We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loo Letdown”
Review of Crooked Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crooked Retreat
Ranked #725 of 853 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Loo Letdown”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

After a nightmare journey to Blackpool, a lovely welcome was awaiting me from the owner. We had a nice chat as I was shown to my room. Clean, nice room with plenty of tea and coffee.

The only thing that was a let down was the toilet. It was dirty so I cleaned it myself.

A good basic guest house and well worth the £15 I paid.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    12
    2
    0
    15
See reviews for
9
7
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

stayed here for two nights with my family. Excellent situation and very warm welcome. Clean and tidy rooms. our room did not have a shower or toilet but for 15 pounds a night each it was not a problem as the shower room was just next door. 15 pounds a night is great value for this hotel. We will go again. Did not have breakfast this visit but will mabe try the breakfast the next time. My grandson was in Blackpool for the first time and enjoyed his full weekend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Helpful?
3 Thank caroline f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 2, 2013

After reading the previous mixed reviews I was dubious about this place but for £15 a night I thought it was great. Its certainly not the Ritz by any means but the staff were very friendly room was ok and the location is fantastic. We were celebrating a mates 21st birthday and were probably a little noisy coming in from nights out but the oweners were very understanding.

Good Work Crooked Retreat

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed the one night having travelled to Blackpool for a night out / Newcastle United FC game.

Got to say, the stay was fantastic from start to finish.

Location and parking was spot on. Rooms were exactly what we needed.

Breakfast in the morning was beautiful and the staff were very friendly. Cheap drinks too :-P

I would recommend to anyone. First class service and great value!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel_McKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Hi

Stayed at the Crooked Retreat, we had heard a couple of good reviews and a couple of bad ones, however we really enjoyed our over night stay. There were 6 of us staying for my hen do. When we arrived we were shown to our rooms it was more than adequate very clean yes basic but exactly what is says on the tin. The owners were super friendly and accommodating we were given a free VIP wrist band worth £5 that got us entry into some clubs/pubs around the town. We were also told that because we were staying on a hen do that we didn't have to rush out of the door super early and we could order breakfast up till 11 which was an help. The lady owner explained that if she has families booking she will often try to make sure that she doesn't book hen or stag dos. The breakfast was really nice £3 for as much coffee as u can drink 2 rounds of toast jam and marmalade and a full English absolutely great. Many thanks for having us will definitely stay again. Please ignore negative reviews for the price we paid it was really good value for money,

If you want all posh en suites and all that jazz then go somewhere, where you pay a lot more. You get what you pay for guys come on be fair.

Many thanks xxxxxxx

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

I will most certainly be coming back to crooked retreat as the service was fansatitic!

Friendly owner Becky was very welcoming and exceeded the duties of being the owner. She did anything to could to help us.

The rooms were spotless, just what an overnight stay needed a bed and a brew in the morning
The shared toilets and shower rooms were clean and not far from your rooms

And finally the location of the place is brilliant, far enough down a street for it to be quiet however close enough to the front so we could enjoy the sites of Blackpool!!

Thank you for having us, we will return!! :-)
Sarah ;-)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarahclough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 8, 2013

A group of ten of us stayed here for 2 nights and the place exceeded my expectations! The hotel is centrally located within walking distance of the seafront and all the amenities/pubs/clubs etc. The 4/5 bed rooms that we stayed in are basic but everything you need is supplied when on a stag do, the Tea/coffee making facilities in your room is always nice when you wake up after a heavy night on the town. Having a pool table and drinks available at the bar is a nice touch and helps pass the time whilst waiting to go out.

Our stay was made even more special by the amazing hostess Becky! Our group certainly isn't the quietest and even when certain members rock up at the place with no key at 7am after spending all night on it she was the perfect host. (Sorry again becky). Would recommend this place to anyone and will defo stay again should I make the 300 odd mile trip from plymouth again. Thank you for looking after us - we will be back if you have us! Lol

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.0 mi away
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
#36 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,480 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Viagra
Hotel Viagra
#68 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thistle Dhu Guest House
Thistle Dhu Guest House
#95 of 853 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Foxhall Village Hotel
Foxhall Village Hotel
#638 of 853 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Wembley
The Wembley
#551 of 853 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ardwick House Hotel
Ardwick House Hotel
#323 of 853 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crooked Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crooked Retreat

Property: Crooked Retreat
Address: 33 York Street, Blackpool FY1 5AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #725 of 853 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Crooked Retreat 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Guest House has just been taken over by my self and family in Aug 2012 we are trying are best to get it up to date. the rooms are now all clean and tidy. We are trying are best to get it up to the stranded people inspect a guest house to be but this takes time and money which can not be done over night so i hope people can bear with us and we will do every thing we can to make there stay and nice and enjoyable as it should be. With thanks Becky ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Cancelon so you can book your Crooked Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing