We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wam and Friendly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cumbrian Hotel

Cumbrian Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cumbrian Hotel
Ranked #443 of 913 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wam and Friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

Just returned from another warm and friendly stay at The Cumbrian we have stayed there for the last 6 yrs and never have had any complaints. The welcome is first class, rooms very clean and tidy and refreshed every day. Good home cooked food and plenty of choice, nothing too much trouble for John and Sheila even has time for social get together later in the evening in the main room/bar area. Would and have recommended The Cumbrian for a grrrreat friendly stay
by the way you must try the Chocolate Fudge Cake and Custard it is heaven we have it every night for dessert
The Gillespie Family Belfast

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    1
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
29
16
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

Recently returned from a 5 night stay with John & Sheila. The welcome is always friendly, nothing is too much trouble and they are around in the evenings for a friendly chat. Food excellent as always, this is the second time we have stayed at the Cumbrian and we would not stay anywhere else in Blackpool. Excellent value for money. Everywhere was spotlessly clean, lovely view of the tower from our room. We will be back again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with IKnowUK

Helpful?
Thank martinbrookes B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

I have been a regular visitor to the Cumbria Hotel with my Granddaughter, and feel i must write these comments. The hotel is the best I have ever stayed in, in Blackpool and I wont stay anywhere else. John and Sheila are the perfect hosts and nothing is too much trouble for them.
We always feel welcome and the breakfast and evening meals are perfection, also with a good choice.

The rooms are spotlessly clean and attended daily, I can highly recommend this superb hotel.
Cant wait to visit next..... in August!!!!

BRADFORD NAN

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

I've stayed with John and Sheila a few times, some times as a big family trip or as a couples trip. Every time they have been just as welcoming as the time before. The food is always homecooked and a delight to enjoy!
Great for advise on things to do whether is be with children or on your own. They are great company in general!
The rooms are always immaculately clean!
Centrally located to the Blackpool Tower so everything is within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Koby W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

just arrived back from a 4 day stay at the Cumbrian. Food was excellent, all home cooked and sourced locally daily. The Cumbrian is within walking distance of Tower, trams,buses, beach and coach station. The room was very clean with all facilities including wi-fi. John and Sheila made me most welcome and were very helpful when asked about local facilities and events, nothing was too much trouble for them. Had time for all their guests at anytime of the day. I would certainly recommend the Cumbrian and in fact have already done so.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruth h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

I had visited this guest house for the weekend with my family and could not ask for a better place to stay it was so central for everything.The rooms were very clean and up to date,food was great plenty to eat and the proprietors John & Sheila made us all feel very welcome would recommend this place to anyone to stay. Will go back to this Guest house.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 1 which was on the bottom floor and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

Want a warm friendly greeting ? Cumbrian,Want a clean room every day? cumbrian, want to eat till you can't eat anymore?cumbrian.Owners John and sheila will do there very best to make your stay with them is a good one and you enjoy your holiday.

Room Tip: Over the years we been in every room,all good. There is one room on ground floor for people with pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.2 mi away
Heywood House
Heywood House
#213 of 913 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ardwick House Hotel
Ardwick House Hotel
#341 of 913 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#463 of 913 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,980 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
#36 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Big Blue Hotel
The Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumbrian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumbrian Hotel

Property: Cumbrian Hotel
Address: 81 Hornby Road, Blackpool FY1 4QP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #443 of 913 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cumbrian Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Cumbrian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing