We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad but wouldn't return!!”
Review of Rockcliffe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rockcliffe Hotel
Ranked #196 of 859 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not bad but wouldn't return!!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Booked in for weekend illuminations break, with my partner & son. Not a bad stay, but wouldn't return as this attracts same loyal customers each year & they all enjoy a repetitive sing song on the karaoke. Just not my cup of tea sorry!! Hotel fairly clean & staff are pleasant. Location towards the end of the main strip so a good walk to central pier. Don't let my review put you off as this was just my opinion.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank clairek28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    41
    15
    6
    16
See reviews for
80
90
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cambridgeshire
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2013

nice greeting ,pleasant hotel and nice room with nice view of sea .All staff were pleasant and friendly ,we enjoyed our morning breakfast ,our stay was very enjoyable one,overall the hotel was clean and tidy was just what we expected from reveiws read, and we would recommend this hotel as we would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2013

As you can see, we enjoyed our stay here very much. We had a mixed bag of weather so it wasn't that that makes our review a good one. Just 10 mins to the Tower and shops, very pleasant along the prom. Lots more to see on the prom too!

Our room ( number 6) had a big bay window with seats and a table in it so that we could see the sea clearly and do a lot of people watching!

The owners and staff are great, nothing too much trouble. We will be visiting them again, I am sure.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view with bay window! Great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, WA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Seven of us (4 adults & 3 kids) stayed here for 4 nights during July. The place was clean and serviced each day. The breakfast was very good and plentiful. In B&B's the hosts either make your stay pleasurable or unpleasant. In Pete & Fiona's case it was the latter. No nice greeting on arrival, it was all business, Bill to be settled on arrival, not shown to our rooms, no offer of assistance with luggage. My wife and i had a "Luxury Sea View Room" and the others were in a family room. As the rooms were very hot we asked for a fan for the family room "we don't put fans in the back rooms" was Pete's response and that was that (we gave them ours). On the first evening we were the only people who used the bar. Again no pleasantries from our hosts, we had to ring a bell to get served. All the soft drinks and mixers were warm, when you asked for ice you would think you were asking for gold as it was in such short supply and it ran out very early. We utilised the hotel next door (Tiffany's) each night after that. On the plus side, the rooms were made up each day and fresh towels if you required them. The downside of this was, whoever made up the room, shut the windows almost closed while we were out during the day. Parking is very limited and you had to hand over your keys on arrival and not request them back until after breakfast. Sleep quality was very poor due to the bed rooms not cooling down even in the evening

Room Tip: Book another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank xtrailPerth_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fyn0tf1, Owner at Rockcliffe Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
We are very shocked and disappointed by this review.

Fiona and myself distinctively remember speaking to you all on your arrival for quite some time. How else would we have known from which part of Australia you were from and how long you have lived there from emigrating, also where you had been before you visited Blackpool, and what you were going to do whilst you were here, and where you were going too once you left Blackpool?

We supply fans for all Sea View rooms including Family Sea View, as they get the hottest in the evening, as the Sun is at the front of the hotel in the afternoon and evenings.

I have no more to say about this review, only please anyone reading it, read between the lines.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the rockcliffe hotel from July 23rd until July 26th.upon arrival at the hotel there was no parking spaces at the hotel they have six but all the hotels in this area have the same problem and it wasnt a problem to us as there was a carpark 100 yards down the road and the car was safe there for our entire stay (£9 for three days parking)the owner of the hotel didn't really give a great welcome like I have experienced at many other establishments there was no how was your journey how are you etc, we were brought into the bar area where we were asked straight away if we would like to settle the bill witch I politely declined as we hadn't even seen the room at this point the owner seemed happy enough with this.we wash oven the key to room 9 and we went to find it, we found that our room was ver clean and tidy the bathroom was very small but serviceable. There was a hair drier in the room if you wanted it. The room was fine for myself and my partner and our three year old child... And we could see the top half of the tower from our window.the bed was very hard and took some getting use to but it's about personal preference on our last day we stripped the beds before leaving for the room maid and the mattress said extra firm also the mattress had no fire safety labels all new ones must come with these labels so its obviously a very old mattress.in this hotel the dining room is in the basement down a flight of stairs there's stairs everywhere in this hotel on our first morning we found the waitress to be quite rude and obnoxious. We entered the room and was greeted by HOW MANY I was expecting a good morning how did you sleep but didn't get this and frankly as first impressions count for a lot we was very disappointed by the breakfast experience on the first morning but it was a little better the next two mornings, the food at breakfast was good just the service was poor.our room was cleaned daily and we were happy about that.takeaways are not allowed in rooms witch doesn't bother us but guests are welcome to eat them in the sun room/ lounge that overlooks the sea and just as a note if you park on the hotels property you have to hand your car keys in I was not happy with this idea but didn't park there anyway.theres a note on the bar saying do not ask for car keys until after breakfast this would have really annoyed us.the location of the hotel is very good right on the prom very close to the town and attractions easy flat walk to the town away from the run down area and worse looking places near the pleasure beach.the hotel is surrounded by busy roads to the front back and side and people in the street were noisey late into the night and there was delivery lorries and coaches passing by early in the morning that sometimes woke us up.to sum up a good value hotel much cheaper than some others near by rooms were good for the money we payed breakfast was good location was good but friendliness was a little lacking, lots of stairs everywhere in hotel so prob not for disabled or very elderly good for family's though.and finally a note about blackpool in general the trams are amazingly cheap and convienient transport and if you go to the attractions get your tickets from tourist information they are half the price you pay on the door at the attractions.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sparkymarky84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fyn0tf1, Owner at Rockcliffe Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for adding this review, pleased that overall you all enjoyed your stay with us in one of our family rooms.

Sorry that you felt you had not experienced a great welcome on arrival, we were probably more occupied and concerned in making sure you was able to park by giving you instructions of the location of the car park, the pricing for 3 nights, and making sure you unloaded your luggage from the car before you moved it to the car park.
I always ask arrival guests about the experience of their journey, how long it took, and had they anything planned to do during their stay in Blackpool, sorry if you did not! I cannot remember the situation of your arrival. Everyone is given the option of being able to check the room first before payment.

However, we really never got to meet you all, other than arrival, departure and Breakfast, as you were never at the Bar or public lounge area. Then you would have had a taste of the hospitality we can offer.

It was a very busy July midweek during your stay and breakfast was served from 08:45 to 09:30, everyone seemed to of arrived down at 08:45. The seating and table arrangement at breakfast is well planned in advance, so as to make sure everyone with different size parties has a table, this is why we were asking “How many” as soon as you came down. I know that our breakfast staff are trained to be polite and courteous, and I am sure this would have been followed by “Good Morning, did you sleep well”

We take car keys, simply to allow guests to leave in an emergency, which has happened on many occasions. You would have been less pleased if you would have been one of those who needed to leave and we had no car keys to let you out.
The reason for the note on the bar with reference to car keys till after breakfast times, is to allow us to give the same efficient service to Breakfast guests as you received without the delays in dealing with car keys and moving of cars if required during prepping and serving of breakfast.

Yes, we do have a lot of stairs that is why we are one of the few accommodations in Blackpool who allow you to choose your room on which floor level whist booking and confirm your room number and location on confirmation.

All our mattresses are changed on a regular basis, and to comply with Fire Regulations are Fire resistant.

Overall it does seem you all enjoyed your stay with us, sorry if our service was not to your expectations. However many of your comments seemed not relevant to your experience of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland uk
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Nice wee place. Close to the north pier. Tram stop just across the road. Nice room. Good breakfast. Clean towels every day. The owners were very nice. My husband left his sunglasses and the owner kindly posted them to him. Would stay here again

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrissyScotlandUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fyn0tf1, Owner at Rockcliffe Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for that very nice review of the Rockcliffe, it was a pleasure being of service to you all, and pleased you enjoyed your stay. Look forward to your next stay with us. Fiona, Pete & Staff x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Rockcliff last weekend and we had a wonderful time! Fiona and Pete are very friendly and helpful people. The breakfast was cooked to perfection! The bar and sitting area was really comfy. The other guest had a ball on the karaoke and we had fun watching :) the location was perfect for us to. We can not wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunseaandsandx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fyn0tf1, Owner at Rockcliffe Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for this marvellous review of the Rockcliffe, We are so pleased you found your stay comfortable and enjoyable, we really look forward to your next stay with us. Fiona & Pete & Staff x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.0 mi away
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
1,540 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#38 of 73 in Blackpool
499 reviews
0.0 mi away
St James Hotel Blackpool
St James Hotel Blackpool
#333 of 859 in Blackpool
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Blencarn Hotel
Blencarn Hotel
#213 of 859 in Blackpool
210 reviews
0.1 mi away
Habberly House Hotel
Habberly House Hotel
#105 of 859 in Blackpool
142 reviews
2.5 mi away
Staymor Hotel
Staymor Hotel
#226 of 859 in Blackpool
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockcliffe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockcliffe Hotel

Property: Rockcliffe Hotel
Address: 248 Promenade, Blackpool FY1 1RZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #196 of 859 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rockcliffe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2011 Awarded Top of the VISIT BRITAIN 3* guest accommodation rating system for EXCELLENCE in Cleanliness, Hospitality & Food. We are a private licensed hotel, situated in a prime location on Blackpool North Promenade, overlooking the Irish Sea. The hotel is situated just a few minutes walk away from the Blackpool Tower, Winter Gardens, theaters and shopping center. All bedrooms en-suite, many with Sea View & also Luxury Sea View room available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Rockcliffe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing