We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Ranked #34 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable stay”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I booked this hotel for a break with five work colleagues. Everything was excellent from making the booking with Sean on reception, who was extremely pleasant and very helpful. The rooms weren't quite ready as we had arrived early but we were able to check in and drop our bags off in the rooms. I had also booked our evening meal at the hotel as well and despite what the price of £15 suggests that it is a cheap meal it is very good value and both the food and service was excellent. I had overheard another guest on his mobile to a friend saying that the menu was not up to much and you wouldn't get much for the price they charge. How wrong he was I hope he enjoyed his restaurant meal as much as we did. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Go for a seaview its worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    410
    214
    77
    45
See reviews for
152
492
75
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hebburn, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Spent 6th and 7th April in this hotel with two friends. Hotel is nicely located just close enough to the centre but far enough away not to be bothered by the noise. There is a tram and bus stop right outside the hotel and so you do not need a car to enjoy Blackpool. Hotel restaurant serves good food at reasonable prices. However I must give a huge compliment to the reception staff, I had cause to ask to change my room as I was being bothered with excessive noise from the room above mine, and the reception staff could not have been more helpfull in finding me a quieter room on a different floor also they were more than helpfull when we asked them about finding a good local chinese restaurant. All in all the hotel staff deserve a pat on the back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlise England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

stayed here easter weekend 3 nights.just like to say this was a very pleasant stay the staff are some of the frendliest ive met anywhere.we had a sea view,room was very clean and lovely and warm. the breakfast was very good.shower would go to a trickle when hotel busy tho but wasnt really a problem. my biggest gripe tho is with the no smoking policy which i dont agree with , ie been in 5 star hotels in london and been offered smoking rooms, which of course to me is catering 4 there different customers. but overall a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: room 305 is a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank segrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights having been to the winter gardens. Have stayed in better BW but that's not to say this was bad. Sufficient free parking on front. Friendly welcome, efficiently checked in. Room was not the biggest ( single) an on main road so take note if you are a light sleeper. Bed firm, with blanket rather than duvet. Sky TV ( but was advised sky sports were not working) Tv reception poor but did not watch so not a problem. Shower ok: water Luke warm in the morning but fine in the evening. Shower gel in dispenser rather than separates. Good to have decent lighting on e bed for reading by. Breakfast very good: juices/ cereals/ fruits and cooked to order English. Wifi reception was very slow in my room, because of the position( far end of corridor) just bear this in mind when you check in if this is important. Gave it a 4 rating because it was a good value rate.

Room Tip: Request room near the stairs/ lift if using wifi in your room and facing the back for no traffic noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank padprod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Had just one night and first stay at this hotel for the Stanley Park 10k run.
Excellent sea front location. Large bathroom, bay windowed bedroom. Clean and comfortable if a bit basic.
Didnt do evening meal however the quality of the breakfast was up there with the best.
The roomy bar/lounge was a good space to relax and watch passers by with fair drink prices to go with it.
All staff put the effort in to be friendly and efficient during our stay (not always the case elsewhere even with much higher prices)
All round a decent hotel. Would stay again but we did miss a swimming pool which is part of our breaks as a rule.
If Best Western would put the money in to do a proper refurb the hotel would really take off in popularity (having said that it was full on the night of our stay)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whitelavender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed here for one evening on Saturday 9th March and was extremely pleased with the stay. On arrival was met with a very pleasant and friendly member of reception staff, who was most helpful. Our seaview room on the 1st floor was very good with plenty of space, it was also clean and the bed was most comfortable. Bathroom clean with plenty of amenities and it was nice to have both a bath and a shower. My partner had to leave the hotel early on Sunday morning but not before he was served with a very full continental breakfast at just after 7.00am in the morning, when breakfast is not actually served until 8.00am over the weekend, this was most welcome and he was most appreciative. I ate my breakfast in the restaurant and thought it was brilliant, plenty of choice in cereals, fruits, continental foods and the full English as well as croissants and other breads. We had evening meal in the restaurant on the Saturday evening and we both thought it very good for the price. Cooked to order and served by pleasant staff.
I can't fault the food or service, think that some form of evening entertainment, if only someone playing the piano would have been much appreciated, very quiet overall. One point to make, I was made aware of the small step into the bathroom, but unfortunately kept forgetting and did trip on it on a couple of occasions, so please beware if you have any mobility problems.
I had a most relaxing time and will certainly stay at the Carlton on my next visit to Blackpool. Many thanks to the staff.

Room Tip: Very much liked the seaview room where I was able to sit with coffee and watch the world going by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsMoletta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We are due to go back here and all of us cant wait.
We have stayed here twice and so far have never had a problem.The staff are polite and friendly, the rooms are warm and comfortable and the breakfast we can not fault
So Best Western, we will see you soon

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deedee4825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#26 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,063 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,867 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#32 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
#36 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,480 reviews
2.6 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 70 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,008 reviews
2.7 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 70 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Carlton Hotel

Property: Best Western Carlton Hotel
Address: 282-286 North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2EZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Carlton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be right beside the seaside! The Best Western Carlton Hotel enjoys a fantastic seafront location, overlooking the beautiful Fylde coast. Though you’ll enjoy the quiet setting of the Northern Promenade here, you’ll be just minutes from the centre of Blackpool and its many attractions. Built at the turn of the century, the Best Western Carlton Hotel boasts panoramic scenery across the Irish Sea, as well as a ‘front row’ view along 12 miles of sandy beaches and the famous Golden Mile! Be our guest in Blackpool. A leisurely stroll will take you to the town Centre and Winter Gardens, and Blackpool’s best bits are within easy reach! 1 mile from Blackpool Tower with 5 new attractions, 3 miles from The Pleasure Beach, 5 miles from Blackpool Airport, 1 mile from the Sea Life Centre, 2 miles from Madame Tussauds, 0 miles from The Beach! There are lots of shopping opportunities nearby in the city centre, and at Hound’s Hill Shopping Centre. Find out more about locations near the Best Western Carlton Hotel. Best Western Carlton Hotel at a glance. Whether you’re here with the family or spending time with that special someone, you can look forward to a warm Lancashire welcome! Our Values: Our aim is simple – we want to make sure your stay is as enjoyable, relaxing and memorable as possible. Our friendly staff will go out of their way to meet your every need, so for the warmest of welcomes, be our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Best Western Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Blackpool
Blackpool Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing