stop swinging at 23.20 .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSeddon, Owner Manager at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Hi Pat,
I'm sorry our entertainment on your Swinging 60s weekeend did not live up to your expectations.
Your comment regards the finishing time on the Saturday evening is a fair one. As I understanding the artist on Saturday night did start earlier than usual and effectively finished early. It is certainly not our intention for acts to finish at this time - the norm would an 11.45 finish but a post midnight conclusion to the evening's entertianment is by no mean unusual.
I have discussed this with Debbie (our Bars Manager) and asked her to ensure that this does not happen again. Please be assured that we do have several new 60s artists lined up for you this season - not least Rob Bee who has just come back from the Cunard liners. Please feel free to ring myself or Debbie to check out which acts are on for the respective weekends before booking.
I do hope you'll return as I feel sure we can give you some new entertainment that might even exceed your expectations.
Many thanks for the feedback.
Kind Regards
Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#27 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,028 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Big Blue Hotel
The Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,973 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lyndene Hotel
Lyndene Hotel
#25 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,806 reviews
0.1 mi away
Doric Hotel
Doric Hotel
#11 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elgin Hotel Blackpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elgin Hotel Blackpool

Property: Elgin Hotel Blackpool
Address: 36-42 Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9RW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#9 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Elgin Hotel Blackpool 2*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elgin Hotel (Large Hotel of the Year Finalist 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014 & 2015 - Lancashire Tourism Board) is an 89 bedroom hotel located on the cliffs on the exclusive Queen's Promenade, just one mile north of Blackpool Town Centre. All bedrooms are en-suite and we are proud to offer an extensive range of room type which range from Standard to Club Executive - these rooms even have TVs in the bathroom! In addition, we also have five accessible bedrooms. We offer a wide range of midweek and themed mini weekend breaks, including: • Elvis Tributes • Swinging 60s • Rod Stewart Tributes • Comedy & Cabaret nights • Turkey and Tinsel breaks • Illuminations breaks • And much more! With all this to choose from, you're sure to find something to suit your taste! Bingo and cabaret entertainment can be enjoyed every evening after Dinner in the hotel. Guests on midweek breaks also have the option to take advantage of our free excursions to various locations throughout the year! Return coach travel is available from a number of regions when booked with Elgin Tours. We take the stress out of travelling so that you can start your holiday the right way. Plus we're fully bonded with ABTA for extra piece of mind. Our philosophy at the hotel is very much focused on adding value to your stay. We strive to go the extra mile and our friendly staff are always willing to accommodate special requests. Our commitment to customer service is just one of the reasons why many guests choose to return! • Dinner, Bed and Breakfast as standard • Special discounts for children • WIFI available • Lift to all floors • Car park plus plenty of on-street parking without charges/restrictions • Fully licensed bars and lounges • Accessible rooms • Great transport links (bus and tram stops outside of the hotel) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Elgin Hotel Blackpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackpool Elgin Hotel
Elgin Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing