We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for.”
Review of La Tour

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Tour
Ranked #241 of 859 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I didn't pay much for this weekend trip and got what I was expecting. The breakfast was good and the evening meal was ok (only warm), we were not expecting 5 star food here and we got a fair meal for the price we paid, cheap, cheap.
The room however was not at all good, when we arrived the rooms were not ready so we left our bags and went out. Clean towels and beds made when we returned but the cover on my bed already had a stain in it, oh well, cheap, cheap, what more was I expecting?? Saturday, had a shower with the mold on the walls and left the towels on the floor so they could be changed. We went out after breakfast and came back about 4.30 to find the towels were still on the floor, bed not made and bin still full, Sunday I used the towel I had with me and went down for breakfast and went out, came back to find nothing again had been done in the room and this was all weekend. If you dared to comment the look you get. My god!!
We got collected at 14.00 hrs on Monday and the Harry Shaw driver (she was just rude) told us not to use the toilet, eat hot food or buy hot drinks at the one and only stop of 10 min we had. It took us 7 hours to get home. I can not say it enough, cheap, cheap and total rubbish.

It does not cost much to clean a room!! I would not go back to this hotel and Harry Shaw does not have any standards any more. Why would they think this hotel was good for people, our dog kennel is cleaner. Bad on you Harry Shaw!!

Room Tip: Room 114 is at the front of the hotel and you hear everything going on all night, people who smoke d...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaggieMay059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (358)
There are newer reviews for La Tour
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

270 - 276 of 358 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2013

Firstly , Let me say that if I haven't got anything good to say then I won't say anything at all so here are the good bits . The location is very good , the breakfast is OK and our waiter was very helpful and thats it . Having just returned from a week at La Tour Hotel I wish that I had read the following ;- For many many many valid reasons don't go here . Go to see Margaret in the Fairview across the road , it's much cheaper , or stay next door at the Georgian Hollies which is the same price only better , or pay the extra for The Ruskin or The Oak Lea ( again across the road ) only please - DON'T GO HERE !!!!!!!!! .

Room Tip: Use Trip Advisor to help plan your holiday , it works .
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

The coach arrived in the afternoon. Wehad a free cup of tea
Went to our room where we used the facility. The toilet was not secured to the floor and you could not flush the toilet
The food was excellent nothing to complain about .When we returned to hotel I asked for more milk it cost me one pound for six cartoons oof milk.
Later on the landlady told us the hotel eas in receivership and thdy go around hotels to keep them open.
The entertain was a young boy who was a friend of a friend and games that none of us had seen.If I were you DON'T GO THERE.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank shedevil666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
latourhotel, Public Relations Manager at La Tour, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

tea and coffee are complimentary on arrival day there are ten tea bags ten milk and the same in coffee and sugar as you said you used all these in a very short time and as it says on our notice these can be purchased from reception if needed but you don't have to. the young boy as you sy is actually 35 years of age and has been an entertainer for well over fifteen years and has worked at the hotel for many years. the games we played are called bingo hoy and heads or tails we are glad you enjoyed your food ect but felt that we needed to explain the act is a professional act and certainly not a friend of a friend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

just returned with party of 6 at la tour hotel , and cant make sense of some reviews. as hotel and service was brill.great value for money , food great ,hot and plenty of choices , with amazing eat all you wont buffet breakfast .that sets you up for the day . location brill near tower ,shows , and new look promenade. room service very efficient , beds made and towels changed when needed thanks jan xx .serving staff super efficient polite and friendly , thanks vicky,dan, and backroom staff. a big thanks too bill and his family for all there help , witch made us feel welcome , just like home .this hotel does what it say on the tin , warm friendly and made more than welcome. would defo recommend , and we will return soon . thank again to bill and staff , from the penny arcade gang lol

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank duncanwel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
latourhotel, General Manager at La Tour, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

thanks guys so glad you enjoyed your stay with us look forward to seeing you again and jan says hello look forward to seeing you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

just returned from a weekend at the La Tour...very welcoming,very helpful, very friendly staff and management, the food was excellent quality for a small hotel and the serving staff super efficient, in central position right by the Tower ( good view of it out of our room window ) would defo stay there again as its very good value for the very reasonable rate they charge.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clare s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

The Food was unedible we had to eat out it was so bad. The advertised the Sunday dinner as a traditional Sunday Dinner. This was very dissapointing it was two thing slices of Pork, one frozen stuffing ball and 3 small frozen roast potatoes carrots which tasted off and the soup was terrible. Only opened the bar for one night during the whole week we where there.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
latourhotel, General Manager at La Tour, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

yet again another fake review purely put on here in spite because we would not break the law we do not advertise a Sunday lunch as with all other previous lies proof from suppliers can be supplied fresh veg and potatoes are delivered everyday you didn't stop for a week even through it felt like it to all our staff a full breakdown via computer print outs can confirm bar was open I think you meant to say thin but your spelling is so poor it says thing in fact there are four slices of pork homemade stuffing roast meat gravy with cauliflower and green beans no carrots are served with pork your error again or just another lie. This is now showing how childish this is becoming every time someone puts on a good review your group put on a bad one. there is also a pattern to all your reviews you complain about everything you have never put on one good review for anywhere you have been

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Just returned with a party of 35 cannot understand all the strange remarks. The food we received was excellent and the management were very welcoming and would bend over backwards to help us. All coach party would be happy to recommend this hotel to anyone.

Many thanks to bill and staff for very enjoyable trip.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.9 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#59 of 73 in Blackpool
1,076 reviews
2.0 mi away
Silversands Hotel
Silversands Hotel
#42 of 73 in Blackpool
222 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#16 of 73 in Blackpool
401 reviews
1.3 mi away
New Hacketts Hotel
New Hacketts Hotel
#58 of 73 in Blackpool
588 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Clarendon Showtel
The Clarendon Showtel
#51 of 73 in Blackpool
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Tour

Address: 92-94 Albert Road, Blackpool FY1 4PR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #241 of 859 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: $64 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central location close to shops, entertainment, transport centres and more, La Tour has friendly service, comfortable homely rooms and excellent food. Regular cabaret in season in the bar lounge; singles, doubles, twins and triples available. All en-suite rooms (toilet and shower only, no baths), six rooms on ground floor, small number of wheelchair accessible rooms. Lift to all floors. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Tour Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing