We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shambolic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sunrise Avenue Hotel
Ranked #166 of 860 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Absolutely disgusted with 'service' from owner of Sunrise Avenue, very disappointing considering all the good reviews I'd read prior to booking. We arrived at around 1.30pm after specifically emailing to ask if we could park up should we arrive early (2 parties, myself and my cousin travelling with young kids) and she assured us this would be fine as there was parking available, we could park up and get on with our day, then return later to check in. When we got there, they were not ready, and I was informed that the lady (Jenny, I believe) was on her own and she asked us to come back after 3pm (website did say 2pm), this would have been absolutely fine if we'd been able to park up, as promised, and take the kids to the nearby attractions, but there was only 1 space for 2 cars; apparently the previous guests had checked out but left their car to spend all day at the pleasure beach, Jenny informed us she had no idea when they'd be back. This meant my cousin having to drive around for 40 mins to find somewhere to park (unsuccessful, and kids extremely restless by this point).
When she finally returned hopeful for a change in the situation, there was still no parking space, so she complained that the 'hosts' knew we were arriving this afternoon and therefore should have made sure adequate parking was available in view of the reassurance we'd had regarding this, and that the situation was unacceptable. All we got by way of explanation was that it was 'outside of my control' and that apparently she hadn't seen them before they'd left, even though they'd supposedly checked out!
Clearly unhappy at someone having the audacity to complain, I was told that she didn't like the way my cousin had spoken to her and therefore didn't want us to stay in her guest house so she would be giving us a refund, leaving us (with a total of 4 kids between us) to drive around to find alternative accommodation. Luckily we found a lovely little guest house a few streets away who's owners were charming and, although completely unprepared for the sudden arrival of 2 families, invited us to leave our bags and they would sort our rooms while we went out for the evening. Now THAT'S what I call service, not someone who promises one thing, delivers way short then tells you to leave when you dare complain.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
6  Thank Carrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennyJohnBlackpool, Owner at Sunrise Avenue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

The irony of the above review is that after spending a good deal of time time trying to find alternative parking in this busy time, both cars were parked in the spaces provided. Which made the search for alternative parking as unnecessary as the verbally venomous assault my partner Jenny recieved.. Jenny didnt deserve this, and therefore didnt want this hateful individual staying in our hotel which is also our home. We do not want this kind of custom. We also have a duty of care for other paying customers at the hotel and made a decision that this family would not be stopping with us.. This terrible attitude is quite clear in the above review..
We would like this review to stay on trip advisor as a sobering reminder to us that not all people are suitable guests, and furthermore, that any family wishing to stay at the Sunrise Avenue Hotel do not have an absolute right to do so and as responsible hard working hoteliers we are not "duty bound" to accomodate them.After the verbal abuse Jenny recieved, we gave both families a full refund and were very relieved they went elsewhere.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 137 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2012

they are just on doing hotel up and will be lovely when finished, they are lovely people, but would have liked a front door key as we had to ring door bell all time. then when i went out for cigarette tried to leave middle door on catch but as soon as i opened front door, middle door locked me out at 6am lol..... had to fone hubby and get him to come to open door. i think a back room would be quieter... if you look out front door you can see the pier near pleasure beach, you are literally that close................. great breakfast!!!

Room Tip: ask for a new refurb room if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clairevodka1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Just come home from spending 2 nights at Sunrise Avenue. Jen and John what a great couple you are you made us feel so welcome nothing was to much trouble. room we stayed in was lovely, very clean, breakfast was great (very filling) and prices at the bar were brilliant. Location of the sunrise is great for everything. Real family feel to this hotel and were realy looking forward to booking next year.
Keep up the good work Jen, John and family.
Ray, Nat and Libbie

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

There is nothing that the owners won't do to make your stay as comfortable as possible !! Breakfast as you want it, cooked perfectly!! Rooms are lovely, they are renovating as we speak and you would never know as there is no disruption to guests, will definitely be back and recommend to anyone to stay, what a gem, perfect for pleasure beach and the sandcastle,

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shona1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed for one night with two young children. Will def come back for longer stay. Rooms clean and comfy, owners couldn't do enough for us - even offered tumble dry all our clothes after caught in storm! You can see the Sandcastle waterpark from the hotel and Pleasure Beach / Pizza Hut etc is one minute away. Family room was compact but spotless and great value for money. RIng the hotel direct rather than book through agent. Lovely breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Had the good fortune to find this home from home to stay for the night of a family wedding. John and Jenny welcomed us into their home like old friends and insisted that nothing could be too much effort for them (despite our very late arrival!) Baby was given an assortment of toys to play with and my son's wet shoes were put on the radiator to dry over night.So thoughtful and kind! The family room was snug, but more than adequate for our needs and brekkie was yum! It was a pleasure to stay here for all of the family and a delight to meet such warm hosts. Thanks a million.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roisintadhg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Spent 4 days with my wife and 2 teenagers at this hotel .Stayed in family room on top floor ( Room 6 )and was really pleased .Room had just had a refurb and was large by Blackpool standards and the bathroom was spotless and newly installed .Hotel is gradually been done up and when all rooms are like ours will be stunning.Breakfast was always piping hot and plenty on your plate.Great hosts and will look to stay here again when coming to Blackpool.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scottiefaeprestwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Alfies Hotel
Alfies Hotel
#210 of 860 in Blackpool
30 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Holmeleigh Hotel
The Holmeleigh Hotel
#127 of 860 in Blackpool
213 reviews
0.1 mi away
San Diego Guest House
San Diego Guest House
#131 of 860 in Blackpool
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aparthotel Blackpool
Aparthotel Blackpool
#59 of 860 in Blackpool
303 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Withnell Hotel
The Withnell Hotel
#282 of 860 in Blackpool
57 reviews
0.1 mi away
Danescourt Hotel
Danescourt Hotel
#101 of 860 in Blackpool
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Avenue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Avenue Hotel

Address: 18 Withnell Road, Blackpool FY4 1HF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #166 of 860 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: $84 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrise Avenue Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunrise Avenue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing