We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEVER AGAIN”
Review of Rockcliffe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rockcliffe Hotel
Ranked #209 of 856 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
birmingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“NEVER AGAIN”
Reviewed October 10, 2010

We were accused of using drugs and the night before we left my partner asked how was we to get my wheel chair out cause there were so many cars and the owner said he would help my partner over the wall with it we do not do drugs i have enough medication to take for my medical problems i go into hospital next wednesday i just wanted a break they were really nice when we first got there i was so upset on the friday night i cried cause i wanted to come home

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank tina075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fyn0tf1, Owner at Rockcliffe Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2011
Please Note, We do not accuse any of our guests of taking drugs, unless we have sufficient evidence. A member of staff, who was cleaning your room, whilst you were both in the room, brought it to our attention. Without going into too much detail, there was a genuine reason for suspicion.
As for the wheelchair and parked cars, we always leave enough room for access for prams, suitcases etc. If you were Struggling, I did offer my services as you suggested to carry the wheelchair from the Hotel to the footpath.
Your stay was for 5 nights, the incident of drugs however happened on the morning of your second day, and nothing more was said about it, I am confused that you say you cried on the night before departing from the hotel?
We were not very pleased to find out after you left that whilst you were both standing at our Hotel front door smoking and drinking Tea, you were both telling potential guests not to stay at our hotel. This is a very unfair comment, because apart from the two incidents you mentioned in your review we were excellent hosts on your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    40
    15
    6
    16
See reviews for
81
88
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2010

This was our first time and all being well the first of many times.
We arrived and our first thoughts were a bit small from the outside but let me tell you never judge a book by it's cover !! Was brilliant from start to finish the owners Peter and Fiona made us feel welcome from the very start then we met their staff Deano & Julie who also coudn't do enough for you.
Most of the time we made our own room up but still everyday it was checked and hoovered if required, clean towels whenever was need you could not fault the whole experience apart from the weather which no one had control ever.
Many thanks again HOPE TO SEE YOU AGAIN SOON !!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisandSteve30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fyn0tf1, Owner at Rockcliffe Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2010
Hi Chris and Steve. Nice comments thanks. Yes we do kind of look small from the outside, but when you get inside we are like Dr Whos Tardis. Also we all have BIG hearts.
We know you both love reading our Managers comments on TripAdvisor, it was one of the reasons you both booked with us. Sorry for the delay in writing this, we have been so busy throughout October. We are now looking forward to a well earned rest at the end of the season.
We really HOPE TO SEE YOU BOTH AGAIN SOON ALSO.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2010

Warm and friendly hosts, made our stay enjoyable, rooms were clean and the breakfast - fab.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willyharris1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fyn0tf1, Owner at Rockcliffe Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2010
Hi WillyHarris1, thanks for your straight to the point comment, yes we are friendly, and we work very hard to keep our rooms at a high clean standard, it is not easy, and when you get commnets like this it makes it all worthwile.
We really hope the next time you are in Blackpool that you will choose us again. Best regards Fiona & Pete (the fab2)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevenage
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2010

Please be aware when booking this hotel there are few things that they do not tell you on there website.
they say parking is on a first come first served basis which is not true we were parked at the front of the hotel with enough space behind us to park another car but were requested to put our car to the rear of the building. we were also asked to leave our keys at the hotel in case they need to move your car, if you don't leave your key and they need to move your car they will charge you £40.00 for the privilage. When we took ocupancy of our room we could not find the remote for the tv it had fallen behind a cabinet so the room had not been checked prior to our arrival. Please do ask for extra condiments as they will charge you 50p for six pots of milk, please do not ask for a cup of tea in the bar area they do not suppl thaty either.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chelseashedblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fyn0tf1, Owner at Rockcliffe Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2010
Parking is a first come first served basis, and we try to get 6 cars on the front of the hotel and 1 car at the rear of the hotel. The reason why your car was moved to the rear is because you had a very large vehicle, which if we left it on the front would of made us unable to park 6 on the front.
But we did allow you to park on the hotel carpark at the rear, and therefore we did supply you with free parking as promised.

We always request you leave your car keys with us in case we need to let someone out in an emergency, and this has happened on numurous occasions. We do NOT charge £40 if you refuse to give us your car keys and we have to move it. If you refuse to hand in your car keys, we just refuse to allow you to park your car on our car park and would recommend you park elsewhere. It's as simple as that.

Remote controls do go missing on numerous occasions, but after the chamber staff have completed a room, a member of staff ALWAYS checks the room again before arrival, but there are so many things to check, a remote control could easily be missed, when you reported it missing we resolved the matter straight away. However we also have many spares if required.

All bedrooms get a tidy everyday, Coffee, Tea, Sugar, milk are topped up daily. If you require further items we charge 50p. The tea coffee facilities in the rooms are a complementary service, and not to be used as a never ending FREE supply.

We do supply tea and coffee in the bar/sunlounge area throughout the day from 10:00 to
18:00. Your request was not within those hours. However we did say you were welcome to bring your own supply from your room into the bar area for FREE.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow in furness
1 review
Reviewed September 9, 2010

Me and my husband got a seaview room for our honeymoon and by god we couldnt have picked a better hotel infact while we were there we booked to take the family back at new year.
The rooms were spotless and you couldn't ask for nice owners or staff. Everything we wanted or needed they were happy to accomodate anything we asked for. Also another bonus of this hotel is you are right in the center of everything so you can walk everywhere.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsboyle87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 30, 2010

i went there with my son 21 daughter 24 &granddaughter 4yr and we all enjoyed being there been going for 5 years love the karaookie the hotel clean they made us welcomed always made time to talk to us and joined in the karraookie has well the breckfast realy nice worth getting up for going back soon

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindahodgson190736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simoncbradley
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2010

Having now stayed at the Rockliffe a couple of times, I cannot fault it. Management very friendly and cannot do enough to help, breakfast excellent, rooms clean and spacious, beds comfortable.

In a nice, quiet location just past the north pier, but simple to get a tram to the busy south end, or even walk it in 30-40 minutes as I did one day.

All in all, I cannot think of any reason to stay anywhere else when visiting the town, and will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simoncbradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#34 of 70 in Blackpool
1,007 reviews
0.0 mi away
Parisienne Hotel
Parisienne Hotel
#64 of 70 in Blackpool
657 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
#37 of 70 in Blackpool
1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#13 of 70 in Blackpool
744 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stretton Hotel
Stretton Hotel
#39 of 70 in Blackpool
34 reviews
1.1 mi away
Blenheim Mount Hotel
Blenheim Mount Hotel
#232 of 856 in Blackpool
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockcliffe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockcliffe Hotel

Property: Rockcliffe Hotel
Address: 248 Promenade, Blackpool FY1 1RZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #209 of 856 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rockcliffe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2011 Awarded Top of the VISIT BRITAIN 3* guest accommodation rating system for EXCELLENCE in Cleanliness, Hospitality & Food. We are a private licensed hotel, situated in a prime location on Blackpool North Promenade, overlooking the Irish Sea. The hotel is situated just a few minutes walk away from the Blackpool Tower, Winter Gardens, theaters and shopping center. All bedrooms en-suite, many with Sea View & also Luxury Sea View room available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Rockcliffe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing