We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small price and rooms to match”
Review of By the Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
By the Beach Hotel
Ranked #66 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Reviewed March 19, 2013

First time to Blackpool, booked into By the beach hotel because it was cheap £38 for 2 nights for me and my wife, the room was clean as was the bathroom, this hotel is a nice distance away from the main part of Blackpool (not to far to walk and only a few quid in a taxi). We went beginning of march and most places were still closed so cant comment on the place much, but will go back in the summer and would use by the beach again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattpeters1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (351)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

301 - 307 of 351 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night while visiting Blackpool. The room was very small with nowhere to hang clothes but as we were only staying 1 night this wasn't really a problem to us, the walls r quiet thin an rooms are very close together therefore you can hear people coming and going very clearly. Lots of slamming doors during the night and the fire alarm went off at 9am. All in all the hotel is clean and cheap, you just get what u pay for.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinkabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed here for 2 nights, overall we are very happy with the hotel. Staff were friendly on check in, we had booked a small double room which I was quite impressed with compared to other b&b's in Blackpool. We didnt quite realise where the hotel was when booking and was quite a walk to the centre which wasn't bad during the day but at night was quite a hike! Overall the rooms are lovely,modern & clean, staff are friendly, and would recommend people to stay here (especially if they would like to be near the pleasure beach as its right onthe door step)
Thanks!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay-Dave12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Small and I mean small family room. One double bed that felt like it was made from cardboard which clanged against the radiator with every moment. Single bed was quite literally next to the double bed. Mugs had chips and the previous visitors long Black hairs in them obviously they had been dried using their old towels. The floor boards went up and down like the Roller coaster near by. Our room with a view was the only place I've stayed at where you can use the toilet and then view the drain pipe it's flowing down. The shower spitted drops of water with as much force as a feather falling. Pink 70's tiling and a rusty Green sink to match (not) the germ riddled broken wooden toilet seat, Which to flush required 3 quick pushes then hold! Toilet paper may as well been pages of paper it was that cheap. Full English breakfast consisted of cheap Aldi beans that had been sat in a pan from the night before and reheated to within an inch of there life. One small sausage. One fried egg. a spoon of mushrooms, a hash brown and fried onions YES FRIED ONIONS with green and red pepper.!!!! NO bacon, NO choice of how I'd like my egg cooked and toast was cheap bread that had been shown the toaster rather than put in it.
WILL NOT RETURN EVEN IF IT WAS FREE. However the one chap we saw was very friendly and apologised for any noise from people coming in at 6am. TO THE OWNERS I say...spend more on the rooms and food than lavish tiling in your bar area. AND don't serve onions with with a full ENGLISH and in England we eat Bacon!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RockinRat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Hotel was very good. We stayed for three nights the rooms were lovely and warm and nice sized room for us both beds were comfy the only small thing wrong was you could hear other people through the walls but overall was very pleased with the hotel and price and would come again :)

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reece1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We booked this through an online website, and only my mrs viewed the pictures so I didn't know what to expect. Check in isn't until 2pm, and we arrived at around 11am and they let us park the car outside until we were ready, which was good.

When we were given the keys, the guy didn't really say much, as though he wasn't bothered. We went up to our room which was out the way at the end of a corridor - so nice and quiet. On entering the room we were quite impressed. All looked very clean/tidy, beds made, clean towels etc. The view was well....diabolical. However this is clearly not the hotels fault, The hot water takes an age to get hot, the shower trickles - but that may be because I am used to a power-shower at home? The chair for the table was broken. There was chewing gum on the outside window sills.

We wanted to pop out for a meal and left at about 18.30. As soon as we opened the door, the smell of indian food was very over powering. When we went to move the car we were blocked in, but this wasn't a problem as the guy on reception soon moved the other car out the way. There is a sign stating that if you block others in, leave your keys at reception or park on a pay and display. Hmmm, no thanks to leaving my keys. I luckily managed to park about 100 yds up the road opposite some other B&Bs situated back from the road.

So all in all, it wasn't a bad place to stay. Not fantastic, but it did the job - and only cost £40 for a family of 4

This is my very first internet review for anything. I have realised that reviews are great for others, and I am always taking them into consideration for things I do.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Martyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Its a shame they don't offer full service in off peak like other sea front hotels do. Still paid full price but restaurant not open and bar area shut really early. Also served peppers and onion with the full English. Which was weird.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbiem6306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
The Waldorf
The Waldorf
#46 of 73 in Blackpool
213 reviews
0.9 mi away
Stockton Grange Hotel
Stockton Grange Hotel
#63 of 73 in Blackpool
89 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stuart Hotel
Stuart Hotel
#39 of 73 in Blackpool
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
507 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#3 of 73 in Blackpool
527 reviews
2.5 mi away
Parisienne Hotel
Parisienne Hotel
#64 of 73 in Blackpool
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to By the Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about By the Beach Hotel

Address: 557-599 New South Promenade, Blackpool FY4 1NF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range: $37 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — By the Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to By The Beach a friendly, clean, cosy brand new highly decorated Hotel in Blackpool, the UK`s premier seaside resort. We offer you a home-from-home by the sea. From the moment you arrive you are assured a warm welcome, where you can enjoy your break in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Our Hotel is perfectly located for a luxury break, business trip or family holiday, with modern accommodation at affordable prices.We are offering comfortable attractive accommodation in all our well appointed Single, double, twin and Family bed rooms. We are located in a beautiful prime location of Promenade overlooking Pleasure Beach,Sand castle and just a few steps away from the Sea. Yet the excitment and bustle of Blackpool is within easy reach, with tram and bus stops a few yards away. Rail station and Air port is near by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your By the Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing