We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, friendly and efficient service.”
Review of Pelham Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pelham Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great value, friendly and efficient service.”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

My son and I spent one night in Blackpool for the Bob Dylan concert at the Opera House. not only is Pelham Lodge perfectly placed (two minutes from Blackpool North station, five from the Opera House, three from the sea front) but it's a wonderfully welcoming and enjoyable place to stay. Spotless & comfortable bedrooms, great breakfast, all our queries answered, and very reasonable prices. The next time we're in Blackpool, this is the first place we'll contact.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 15grosvenor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    49
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
105
180
22
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

On arrival there were no parking spaces due to the popularity of this hotel but a member of staff went out of his way to show me where the best parking could be had. Signing in was simple and effortless and we were made to feel welcome right from the start by all members of staff. We were immediately given a key to both our room and the front door and actually taken to the room even though this was on the same level as reception and only a few steps away. We were shown where everything was by none other than the owner and like all of the staff he was very friendly. The room was a good size was en suite was both warm and comfortable. An abundance of extras were available such as tea, coffee, drinking chocolate and shampoo etc. The bed was very comfortable and in the morning there was juice, tea or coffee, cereal and a full English breakfast with toast made from white, brown or wholemeal bread. As if this wasn't plenty we were continually asked if we wanted more. All tastes were catered for including those with special dietary needs. On leaving were bid a safe journey home and advised that we would be welcome to return. I make no apology for the length of this review as this Hotel deserves all the praise I can give it and if this Geordie ever has to stay in Blackpool again it will be here. Well done to everyone associated with this establishment. Peter & Craig Doyle

Room Tip: We stayed in a twin room and would recommend this to anyone requiring the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter_isy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 23, 2013

The last time I stayed in Blackpool was around 15 years ago when all the usual cliches about miserable accommodation, drink fuelled hen and stag nights and fights on the streets had come true. Not a great experience at the time, given that I was there with my wife, niece and mother in law!

This time around it was totally the opposite. The guest house was clean and tidy and the people running it couldn't have been any more friendly or helpful. The bedroom was light and airy, with a decent sized en suite bathroom that looked like it had recently been refurbished. Breakfast was just as impressive, the vegetarian option included meat free sausages and as much coffee and toast as you could eat.

I don't know what's happened to Blackpool over the past 15 years. I spent all evening in the town with a couple of mates (we were all there to watch a Bob Dylan concert) and despite our very best efforts, we didn't manage to find a single party of brawling 'hens' anywhere! How disappointing is that?

Great guest house, I'd stay there again.

Chris

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisWelch1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

great place to stay, amazing staff! so pleasant and are willing to help in any way! lovely rooms, clean and tidy. next to town and all main pubs and clubs. didnt have to take one taxi during my stay as very close to most things.. excellent place to stay, will definatlly be visiting again

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gibbs94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I have stayed in hotels all over the world and rarely found a room that is so comfortable and clean and nicely furnished. Excellent bed- eseential after big dipper experience. Well stocked with water and tea/coffee/chocolate.
The guys were great and could not have been more helpful. Location was ideal- quiet, but 2 minutes from the trams and North Pier. I would definitely stay again if in town or nearby.

Room Tip: Rooms 11 and 12 were both very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJA142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Really friendly staff who were willing to go out of their way for us. Nice breakfast and good location for the tower and other amenities. Would definitely recommend to friends and family and stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyCla88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Absolutely brilliant, excellent customer service all the way, nothing is too much trouble, from the moment they answer the door, always smiling, the room (rm 1 on ground floor) was very good, immaculately clean from top to bottom, very comfy beds with immaculate bedding, hospitality tray kept well stocked, en-suite was again immaculate, toiletries available, towels very clean and very fluffy.
Breakfast - good choices, well cooked, again nothing was too much trouble. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again, well done boys xxx

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jane s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 69 in Blackpool
3,911 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 69 in Blackpool
3,097 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#33 of 69 in Blackpool
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 69 in Blackpool
3,046 reviews
2.4 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 69 in Blackpool
488 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#35 of 69 in Blackpool
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelham Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelham Lodge

Property: Pelham Lodge
Address: 7-9 General Street, Blackpool FY1 1RW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 128 Specialty Lodging in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pelham Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pelham Lodge is a comfortable guest accommodation with 15 bedrooms all en-suite. Situated at the heart of Blackpool, we are at less than five minute walk from the train station, the Winter Gardens, the Opera House, the Grand Theatre, Funny Girls, the club Domain, the North Pier and the Blackpool Tower. Whether you are in Blackpool for business, or visiting the town with friends or family, you will always find in Pelham Lodge a friendly and comfortable guest house. Our small private car park can accommodate up to four cars, and we apply a first-arrived-first-served policy. Because of some improvement work happening at the moment at the back of Pelham Lodge, the number of bays available in our car park may be reduced. To ensure our guests' comfort, we do not accept stag parties, hen parties and large groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Pelham Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing