We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bargain basement hotel”
Review of By the Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
By the Beach Hotel
Ranked #65 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Leeds
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Bargain basement hotel”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This 'hotel' is very old with a newish Indian restaurant as the main dining and bar area. The accommodation section is very dated and tired. The price quoted on the booking website did not include breakfast although this was not made clear when we booked for one night. When we arrived to check in, we were asked if we wanted to pay for breakfast. Not impressed. It was approx 4.95 for adults and 3.95 for kids. Then we went up to our family roomwith a double bed and a bunk bed for the 2 children. The metal bunk bed squeeked quite badly with any small movement so the children tried to fix it by stuffing the loose joints with tourist leaflets! Small improvement, but the mattresses were very lumpy with huge springs being easily felt through the thin coverings. The double bed wasn't much better either. The night was a hot and difficult one where none of us slept much as the heater was on all night and the problems highlighted above.
Then down for breakfast. I was hoping for a good cooked breakfast for the prices we paid but was very disappointed to be told there would not be any bacon on the full English as the owners were Muslim. I am not Muslim or even remotely religious so was very put out that the customer was not being catered for properly. The breakfast consisted of fried egg, mushrooms, a sausage (unknown meat!) a hash brown and some stir fried onions and peppers!!!! Very strange. Overall, it was ok but just not quite right.
This place was too basic and the standard just too low for us to really say it was worth the price. So glad we only had to stay one night.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qwertymnbvc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    67
    59
    43
    110
See reviews for
127
108
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Weston-super-Mare, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

stayed here for 2 nights didnt expect to much fot the price but was shocked at how small it was u couldnt move. Could feel every spring in the mattress, stains on the bed sheets, pubic hair on the bathroom floor and noisy. No matter what the price u expect to stay some where clean. was glad to go home.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

First time to Blackpool, booked into By the beach hotel because it was cheap £38 for 2 nights for me and my wife, the room was clean as was the bathroom, this hotel is a nice distance away from the main part of Blackpool (not to far to walk and only a few quid in a taxi). We went beginning of march and most places were still closed so cant comment on the place much, but will go back in the summer and would use by the beach again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattpeters1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night while visiting Blackpool. The room was very small with nowhere to hang clothes but as we were only staying 1 night this wasn't really a problem to us, the walls r quiet thin an rooms are very close together therefore you can hear people coming and going very clearly. Lots of slamming doors during the night and the fire alarm went off at 9am. All in all the hotel is clean and cheap, you just get what u pay for.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed here for 2 nights, overall we are very happy with the hotel. Staff were friendly on check in, we had booked a small double room which I was quite impressed with compared to other b&b's in Blackpool. We didnt quite realise where the hotel was when booking and was quite a walk to the centre which wasn't bad during the day but at night was quite a hike! Overall the rooms are lovely,modern & clean, staff are friendly, and would recommend people to stay here (especially if they would like to be near the pleasure beach as its right onthe door step)
Thanks!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay-Dave12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Small and I mean small family room. One double bed that felt like it was made from cardboard which clanged against the radiator with every moment. Single bed was quite literally next to the double bed. Mugs had chips and the previous visitors long Black hairs in them obviously they had been dried using their old towels. The floor boards went up and down like the Roller coaster near by. Our room with a view was the only place I've stayed at where you can use the toilet and then view the drain pipe it's flowing down. The shower spitted drops of water with as much force as a feather falling. Pink 70's tiling and a rusty Green sink to match (not) the germ riddled broken wooden toilet seat, Which to flush required 3 quick pushes then hold! Toilet paper may as well been pages of paper it was that cheap. Full English breakfast consisted of cheap Aldi beans that had been sat in a pan from the night before and reheated to within an inch of there life. One small sausage. One fried egg. a spoon of mushrooms, a hash brown and fried onions YES FRIED ONIONS with green and red pepper.!!!! NO bacon, NO choice of how I'd like my egg cooked and toast was cheap bread that had been shown the toaster rather than put in it.
WILL NOT RETURN EVEN IF IT WAS FREE. However the one chap we saw was very friendly and apologised for any noise from people coming in at 6am. TO THE OWNERS I say...spend more on the rooms and food than lavish tiling in your bar area. AND don't serve onions with with a full ENGLISH and in England we eat Bacon!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RockinRat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Hotel was very good. We stayed for three nights the rooms were lovely and warm and nice sized room for us both beds were comfy the only small thing wrong was you could hear other people through the walls but overall was very pleased with the hotel and price and would come again :)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reece1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.5 mi away
Hotel Viagra
Hotel Viagra
#68 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
2.5 mi away
Parisienne Hotel
Parisienne Hotel
#64 of 70 in Blackpool
3.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 70 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#44 of 70 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 70 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#16 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to By the Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about By the Beach Hotel

Property: By the Beach Hotel
Address: 557-599 New South Promenade, Blackpool FY4 1NF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — By the Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to By The Beach a friendly, clean, cosy brand new highly decorated Hotel in Blackpool, the UK`s premier seaside resort. We offer you a home-from-home by the sea. From the moment you arrive you are assured a warm welcome, where you can enjoy your break in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Our Hotel is perfectly located for a luxury break, business trip or family holiday, with modern accommodation at affordable prices.We are offering comfortable attractive accommodation in all our well appointed Single, double, twin and Family bed rooms. We are located in a beautiful prime location of Promenade overlooking Pleasure Beach,Sand castle and just a few steps away from the Sea. Yet the excitment and bustle of Blackpool is within easy reach, with tram and bus stops a few yards away. Rail station and Air port is near by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and LateRooms so you can book your By the Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing