We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day out”
Review of Blackpool Zoo

Blackpool Zoo
Ranked #2 of 81 things to do in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Blackpool Zoo is a family friendly attraction, providing fun and education for all ages. Situated only 2 miles inland the Promenade, the park is easily accessible from the M55 motorway. Over 1000 animals, birds and reptiles reside in a scenic 32 acre park amidst mature trees, lakes and spacious lawns where the kids can burn off their excess energy. All your favourites are here including big cats, elephants, giraffes, sealions, gorillas, orangutans, camels, zebras and many, many more. Opened in 2014, the new Orangutan Outlook allows visitors to get up close and personal with these charismatic apes. Open daily (except Christmas Day) from 10 am, the park's closing times vary seasonally.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Paisley
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great day out”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Visited the Zoo for the first time in a few years and have to say we're very impressed with the changes that have been made. The new areas for the different animal shows are great, the staff are all very helpful and knowledgeable about their animals.
We got the first bus up to the zoo in the morning and left at nearly 5pm not having done anywhere near everything that could be done in the zoo. We'll be visiting again the next time we're in Blackpool.
A wee tip is that tickets can be bought in the Tourist Information Office on the prom and you get a bit of a discount.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SusP_Buddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,710 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,969
    1,226
    357
    90
    68
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fantastic day out for all - Lovely staff and great animals”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I have been going to the zoo for years - including having a zoo membership pass for the past three years. It is a fantastic place for everyone. The animals are well looked after and the staff are very passionate about their animals and ensure they are being well looked after and stimulated to ensure they are not bored!!!
The zoo is currently undergoing development plans to improve some enclosures and have over the past few years had new animals brought to the zoo including a female tiger, the birth of the 2nd baby gorilla, aardvarks, wolves and the anteaters to name a few.
The zoo is amazing at bringing current issues to the attention of the public and they are always looking to bring new and exciting things to the zoo.
You won't be disappointed at all - Who could?! Going to the zoo and coming so close to all the amazing animals.........

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank LND88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We went to the zoo last week and spent 4 great hours there, we will be visiting again next year. The zoo was lovely and clean and the food was lovely and reasonably priced. A great variety of animals and especially loved seeing the giraffes. My 2 boys loved the sea lions and the tigers. The dinosaur area was good especially for younger children.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Lyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Don't all rush at once...”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Enter Blackpool Zoo and you go into a lovely looking entrance hall with toilets, party rooms, a cafe and gift shop. It all looks wonderful. Then you go into the zoo and the high standards you've just seen disappear. There is a dinosaur section, with plastic dinosaurs that have seen much better days - paint chipped and scratched, weathered and cracked exhibits that just look poor.
Then you get to the animals - if you can find your way around that is- its not easy!! Very few signs and no map offered on arrival make it hard to find your way around.
The animals looked fed up as did the staff, and there were so many empty enclosures. Some areas were being done up I only hope they're doing them all... In fact barring the entrance hall the whole zoo needs a major facelift. Soon!!

The gift shop items were overpriced but this is standard across all attractions really. We didn't go in the cafe so can't comment on this.

All in all a disappointing and overpriced afternoon out :-(

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Twilight-Girl1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Animaltastic”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

I hadn't been to the zoo since I was little and that was many years ago. Since then I've been to many zoos in the UK and USA, and have to say this was probably the most interesting and entertaining of them all.

Of course it had the meerkats, which zoo doesn't, but the whole collection of animals was brilliant and with informative talks from the keepers at feeding times and show times, it made the day complete.

The walk-through area for the lemurs was probably my wife and I's highlight of the day.

If you're in Blackpool, make sure you visit!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Seasiider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blackpool Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Blackpool Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing