We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Rockcliffe Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rockcliffe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rockcliffe Hotel
Ranked #240 of 911 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Rockcliffe Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We found this Hotel really good. The bedroom was very comfortable and the Hotel was spotless. Breakfast was everything you could wish for. The owners couldn't do any more for you. They were very friendly and we were looked after very well. We would not hesitate to stay there again. Thanks for giving us a good holiday.

Room Tip: The website shows the rooms available, so you can choose what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggie_montgomerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fyn0tf1, Owner at Rockcliffe Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and had a great holiday. Thankyou for your nice comments. We look forward to seeing you both again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    39
    13
    6
    16
See reviews for
79
84
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Just came home from a three day break at this hotel and can't put a fault to it. We were welcomed when we arrived by a lady who asked us if we would like any help getting our luggage to our room, which we declined and then she showed us threw to a bar area to check in - after which we were given directions to our room, told which keys to use for each door & also that if we needed anything throughout the day there were bells under the bar counter to get a member of staffs attention. When arriving in our hotel room, everything was perfectly clean and the towels were nicely shaped into sea shells positioned on the bed. Everything is provided for you such as a hair dryer, shampoo, cotton wool pads ect. We had a side view room, you could hear no noise from outside unless the window was open and that was the bare minimum you'd expect. The breakfast was very nice and excellent portions considering it comes included with the hotel room, and they always ask you wether you want more aswell! When leaving the lady took our keys from us and had a very nice conversation and told us to have a safe journey home! Fantastic hotel with welcoming staff that's a very good price considering its so near to the sea and town centre and everything that's included with it.. Would definitely stay there again if we were up there. Thank you :)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ejheath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fyn0tf1, Owner at Rockcliffe Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Many thanks for this glowing review of the Rockcliffe, we also had your parents with us on the week before, hope they liked their Sea View room? We know you wanted a chilling time in Blackpool to take a well earned break from work, and talking to you both on your departure, you said it turned out to be exactly as you wanted. Pleased you liked all the little extra's in the bedroom, and enjoyed your breakfast in the mornings. We hope to see you and your family again sometime soon. Fiona, Pete & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

We have stayed at the Rockcliffe Hotel on a number of occasions, the proprietors are very friendly and cannot do enough to make you feel welcome. We have on all occasions had a beautiful room with a Sea View. I would also recommend the breakfast here it is great, very well cooked and you get plenty and lots of choices. we will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fyn0tf1, Owner at Rockcliffe Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Hi Carole, We always look forward to your stay with us. Many thanks for writing this review. We can't wait to see you both again. Pleased you always enjoy your Sea View rooms, the view is lovely from these rooms, and well worth the upgrade. see you soon Fiona, Pete & Staff xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for the Scottish weekend 21-24 sept 2012. We thought the hotel to be very clean but on arrival there was no welcome from the owners at all...We were not shown to our rooms which in all fairness we're not children so we found them ourselves. The room was quite small but ok, we had a sea view which I enjoyed for £210 for the wkend which in retrospect was a bit OTT, the bathroom was very tight unless you are are a size 8/10 then your fine but it was adequate In its own right.
My gripe with this hotel is the owners , they were not hospitable in any way. We were told there was karaoke and there wasn't, the bar was mostly unmanned throughout our stay and was very poorly stocked as there was only one choice of bottled beer i.e.; Stella and the TV was never put on for guests in the bar. There was the option of the pool table which was far from where you would socialise i.e.; the bar, it was away down in a secluded area next to the dining room. There was no chalk for the cues...we did ask for this on the Friday but to no avail. Our TV in our room buzzed as well so it was annoying to watch.
We believe, as a large group, that our rooms were being checked every time we left the hotel. We came to this realisation after a small incident with one of our party, it was then we realised that the owners were all about the money and not the hospitality as we received none whatsoever.
As a large party of 12 people, we spent a large sum of money via the rooms/stay and at the bar, for one of our party to be accused of ruining the day of the female owner of the hotel on a subject that had nothing to do with them
..but they failed to realise that they themselves had ruined our partys' weekend.

Would NEVER recommend this "up for debate for being a 3 star hotel" to anyone....

P.s...the poor girls who work there were really nice

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fyn0tf1, Owner at Rockcliffe Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
This is all to do with some of your group breaking the hotel rules over the weekend during your stay.

You all said the rooms were very clean and nice when you arrived, it was a shame some of your party did not keep it this way, as some were in a very poor state when the cleaning staff attempted to do a tidy on the room the next day, and brought it to our attention, tanning powder was all over the bedding and walls, and you could not see the beds or carpet for clutter. We mentioned this to a member of your party.

To follow this the next day, we had a perfectly, fairly new bedroom carpet burnt with an iron. When we mentioned this to yourself, it was denied, and you refused to pay for the damage. This was your responsibility as you took the booking with your details for this room. We now have to pay in excess of £200 to replace this carpet, so your stay of £210, is zero profit to the hotel. Also on checking this room after departure, it was obvious someone had been smoking in this non-smoking room, it smelt of smoke, there were cigarette stubs in beer cans, and cigarette stubs and ash on the window ledge outside the window. The No Smoking sign was pulled down off the wall and put into the bedside table drawer. There was another room where take-away food had been placed in the drawer underneath the bed. There did not seem to be any respect for our hotel what so ever.

The Pool table as you say is situated off the dining room; we have no objections to drinks being taken to the games room, where you are free to socialise. We keep the chalk for the pool table behind the bar. We cannot remember you asking for it, as we would of gladly handed it out, as we always do when asked for.

We knew nothing of your television buzzing, as it was never brought to our attention. We could of easily done something about it, if we knew there was a problem.

We always do Karaoke on a weekend if there is sufficient demand, on the Friday and Saturday night your group were never in the Hotel in the evening, even though we did tell you we would gladly do it. On the Friday night, we set-up the Karaoke ready, but you all went out and never came back. The weekend following we ran the Karaoke on the Friday and Saturday night, and everyone had a great time.

Our bar is very well stocked and manned for the size of hotel; we have 2 different draught beers and a draught Cider, and all types of spirits and soft drinks. There is never much demand for bottled beers, so we stock Stella only, as they tend to go out of date if we stock too many different brands.

We have a television in the bar area, it can be turned on any time by Guests, or if we are asked we will turn it on and select the channel for you. I cannot remember once being asked by your group to switch it on?

On Sunday, it was obvious you all had been drinking all afternoon, somewhere in Blackpool, and were starting to get noisy and rowdy when you arrived back at our Hotel at around 7:30pm. The hotel is for family and couples only, we have no objection to people having fun, but there is a limit to how far this is taken when there were children around in the Sun Lounge on that Sunday evening. Therefore we made the decision not to run the Karaoke on Sunday, as it possibly would of got out of control. And as it turned out, it was the correct decision as some of our other guests described some of your party’s behaviour the next day. From behind the bar you cannot see everything, but if we had, or was told about it by other guests at the time, we would of done something about it, there and then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Just got back from a wonderful stay at the Rockcliffe Hotel.Hospitality was first class all the way!I cannot praise Pete and Fiona enough for their hard work in all aspects, along with friendly and helpful staff.
I stayed in room no8, a comfortable clean and quiet rear room with everything i needed,television, built in radio, wi-fi,complementary coffee, tea and biscuits lovely hot shower and comfortable double bed, a welcome pack with all the information needed for your stay.The room was cleaned and freshened up every day!
Now for breakfast, well, this was a hearty one with a wide choice of full English or many other options, along with cereal, fruit juice and copious amounts of coffee and tea, as much as you can drink !This will set you up for the day !
Arriving back at the Hotel in the evening was great as the guests were treated to Karaoke in the well stocked bar, you can relax in the sun lounge which is adjacent with a panoramic view of the sea along with the sunset ! ,On quieter nights a wide screen television in the bar area is constantly on.All in all, who could ask for anything more?
A big thankyou Pete and Fiona xxxxx I'm coming back !!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fyn0tf1, Owner at Rockcliffe Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thanks Deane for taking the time to write this lovely review of the Rockcliffe. We enjoyed having you around on the days before your family joined you at the Rockcliffe, you have a lovely family, yourself and Scott seemed to enjoy the Karaoke nights at the weekend. We are pleased you liked your room and the breakfast. The wide screen television in the bar area is very popular with all our guests. We look forward to meeting you and your family at our hotel once again in the not too distant future. Pete, Fiona & Staff xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

My wife and i stayed here for a week for our honeymoon. On arriving we were made very welcome, helped with our luggage and taken to our room which had a lovely sea view. The hotel was very clean and nothing was too much trouble. There was a lovely breakfast each day with plenty of choice. Even rosanne the waitress made us feel welcome. We had a great time on karaoke friday night. We shall certainly be staying here again and would recommend it to anyone.
Ninna and brian. from Sheffield.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fyn0tf1, Owner at Rockcliffe Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Congratulations to you both Brian & Ninna on your marriage togeather. We were honoured that you chose the Rockcliffe for your Honeymoon, and really pleased you both enjoyed your memorable stay with us. We enjoyed your company when we sat and had a chat in the evenings. Thankyou for your part in the Karaoke evenings, you are a brilliant singer Ninna. We look forward to seeing you both again soon. Fiona, Pete & Roseann xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

am just back from holiday at the ROCKCLIFFE HOTEL my first and last time
Ihave been to many hotels in blackpool but never been made to feel most unwelcome
we had a party of 12 and not one of olur party could agree that we received a welcome or any one took us to our room and as far as car parking our friends had to pay £ 14 each for 2 ngts
we had a small room at a cost of £ 180 for 3 ngts it was tahat small we could only get changed one at a time
as far as the bar and entertainment it never opend till 11 am and closed 11.30pm and we where told karaoke was not on come sunday but i have just read a report from another guest saying it was a good singsong wae karaeoke on sunday
totaly ruined my stay and i wont be back dont think the scootish are welcome

Room Tip: if you want some spce to move and watch tv as its situated above bed book in to the travellodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frank w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fyn0tf1, Owner at Rockcliffe Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
You came as a party of 12, Adult family and couples group from Scotland.
We always make our guests feel welcome when they arrive at the Rockcliffe Hotel.
In your situation you all arrived at different times in the afternoon, when you arrived you were busy greeting your other party members and buying drinks from the bar, we had no opportunity to show you too your rooms and help you with your luggage. However we did introduce ourselves to you, as you were all buying drinks at the bar throughout the afternoon. Your friends, who didn’t manage to park on our car park, should of come to the hotel first and ask us where to park, if they had, we could of advised them of cheaper and nearer car parks available in Blackpool.

Your room was a standard double sized En-suite room, there would have been ample room to both get changed at the same time. However you did say the rooms were very clean and nice when you arrived. Many a couple have been in this room over the years, and have found the room adequate. £180 for a 3-night stay over a weekend for 2 people in a Double En-suite room with breakfast during the Illuminations is a reasonable price for a Sea front promenade, 3 star rated Hotel, close to town and all amenities.

The bar is open from 11am, which is very early for a hotel of this size, we do not close at 11:30pm on weekends, only if it is empty, and no one had been in for ages. Your party were never back till the small hours of the morning.

You mentioned Karaoke on Friday, and we said we would start it at 9pm, however you all went out at 8pm and never returned all evening. And Saturday night, you were again out all evening.

On Sunday, your last night, you asked us again about Karaoke, but we felt it inappropriate to run entertainment, because of a few situations, which happened with some of your party over the weekend. I don’t want to be specific in this review. But it left an atmosphere, and made it very difficult for us to entertain your group.

We have had many Scottish guests staying at our hotel over the years, and many have returned to us each year, time and time again, and some have become really good friends. We certainly do welcome the Scottish.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
#35 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
0.0 mi away
St James Hotel Blackpool
St James Hotel Blackpool
#354 of 911 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Beaucliffe
The Beaucliffe
#12 of 911 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Blenheim Mount Hotel
Blenheim Mount Hotel
#265 of 911 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bromley
The Bromley
#86 of 911 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blencarn Hotel
Blencarn Hotel
#192 of 911 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockcliffe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockcliffe Hotel

Property: Rockcliffe Hotel
Address: 248 Promenade, Blackpool FY1 1RZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #240 of 911 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rockcliffe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2011 Awarded Top of the VISIT BRITAIN 3* guest accommodation rating system for EXCELLENCE in Cleanliness, Hospitality & Food. We are a private licensed hotel, situated in a prime location on Blackpool North Promenade, overlooking the Irish Sea. The hotel is situated just a few minutes walk away from the Blackpool Tower, Winter Gardens, theaters and shopping center. All bedrooms en-suite, many with Sea View & also Luxury Sea View room available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rockcliffe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing