We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classic hotel, good food, comfortable.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Ranked #36 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Hullbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Classic hotel, good food, comfortable.”
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

A classic hotel but the decoration is a little tired, but it has character. We had a room overlooking the sea. Very competitive prices. Food good, breakfast and dinner, including a choice of Indian food. Staff helpful. Car park in front of hotel. Trams pass the hotel with a stop opposite. A stroll along the front to the tower takes about 15 mins. Would stay again, enjoyed our one night stay.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RogerToad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshGaur, Manager at Best Western Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
ear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking time out from your busy schedule to post your feedback about your experience at the BEST WESTERN CARLTON HOTEL.

It was indeed our pleasure to have you stay with us and to be of service to you. I am glad that you enjoyed the location, character of the room, food and service provided by my dedicated team members.

I would like to take this opportunity to assure you that plans are in place to refurbish our hotel next year.

I would love to have the pleasure of seeing you as a regular guest and I am looking forward to welcoming you again soon!

Regards

Ash Gaur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    410
    213
    77
    45
See reviews for
152
492
75
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This hotel is a little bit worn around the edges but our price reflected this. It was cleaner than most hotels I have stayed in and the staff were excellent. I would happily stay there again. The lady who checked us in and out was lovely and has a lot of local knowledge which we found really useful.

Room Tip: We booked a twin room which was on the side of the building and a bit dark but we didn't spend m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsLB53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshGaur, Manager at Best Western Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking time out from your busy schedule to post your feedback about your experience at the BEST WESTERN CARLTON HOTEL.

It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us and to be of service to you. I am happy to note that we were able to meet up to your expectations and you enjoyed the service levels at the hotel.

I would love to have the pleasure of seeing you as a regular guest and I am looking forward to welcoming you again soon!

Regards

Ash Gaur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
148 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Following our stay here I e mailed the manager, and also wrote to him regarding the awful time that my husband and I had, he has not even had the decency to reply, this only goes to support my thoughts on the type of people running this hotel.

We booked our stay online, and were very impressed by the photos of the rooms on the website, this being a major factor in our booking this stay.
However the first room that we were offered, 201 was totally unacceptable, this being what could only be described as a single occupancy room, there was not even a chair for one to sit, not that a chair could have been fitted in the room !
We returned to the reception and were then offered room 101, a slightly larger room at the back of your hotel but still not representative of the photos that are published on the website.
We reluctantly accepted this room despite the obvious lack of cleanliness and care.
Given the photos on the website that we viewed before booking I consider that we were misled and deceived into booking this hotel, not only were the rooms offered nothing like the room advertised, they were also not of a standard one would expect of a 3 star hotel.
The windows were filthy, I would not like to hazard a guess as to when they were last cleaned, although this did mask the view of the fire escape, kitchen extractor fans and the tyre/exhaust centre. The sills and headboard inside the room had obviously not been cleaned for some considerable time given the amount of dust and dirt on them.
The complimentary toiletries consisted of 2 small guest soaps and 2 shower caps !
Other concerns regarding the room.
None of the electrical items had an up to date PAT label so had obviously not been checked for some considerable time !
The door to the room was not of a good fit, there being a considerable gap at the bottom of the door which would compromise ones safety in the event of a fire.
Breakfast.
The food offered at breakfast was extremely good, albeit not really hot, although the waiting staff were very good in having my meal heated in the kitchen. I have no problems with buffet style breakfasts though it would have been nice to be offered tea and coffee pots and to have toast arrive at the table in a toast rack as one would expect.
We have stayed in B&Bs where tea pots and toast racks are the norm, and the rooms are clean.
To summarize our stay, this hotel was extremely disappointing and as I stated above we feel that we were misled and deceived as to the standards of this hotel, it is certainly not deserving of it's 3 star rating !!.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank juliet_leech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Burnham-on-Crouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I can imagine that 30 years ago this was a lovely hotel - the remains are still there to be seen.

Sadly, it's about 20 years past the need to be refurbished and despite the efforts of the hard working Staff and Management, there is no hiding the peeling wallpaper and general lack of facilities.

Our room was small and (during our stay) either too cold or too hot. The bed was so soft it was like a trampoline although no shortage of bedding or pillows and in 3 nights I did not have one decent night's sleep. Draw space was at a minimum and one half of the curtains was hanging down like it had been swung on by a monkey. The flat screen TV with freeview channels was a great plus point.

The bathroom was a step up and the shower cubicle again small with a fixed shower head and no removable spray to wash yourself down with, but the most obvious spoiler was the sealant around the floor corners etc., which looked like a small child had been smearing rubber putty around - certainly not done by anyone with any experience and totally failing in any attempt to actually make it waterproof. Why is there never anywhere to hang towels or hold your own shampoo or soap in hotel bathrooms?

There were no extra towels as promised, the single hook on the back of the door was snapped off.

Every fault mentioned to the Staff was sorted within a blink of the eye so full marks to them.

We wanted to eat in the bar but most of the bar meals weren't available. Prior to this we wanted to eat in the attached Indian Restaurant but found out this had been closed since October last year but this is still advertised as available when booking.

We ate twice in the restaurant where the service was attentive and the food worth the money. We'd have liked to have seen some menu variations during our time in the way of specials but there were none.

Breakfast was as expected and asking for additions to the buffet such as warm milk or scrambled eggs was no trouble and quickly supplied. The help yourself to tea or coffee from pump operated vacuum flasks was disappointing - it's nice to be served coffee and top-ups to the table, and even toast would have been nice. The help yourself toaster suffered the same as many hotels with one travel through the toaster resulting in warm bread with fine darker lines but 2 travels produced smoke and burnt toast - when will any hotel get this right?

A HUGE disappointment was the lack of a disabled toilet near the reception / bar / restaurant area which I thought was a legal requirement these days?

So in summary - a complete refurbishment and modernisation is needed - but for goodness sake keep the Staff - they are the ONLY reason we would ever consider returning to this Hotel.

Room Tip: Choose one in a different Hotel until this one is refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshGaur, Manager at Best Western Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking time out from your busy schedule to post your detailed feedback about your experience at the BEST WESTERN CARLTON HOTEL.

It was indeed our pleasure to have you stay with us and to be of service to you. I appreciate your comments about the services provided by my team members. We as a team strive hard to compensate the product with service standards and take every single effort to make your stay extra special.

To address to your comment regarding Disabled Toilets, I would like to inform you that we do have Disabled toilets in the lobby as per the legal requirement. I am sure knowing this will reduce or nullify your huge disappointment.

Also I would like to take this opportunity to assure you that plans are in place to refurbish our hotel next year.

I would love to have the pleasure of seeing you next year and I am looking forward to welcoming you again!

Regards

Ash Gaur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Great location, on the front, but away from the busy part. This hotel is a good three star. Rooms reasonable size, facilities good. Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast good and filling. I am always wary at staying somewhere I have not stayed at before, especially in the likes of Blackpool where quality can vary quite a lot. This hotel is good clean and friendly so I will stay again. Blackpool the town its self though is looking a bit tired, needs a lick of paint and a spruce up a bit....sign of the times. Anyway the hotel is good

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank conkadina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshGaur, Manager at Best Western Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking time out from your busy schedule to post your feedback about your experience at the BEST WESTERN CARLTON HOTEL.

It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us and to be of service to you. I am happy to note that we were able to meet up to your expectations and you enjoyed the service levels at the hotel.

Thank you once again for your fantastic feedback. Such comments from our valuable guests help us to serve our guest in a better way every time they visit our hotel.

I would love to have the pleasure of seeing you as a regular guest and I am looking forward to welcoming you again soon!

Regards

Ash Gaur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great location just past the North Pier. Near enough to the rail station and attractions, but far away from all the noise. Right opposite the tram stop. Excellent value for money, especially as we had a sea view. Room was very clean with a huge bathroom and lots of hot water, and the bed was very comfy and we slept soundly. Definitely a hotel for business travellers and older couples who wish to have a bit of peace and quiet. No rowdy drunks. Having a zero tolerance to smoking certainly an asset. We didn't have an evening meal there, but I can vouch for the breakfast. There was lots to choose from, and the young waiter was very attentive. Sunday was very cold, and although the heating wasn't yet on, they happily brought us a heater for our room. The reception wasn't the friendliest I've encountered, except for the Russian lady. However, they were there all the time and willing to sort out any problems and offer any help. Would certainly come back to this hotel if I visited Blackpool again, and you can always rely on the Best Western brand of hotels.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

I enjoyed this lovely friendly hotel staff very helpful. The hotel was
clean comfy hotel.
We had breakfast and the food was fresh and cooked food was hot with plenty of choice.
would recommend I would stay again nothing that I didn't like apart from leaving .
hope to stay again soon

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Viva Stay

Helpful?
Thank stef257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#26 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,061 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,854 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#32 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
#35 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,480 reviews
2.6 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 70 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,007 reviews
2.7 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 70 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Carlton Hotel

Property: Best Western Carlton Hotel
Address: 282-286 North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2EZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Carlton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be right beside the seaside! The Best Western Carlton Hotel enjoys a fantastic seafront location, overlooking the beautiful Fylde coast. Though you’ll enjoy the quiet setting of the Northern Promenade here, you’ll be just minutes from the centre of Blackpool and its many attractions. Built at the turn of the century, the Best Western Carlton Hotel boasts panoramic scenery across the Irish Sea, as well as a ‘front row’ view along 12 miles of sandy beaches and the famous Golden Mile! Be our guest in Blackpool. A leisurely stroll will take you to the town Centre and Winter Gardens, and Blackpool’s best bits are within easy reach! 1 mile from Blackpool Tower with 5 new attractions, 3 miles from The Pleasure Beach, 5 miles from Blackpool Airport, 1 mile from the Sea Life Centre, 2 miles from Madame Tussauds, 0 miles from The Beach! There are lots of shopping opportunities nearby in the city centre, and at Hound’s Hill Shopping Centre. Find out more about locations near the Best Western Carlton Hotel. Best Western Carlton Hotel at a glance. Whether you’re here with the family or spending time with that special someone, you can look forward to a warm Lancashire welcome! Our Values: Our aim is simple – we want to make sure your stay is as enjoyable, relaxing and memorable as possible. Our friendly staff will go out of their way to meet your every need, so for the warmest of welcomes, be our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Best Western Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Blackpool
Blackpool Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing